5/22 Cleo 268 PMPS 274;+2 279+3.5 210;+4.75 213+10.5 171

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cleo & Jane (GA)

Member Since 2013
AMPS 247 Gave 1U


I was reading last night about micro dosing, and someone had said to try and squeeze the plunger after you do a regular injection, and you will see a little something come out. This morning, after I shot Cleo, I pushed the plunger in harder and TWO drops came out. Makes me worry that I never give her a very consistent dose :?

I "should" get out early from work today, and maybe get a +6 - fingers/paws crossed.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=95786 yesterday's condo


Have a happy hump day all!
 
Re: 5/22 Cleo AMPS 247

I have always wondered about the dosing. It seems we can only do our best..but there is alsways something to throw it off. Interesting about the 2 drops. The drops make a big difference in my kitty....
 
Re: 5/22 Cleo AMPS 247

Hi guys ... yes, interesting on two drops coming out of the syringe .. I bet in the 2 years mocha was on the juice we never even gave it an extra thought on how "exact" our measurements were .. Now I look back and could kick myself for not being more consistent! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/22 Cleo AMPS 247;+5.75 228

+5.75 - 228

The drop issue makes me think that before I raise her dose next time (if there is a next time ;-) ) I might try pushing harder on the syringe. That drop or two can make a big difference in Cleo.
 
Re: 5/22 Cleo AMPS 247;+5.75 228;+8.5 268

I bet you are correct on the 2 drops--good call, sugar mom :-D Thank you for all the visits. Cleo is absolutely adorable; what a pretty little girl she is. Give her a scritch from me and a hug from Gobbles cat_pet_icon You're doing a great job!
 
Re: 5/22 Cleo AMPS 247;+5.75 228;+8.5 268 PMPS 274

The real problem is that we have to use a insulin that is far too concentrated for cats. :-x The best we can do is try to be consistent with everything: how you measure the dose, how you give the dose. Those two drops won't matter if you do it the same way every time, either she gets them or she doesn't. We are like Devon, we didn't pay attention to the syringe markings for a long time, like 1.5 years. :roll: We feel like the calipers have helped a lot with giving a more consistent dose. At least it's less nerve wracking for us. :lol: :lol:

Maybe Cleo is bouncing a bit from those nice greens yesterday. Back to bidness, right, Cleo?
Liz
 
Re: 5/22 Cleo AMPS 247;+5.75 228;+8.5 268 PMPS 274;+2 279

+2 - 279

I looked at the pictures of the calipers, but I still just don't get it. Do you have to hold them against the syringe as you draw it up? Or after you draw up the insulin?
 
Re: 5/22 Cleo+5.75 228;+8.5 268 PMPS 274;+2 279+3.5 210

When I first take out the syringe, I look at the markings and see how off they are and mentally estimate about where the dose should be. Then I draw up the dose to that point or a little more since it's easier to squeeze out some juice vs. draw up more. Then I check with the calipers and see if I need to squeeze out a drop or two. Then I check again. Repeat until I am satisfied with the dose.

How is Alison?
Liz
 
Re: 5/22 Cleo+5.75 228;+8.5 268 PMPS 274;+2 279+3.5 210

Alison is still in the NICU. She is doing better. No oxygen, feeding tube is gone, drinking from preemie bottle. She is still on the apnea monitor, she has to have 5 days of no episodes. They have been giving her caffeine to help stop them, and now they want to see how she does without it. So, at least 5 more days. She is so beautiful, can't wait till she is out, and can sit and cuddle for as long as we want! Hospital will have DD and her hubby spend one night in the hospital (in a labor/delivery room) with Alison in the room with them, so they can learn how to respond to the moniter if they have to. And I think just to give them some peace of mind that they can manage. It has been a scary and exciting time. :-D
 
Re: 5/22 Cleo+5.75 228;+8. 268 PMPS 274;+2 279+3.5 210;+4.75

I missed the Allison announcement.

Congratulations! How exciting that she is here....
Prayers continuing...
 
+ 10.5 - 171

Thanks Liz & Rhiannon, The NICU staff are wonderful, but there is no place like home :razz: She is doing well for being as young as she is. Each day usually brings some little improvement.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top