Re: 5/22 Billie AMPS 293 +2 252
It's a nice place, isn't it, deanna? i think it says something about people who love cats!
There are some semantics that are confusing - the term Somogyii is used inconsistently both here and around the internet. Sometimes a cat is overdosed on insulin and the blood sugar stays high to keep the cat alive for as long as that dose stays high. we call the temporary phenomenon (up to 72 hrs) that happens when a cat goes into any range lower than they are used to, a bounce. We do see cats come in here that were started on 4 or 5 units, say, who have been overdosed and their blood sugar will stay high as the cat's body tries to compensate for the too-large dose of insulin. In that case, yes, we suggest people lower the dose. sometimes those cats even go off of insulin and become diet-controlled when that happens.
But bounces are different. They are a normal response in the body and it does not necessarily mean a cat is overdosed or needs a dose reduction. Here's a link to a post i wrote a couple of years ago about bouncing
New Dose Wonkiness & Bouncing. Bouncing is mentioned in the second post. The first one addresses high numbers that manifest in the first 24 hrs after a dose increase - another situation where one wouldn't decrease the dose from the high numbers.
Cats get rapidly accustomed to being in high numbers when they become diabetic, and when that happens they will bounce from any range lower than they are used to. So if they've gotten used to 400's, and they hit 200, their body perceives it as too low and the liver reacts. This is really common and obviously, they don't need less insulin. Often, in fact, a bouncy cat will benefit from a little more insulin - but that's decided on a case by case basis.
In Billie's case, she's bounced from blue numbers - all in the 100's - to those morning 300's you've seen. The point of Tight Regulation is to get a cat into normal numbers (50-120) and keep them there. When they get reaccustomed to that range and spend some time there, the pancreas has a chance to heal and begin producing insulin again. When that happens - the cat can become diet-controlled. If you hope for her to go off of insulin, you'll want your focus to be on getting her into the normal range and keeping her there.
We avoid the concern of a too high dose of insulin by starting at an appropriate dose (based on weight and previous insulin use), being systematic in increasing doses following the protocol's guidelines, and testing often enough that if a cat going low we will know it. It's not something you have to worry about at this point - and we definitely keep our eyes out for new kitties and look for what dose they started at, how the dose was increased, etc.
In any case, that might've been more than you wanted to know, but i wanted to reassure you that Billie isn't overdosed! We'd be able to tell if she was.
I agree with Wendy's suggestion to wait 2 more shots (total of 10 after the skipped shot) at this dose and if you aren't seeing greens by then, increase by 0.25u. It's important to wait the "just right" amount of time on a dose and to increase on schedule, because you don't want a cat's body to get too used to being in numbers that are still above the normal (50-120) range.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Billie is looking great!
edited to add - i started writing this before Chris posted and got sidetracked with a phone call. Chris' basically said the same thing i'm saying, i just like to use more words. ;-) :lol: