5/22 Annie AMPS 113, +2-337

Status
Not open for further replies.

RockStar033

Member Since 2012
ok, her amps was 142 - she has never had this low preshot. Problem is, I have a dentist appointment soon that i can't miss. Do i just test her again before i go, see if it's on the way up? and what do i do?

of course this happens on a day i have an appointment. :( i'll probably be gone a couple hours.
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142 - question

It looks to me like she is surfing from earlier but how earlier and how much did she drop and when? We don't really know those answers. However, it seems that every time Annie gets into a lower number than she is used to, she bounces back up.

When faced with a lower PS than you have gotten before, you have options:

1. shoot the full dose on time; you will need to monitor...at least a +1 and +2 unless she shoots WAY up at +1.

2. Do not feed! Stall and retest every 20 minutes until she starts to rise and then give the full (2u) dose. You have to be able to make up time if you stall and we do it in 15 min increments twice a day or one 30 min increment a day. You would need to get a +1 and if possible a +2 or an out the door test to see if she continues up.

3. Shoot a reduced dose on time. You could shoot 1u...one time and then tonight you would shoot her regular 2u dose. But you need to be aware that because of the cumulative nature of lantus where one shot builds on another, her cycle today is likely to look the same as it would if you shot 2u. It would be in a later cycle that you "might" see a difference. Monitoring would be the same as option 1.

4. Skip. Shoot your regular dose on time tonight.

For any of the above options except #1, your cycle count starts over again tonight.

It's up to you. If you skip, she will get back to where she was when her shed refills.

While I am not a big fan of stalling or skipping, if you can't be there to monitor to her, she needs to be safe. Her numbers will go up but they will come back down as you move forward. My guess is she is going to need more insulin soon anyway.
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142 - question? now 106

Star

Now you see why I don't like stalling ;-) Usually, if you have a shootable number, it's much better to shoot and feed and get the number up.

It's up to you.....if you can cancel your appt and stay home to monitor her, you've already stalled some....you can either stall a little more or go ahead and shoot and get some food into her. If you cannot cancel the appt, I think you should skip.
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142 - question? now 106

i've only stalled by like 15 minutes. I tried calling to change my time and they can't. Today is my only day to get in and i have to go. I am going to leave the house at 12
her shoot time is 11/11 - can i shoot a reduced dose now? or same dose? i'm so confused!
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142 - question? now 106

Star....breathe!!!

I'm glad she is coming up. Retest her right now ok...it's been about 15 more minutes. Get me the number...I'll be waiting.
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142 - question? now 106

IMHO, I would skip. It isn't worth the anxiety or the safety issue. If she had been coming way up, I'd have you shoot but if you shoot, you and I will both be worried the entire time you are gone.

I think she will probably come up BUT it's not a chance I want to take responsibility for with your kitty's safety. It is entirely your decision. If there is ANY way you could be home in one hour, I'd even go for
a reduced dose just to get some insulin in her (we don't usually stall AND give a reduced dose but sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do).

This has to be your call.
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142 - question? now 106

Star.....just one other quick thought. She will eat MC/HC on her own? If you think you could leave some out and she will eat it and you will be back soon, you could consider shooting a reduced dose.
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142 - question? now 106

Yea she will and she will eat it right now when I feed them before I leave. I'll be back in like no more then 3 hours
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142 - question? now 106

It's your call. I'm sorry but I can't make this decision for you. She is your cat.....if it was only two hours, I'd be more comfortable.
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142 - question? now 106

Ok....PLEASE leave HC food out for her. And please check her the minute you walk in the door.
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142 - question? now 106

so i injected her with .75u at 11:45 wtih a bit of HC food right before i left, usually i shoot her at 11. and at +2 she's 337
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142 - question? now 106

I thought she might bounce but I just prefer to err on the side of caution when the caregiver has to leave. Part of that number could be HC.
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142 - question? now 106

i feel like this appointment i couldn't miss today, really messed things up, i feel like she could have had a great day with her numbers compared to lately.

i wonder why she dipped so low? she hasn't really had good numbers for awhile now.

Thank you so much for your advice Marjorie, i figured she might bounce because .... she likes to bounce. haha. if i had of had some earlier morning numbers, i would have known if she was on the way up or not. Hubby is going to start getting some earlier numbers before he goes to work, which is before i wake up.
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142 - question? now 106

Star...don't be hard on yourself...she'll get back down. Life goes on and sometimes we have to do what we have to do.

When they clear bounces, sometimes they speed down at the end of the cycle. I do not know 100% if that is what she did but that's my speculation. And often they bounce back up but sometimes they don't.

You had to go...it's ok. She will be fine. Actually, my thought is that even if you had stayed home and shot the full dose, she probably would have bounced because that's what she has done in the past. But I would never base the safety of a kitty on my speculation because they do like to surprise us!

You are doing great with her Star. Like I said, I think she will probably need more insulin but start counting cycles again tonight on her 2u dose and let's see what she does. Also...if she stays high like this all day, I would go ahead and shoot her at your regular time tonight to get the insulin in her since it is only 45 minutes early. But you must test her since an early shot can be like a Dosecrease and you are going back up to 2u.
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142 - question? now 106

And one quick housekeeping request...if you could please update her subject line and also take out the ? From it and click off the button.....unless you need more help :-D

Thank you . Have a great day.
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142, +0-106, +.45-113, +2-337

Yea she loves to bounce

I hope when she finally gets down to lower numbers consistantly that i will be able to handle it. i don't know how people do it sometimes, haha. I'm so glad you have been around to help and advice, i really appreciate it and so does Annie
 
Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142, +0-106, +.45-113, +2-337

You're welcome.....I'm happy to help.

You're gonna kill me :lol: :lol:

Her AMPS is the number you actually shot. So her 142 would be +12 and +12.5 is 133; so in the subject line, you put the number you actually shot and then +2 337. OK?

On the SS, just start stacking her numbers in the +11 column so it would be: 139; 142 @ 12; 133 @ 12.5
In today's AMPS column put "108 @ +12.75" ....that shows us you stalled. And then in the "U" column, put BCS .75u

Thank you!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top