5/22/14-Zack PMPS 86,+2 51,+3 65,+4 68,+5 62,+6 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

hyolles

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119068

AMPS 176 +1.5 224,+3.5 46,+4 50,+4.5 54,+5.5 54,+6 61,+8.5 71,+10.5 72,PMPS 86,+2 51,+3 65,+4 68,=5 62, +6 76

MaryAlice, you were correct, he did not go so low last night.
We were speculating why he switched from low at night to low at day. I think it is the food. He eats at 6 p.m. and 9 p.m., with the longest fast from 6 .m. to 6 p.m.
Paul thinks we do not add the lunch meal, but try to get numbers low without.
I think adding the meal will help stabilize him.

And the debate continues.
I come home at lunch today, but have meetings from 11-12 and then again at 1:30. Not a lot of wiggle room.
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS 176

Good morning, Holly! ~O)

I've been (largely) absent for the past few days and am getting caught up this morning. I saw your condo from yesterday and just wanted to lend a little extra bit of moral support. I wasn't prepared for the difficulties that came with a cat going into remission, as strange as that sounds. Once Jersey finally got regulated, I worried non-stop about shooting and leaving for work. I would leave tons of food out in the timed feeder and pray that she would be safe while I was gone. I think Jersey ate more in that week when she was barreling into remission than she had eaten in the previous 6 months altogether. ohmygod_smile I snuck home whenever I could to get a mid-cycle check, and my husband came home from work one day when I called him in tears and said she was at 51 at +2. I lived for the weekends when I wouldn't have to worry. Two days before she went OTJ, I actually moved the shot time from 5:30 in the morning to 2:30 in the morning so I could get a +5 check rather than just a +2 check before work. Even getting a +5, I still worried.

Anyway.....I just wanted to let you know that you aren't alone. I completely understand your exhaustion and worry. I vented to the people here many, many times, and they were always extremely supportive. Just knowing that others understood my worry helped. It didn't take away the worry, of course, but it brought me some measure of comfort.

Hang in there! :YMHUG:
Shelly
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS 176

Hi guys .. nice blue this morning zack! We fed mocha quite a bit in the morning after her shot and then also in the evening after her shot .. front loading the cycle with food .. Sienne was the one who suggested it to us and it seemed to help mocha out .. Maybe she can help get you on that track with zack? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS 176, +1.5 224,+3.5 46,+4 50,+4.5 54

Looks like Zack earned a reduction!

at 3.5 46, Shelby fed him 2 tsp. high carb.
She was supposed to leave the house at +4, but hung around longer.
at +4 he was 50, she gave him 2 more tsp to be safe.

I am home and have a few minutes left before test.
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS 176,+3.5 46,+4 50,+4.5 54,+5.5 54

Congrats on the reduction! Zack is looking awesome. :mrgreen: Great catch on that 46. :-D Two or more small meals in the first half of the cycle is pretty common here. If kitty is a diver, then the meals in the first couple hours after the shot can slow the dive.
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS 176,+3.5 46,+4 50,+4.5 54,+5.5 54,+6 6

Thanks.
Glad Daughter unit was home!
Hoping he is rising. Headed back to work.
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS 176,+3.5 46,+4 50,+4.5 54,+5.5 54,+6 6

Glad Shelby was home! I thought she was gone for a few days. Checking in while hubby drives the rest of the way to Panama City beach for a weekend vacation.

Keep up the good work, guys!
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS 176,+3.5 46,+4 50,+4.5 54,+5.5 54,+6 6

Congratulations on the reduction, and good catch too!!

Zack is doing so great, Holly!

He usually seems to nadir by +6, so hopefully he'll surf along this afternoon while you're at work.

Down to 1.25 you go!
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS 176,+3.5 46,+4 50,+4.5 54,+5.5 54,+6 6

fantastic on another dose reduction! Everything is looking SUPER! I'm so glad Shelly dropped by to share her experience as well.

i'd vote with you on the food schedule. most people feed at least at preshot and +3 or so, which is what i did as well. 12 hrs is a very long time for a diabetic to go without food. I'd divide up what you normally give him at preshot and maybe give 2/3 then and 1/3 of it at +2 or +3 or so.

As a cat's pancreas kicks back on, they can also be fed small meals around the clock. Before that happens, if you feed in the second half of the 12 hour cycle it will raise their blood sugar. but once their spreadsheet looks like Zack's, feeding in the second part of the cycle doesn't seem to have that effect.
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS +8.5 71,+10.5 72,PMPS 86,+2 51

He sure is trying hard to stop this silliness, isn't he?

Go ahead and give him a couple of teaspoons of food and recheck him in 20-30 minutes
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS +8.5 71,+10.5 72,PMPS 86,+2 51

fed reg. low carb at 8:45 following 8:30 PMPS of +2 51
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS +8.5 71,+10.5 72,PMPS 86,+2 51

i'd just keep doling out the 2 teaspoons of low carb every half hour or so (assuming you can count on him to keep eating) and see if he'll stay over 50. You don't want to give back to back reductions (2 cycles in a row) because it's likely still the depot from the higher dose that's influencing his numbers tonight.

but Zack is in charge here - we'll follow his lead.
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS +8.5 71,+10.5 72,PMPS 86,+2 51

Congrats on the reduction. Zack is looking really good.
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS +8.5 71,+10.5 72,PMPS 86,+2 51,+3 65

Julie,
Zack has been a bottomless pit since he adopted us.
He loves this new agenda of eating all the time. In fact, if he could stage these low numbers to get more food, he probably would.
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS +8.5 71,+10.5 72,PMPS 86,+2 51,+3 65

hahahaa that's funny. punkin was a bottomless pit too. some people say their cats are getting full and might not eat - and then you have to be careful in case you need them to eat high carb. i could never relate to that - punkin would eat as much as i put down.

i think you can stop giving him low carb (sorry Zack!) since he's in the 60's now. we just want him to hang out here for the rest of the night (sorry Holly and Paul!) :lol:
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS +8.5 71,+10.5 72,PMPS 86,+2 51,+3 65,+

Zack is thrilled I did not read that last note until AFTER I fed him. Lol! so after the +3 I fed him 2 tsp low carb.
Now, +4 he is 68.
Do you thin it is almost safe to doze?
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS +8.5 71,+10.5 72,PMPS 86,+2 51,+3 65,+

PS Julie- I think our cats are related. At least they share the bottomless pit gene.
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS +8.5 71,+10.5 72,PMPS 86,+2 51,+3 65,+

you've had an hour with the numbers holding flat in the 60's. i'd probably put out a couple more teaspoons of food and take an hour nap.

i know this is such an exhausting phase. i wish i could say to just go to bed - but if you do, leave lots of food out. sometimes people are so tired they don't wake up to their alarms. i've slept through a couple of times, but punkin never ran low for cycles on end like zack is doing.
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS +8.5 71,+10.5 72,PMPS 86,+2 51,+3 65,+

You can do this, holly! Zack is doing great!
 
Re: 5/22/14-Zack AMPS +8.5 71,+10.5 72,PMPS 86,+2 51,+3 65,+

Paul is getting up at 1 a.m.
I am working on staying awake.
Will give him two tsp in a few minutes. He has about 30 min till the next hourly test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top