? 5/22 - Abbie PMPS 106

Next time don’t feed and retest in 20 minutes to see if on the way up. Then you might feel comfortable shooting.
 
Depends how much she's gone up, and if you can be later with tomorrow's shot. Get the test and post.
 
Now the question is whether you can be an hour late with tomorrow's shot. If so, and you get another test that shows she's continuing to rise, you can shoot. 1/6 of a can shouldn't be enough to bring her up that much. Hopefully you'll still be able to monitor tonight too. Last night your last test was 74, which is really close to the reduction point of 68 if using the AT. I would have gotten a test a half hour later to make sure she remained in safe numbers.

Here is the link to your last post here, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-17-abbie-pmps-463.229723/
 
Now the question is whether you can be an hour late with tomorrow's shot. If so, and you get another test that shows she's continuing to rise, you can shoot. 1/6 of a can shouldn't be enough to bring her up that much. Hopefully you'll still be able to monitor tonight too. Last night your last test was 74, which is really close to the reduction point of 68 if using the AT. I would have gotten a test a half hour later to make sure she remained in safe numbers.

Here is the link to your last post here, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-17-abbie-pmps-463.229723/

I can be late with tomorrows shot and then work her back to her normal time. I'll test her again in a few minutes.

I can definitely monitor her tonight. Last night we were SO tired that we had to go to sleep. She sleeps on my face, and I'm a light sleeper, so I generally wake up when something is up with her.

Thank you all so much. I'll keep you posted!

Allie
 
This could be an active cycle since she’s holding steady. It’s up to you. You might need to keep testing and feeding. How do you feel?
 
I am scheduled to test and feed at 10 pm. She usually eats every 3 hours round the clock. I don't think I want to shoot her being this low. If she is high at 10pm, should I shoot her? Then just work her back to her normal shot time of 6:30 over the next week?

I'm quarantined at home with a 3 year old, so I'm pretty flexible on time, although I don't want to have to stay up any later than 10pm. Momma is worn out by then!
 
It’s up to you. To get back on schedule if you shoot that late you can shoot 30 minutes early 24 hours or 15 minutes each cycle. Personally I would just skip.
 
It’s up to you. To get back on schedule if you shoot that late you can shoot 30 minutes early 24 hours or 15 minutes each cycle. Personally I would just skip.
Okay, that's my gut feeling too. Skipping her shot for tonight. We'll see what kind of numbers the morning brings.

She's currently being treated for a UTI also, diagnosed at the same time that we noticed her numbers were back up. We're 3 days from finishing 2 weeks of Zeniquin. Wondering if that is playing a role here too...

Meanwhile, she was just playing with her toy mouse like a kitten. I'll take that!
 
I'd get one more test tonight - it'll give you good data, for the next time you are presented with a lower number as a preshot. With TR, you should be able to shoot these numbers and data will help you do that.
 
5/23- AMPS is 218. I went ahead and shot her .5 unit. I'll monitor her closely today (as I do everyday now because we're all stuck in this house together all the time!)

When should I be testing throughout the day? With the method I used the first time she was on insulin, I did +3 and +6 if I could, then a curve every 3 or so weeks. Poor Abbie's ears look like swiss cheese right now, so I hate poking her anymore than I have to.

Thanks again. I'd be lost without this group!

Allie
 
I would see what the +3 is and then decide when to do the next test. If a green number I’d grab another test in an hour unless unusually low when you might need one sooner. Once you get a handle on her patterns you will know how often to test.
 
I would see what the +3 is and then decide when to do the next test. If a green number I’d grab another test in an hour unless unusually low when you might need one sooner. Once you get a handle on her patterns you will know how often to test.
+3 is 110. She gets another small meal in an hour, and still has some of her breakfast left.

She’s been sitting with my daughter all morning. Normal Abbie.
 
+5 is 95. Seems like her trend is to drop quickly and then level out. I will check again in a few hours. She's in her room napping which is normal for her and she's eaten about half of her 11 am feeding. She usually cleans the plate before her next feeding. Next feeding is 3pm.
 
Back
Top