Re: 5/22 Annie AMPS 142 - question
It looks to me like she is surfing from earlier but how earlier and how much did she drop and when? We don't really know those answers. However, it seems that every time Annie gets into a lower number than she is used to, she bounces back up.
When faced with a lower PS than you have gotten before, you have options:
1. shoot the full dose on time; you will need to monitor...at least a +1 and +2 unless she shoots WAY up at +1.
2. Do not feed! Stall and retest every 20 minutes until she starts to rise and then give the full (2u) dose. You have to be able to make up time if you stall and we do it in 15 min increments twice a day or one 30 min increment a day. You would need to get a +1 and if possible a +2 or an out the door test to see if she continues up.
3. Shoot a reduced dose on time. You could shoot 1u...one time and then tonight you would shoot her regular 2u dose. But you need to be aware that because of the cumulative nature of lantus where one shot builds on another, her cycle today is likely to look the same as it would if you shot 2u. It would be in a later cycle that you "might" see a difference. Monitoring would be the same as option 1.
4. Skip. Shoot your regular dose on time tonight.
For any of the above options except #1, your cycle count starts over again tonight.
It's up to you. If you skip, she will get back to where she was when her shed refills.
While I am not a big fan of stalling or skipping, if you can't be there to monitor to her, she needs to be safe. Her numbers will go up but they will come back down as you move forward. My guess is she is going to need more insulin soon anyway.