5/22 AMPS 319 Some progress; shoot sched gets off set

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike&Buddy

Member Since 2011
I apologize for being away so long. Things here had gone upside down with the loss off work due to cutbacks and those things that come with it. It's been a real up hill battle these past few months. I have moved to the relaxed Lantus because I no long have a so called "normal" schedule to things. Still not working full time but here and there as I can, and it's some pretty crazy hours at that. Buddy tends to miss shoots from 30 to 45 minutes, too a whole day sometimes.

He was making some progress till my job loss resulted in scrambling to work when and where ever I could a few months back. His sores where under control with the use of Atopica; though they now have appeared for the first time in about over a month. I suspect due to the Atopica dosage being reduced, and his BG's going up and down due to my availability to do them. I was actually able to witness it happen for the first time kinda. I had just made the bed and he got on it, laid down in his usual spot and I pampered him with attention as always. I stepped out of the bedroom for less than about 30 seconds and came back, he was grooming his face and there it was. About the diameter of my small pinkie fingernail, a flesh sore that he apparently he did himself. There was no inflammation, dark spots or anything in that area to indicate a problem like before. Something just suddenly made him itch or feel irritated there and he must have used too much pressure or it was his claws. There are no signs of fleas, ticks or other pests that could be the problem ether on him, me or around the house or the others. I did forget to wash his face a couple of times during his Flovent sessions, that is another consideration. Did some residue cause this? -sigh-

Perplexing; I am going to contact the vet to see if perhaps a return to an increase in Atopica is in order. Also the sores where scraped and checked by the vet a couple of months ago and he concluded it was an allergy response, quite possibly environmentally related.

So no we are at 2.25, but still early in that cycle. A combination of things I assume will be a factor in one way or another; Atopica dosage, insulin amount shoots, and possible consideration the insulin it's self is already loosing it's life span before its time. Food intake is normal, drinking OK. No other problems with Buddy other that he hates the hot weather and wants it cold again. :razz:

OK: update. On the 5 hour check he is 174. I think they like to make us worry and always be on out toes. At 7th hour 170. :shock:
 
Re: 5/22 AMPS 319 Some progress; then back to sqaure one

OK, if you can see his SS it's starting to look pretty decent. Just like them to do that. :roll:

His sore has settled down with some use of cortisone, and a foam collar to avoid it being licked off till absorbed. His dose of Atopica was given in a normal amount, vet has not got back with me.

Another update: offered some work and took it. However it's going to throw the cycle off. -sigh- The 12 hour intervals will be broken up for tonight and the next. Instead of the usual 6a to 6p, it will only be a 6a since have to be at work by 5p. This I fear might me on going till I can find stable hours and work. His BG where 99 as of last check.
 
Was wondering about his shoots. If we keep missing his one of 6 to 6 shoots, could the one or the other be pushed up to around 4? For instance; instead of 6p, shoot at 4p. Come home at 12:30 and shoot at 6a (or maybe 4a?). However, this might change too; might end up working a day shift or two. Such as 7a to 5p. I an trying to land a steady hour job but it's been really hard.
 
sure you can change your shot times... I was just thinking you could change to a shot time that is about 30min before you leave for work.

With work hours, I think you could juggle the times to be 30min off once in awhile... just know that shooting early is like a dose increase and shooting late is a dose decrease.
 
Well, the 30 minutes might really be more like about almost two hours. If I leave at 4:15 to get to work at 5 (30 minute drive). And his shoot is actually always been around 6pm, that could be a problem.
 
your shots will just be in-the-door and out-the-door times.... make notes on your ss so that others can help you with suggestions on adjustments if needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top