5/21 Vesta AMPS~83 +11~111 PMPS~78 +2~62 +4~113 +11~113 HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/21 Vesta AMPS~83 Advice

I need to leave now. This is up from last night when she was in the 40s and 60s. Yes, she ate. Gave half a unit.
 
Re: 5/21 Vesta AMPS~83 Advice

Hey again

just adding to something Sienne mentioned last nite, last nite, if u could get a +11 prior to AMPS, if you're up an hour early in the mornings, as the numbers get lower, as they are for Vesta - YAI!! ...it can help to give an idea of where Vesta is heading for the AMPS or even PMPS.

hope u have a good day!

leave plenty of foods out for her and she'll be ok.
 
Re: 5/21 Vesta AMPS~83 Advice

Nice AMPS! Good call on the .5U. She will be fine, you will not worry, and she will be verrry happy to have extra food laying around today. Have a nice day! Do get some +11's if you can :) they are very helpful
 
Re: 5/21 Vesta AMPS~83 Advice

Vesta is on the MOVE!

You better plan on some late nights and plan for any other plans to be jumbled.

I know it seems crazy...but this is what you WANT!

Great numbers :mrgreen: Woo-hoo! Go Vesta!
 
Re: 5/21 Vesta AMPS~83 Advice

I really like the +11 test because you can know which way Vesta is going or not going. An hr later, it sure helps you in your dosing decisions.
I also am away mostly between am and pm ps during the week, so there is nothing I can do about it other than follow my kitties' patterns and leave lots of foods because they are usually good at eating when they need to eat.
That's the value of curves when you are home because it gives you a window into how they may be reacting to their dose when you are not there to see and test.

I hope you come home to another good number.
 
Re: 5/21 Vesta AMPS~83 Advice

Since you gave a BCS (Big Chicken Sh*t) dose this morning, could you bring the dose back up to 1.75u tonight? Since you've emptied out the shed a bit, by going back to the 1.75 we'll be able to see if last night's numbers were leftover shed action or if another reduction is needed. Does that sound OK?
 
Re: 5/21 Vesta AMPS~83 Advice

Hi guys, you are getting great advice in here, Vesta is on the move which is awesome! I used to be the same as you with Scrabble, having to leave for work, gone for 10 hours and him having a low ps#, ugh it was agonizing but the good thing is his pancreas is healing and that is what you want!!! Keep up the good work and believe me you will get through it!!!
 
Re: 5/21 Vesta AMPS~83 +9~137

Mr. Weathergirl here,

Hi all, I'm okay with the +11 checks. I can suck up the extra hour. However, I still remain a little cautious as to the fact that for the next 10 days, I will have to leave immediately after her AM insulin and not be able to track it at all until her PM dose (ie I leave for work at 7:15-7:30am and sometimes barely get home at 6:30-7pm). Over the weekend, I will be here until +4 (11am), but past that, I'm gone and the cat sitter will be doing the 7pm doses and levels (ie I need to find a safe dose to tell her to give).

So, I don't know if I'm ready to go all the way up to 1.75units tonight. I'm thinking closer to 1.5 or 1.25units as I'm also going backwards 15minutes from 7:15 to 7pm.

Thoughts?
 
Re: 5/21 Vesta AMPS~83 Advice

nice decision making this morning. :smile:

Just to make sure I understand, you have a petsitter coming this weekend to give the PM shots? Does she test? And what + hour after that do you think you'll be home?
 
Re: 5/21 Vesta AMPS~83 +9~137

Pet sitter is coming to give the dose Sunday night at 7pm and next weekend both Sat and Sun at 7pm. Jamie comes home tomorrow night for the night dose, then leaves Sun AM for the rest of that time.

The pet sitter usually just gives the insulin, but was shown by us for the first time how to test. So, I remain hopeful she will be able to do it.

I will be home between +2 and +3 (9pm-10pm) on Sat and Sun.

For all who are trying to plan, my work schedule is:
Sat/Sun leave at 11am, home around 9pm
Mon leave at 11am, home around 6:30pm
Tues leave at 8am, home around 6:30pm
Wed leave at 7:15am, home around 3pm
Thurs leave at 11am, home around 6:30pm
Fri leave at 7:15am, home around 5pm
and repeat... through June 1st (night of June 1st- pet sitter comes, then Jamie takes over from the 2nd on while I am out of town for a conference)

It's not ideal, but what I can do with what I got.
 
Re: 5/21 Vesta AMPS~83 +9~137

doing the best you can with what you've got is all any of us can do. You have to have a plan you can live with.

Here's my thinking. You don't really need to reduce the dose just for the petsitter, since you'll be home at +2 or +3. But I was on the fence between 1.75 and 1.5 for Vesta's dose. Usually I like to be aggressive and hold onto a dose for as long as possible. That side of me wants to hold Vesta's dose at 1.75, to find out for sure whether the 40 the other night was running off of shed action or not. But, seeing that you won't be home a lot for the next week or so, I think I would go ahead and reduce to 1.5. She did earn the reduction, plus it will be easier for the petsitter to measure a dose on a line.

All that said, it looks like Vesta has had a breakthrough and she might earn another dose reduction soon. Get spot checks whever you are able.
 
Re: 5/21 Vesta AMPS~83 +9~137 +11~111 PMPS~78

+11 at 111 (yes, that's a lot of 1's, but not a typo)

PMPS at 78-

so, I'm going 0.5units again.

to explain my insanity. she's already been dropping overnight recently and now she's already dropping prior to even getting a dose. i think that anything up near 1unit could put her dangerously low tonight. i know i am risking her having a jump up in her levels in a few days from now, but low levels have their own inherent danger as well.

these levels are not inaccurate either, we are getting very solid blood drops to sample from.
 
Re: 5/21 Vesta AMPS~83 +9~137 +11~111 PMPS~78 +2~62

Hey Mr. WG - those numbers are looking verrrrry nice today. Catties always seem to know when the beans have plans. Looks like Mr. Pancreas is working hard over there. Keep posting so you have lots of eyes on Vesta. (Jamie is going to be very happy too!)

Is your petsitter able to access the forum or call you when she is there? With numbers like these, it would be good to have your advice on the shots. Keep up the good work!!!

Surf, Vesta, Surf!!!
 
Re: 5/21 Vesta AMPS~83 +9~137 +11~111 PMPS~78 +2~62

linda and crash,

Thanks. I'm glad I went for the 0.5units (shed or no shed). I would be chasing my tail right now.

I still wonder how much that stupid lantus pen was actually giving her. I think I gave it too much credit (Jamie was correct in listening to you guys and not trusting it)

The petsitter will have my contact info and I should be available (she will NOT have access to the forum). I'm hoping Vesta will pick a trend and stick to it through tomorrow, which should make things easier.
 
Ok, so, I've now done 0.5 units 2 half days in a row due to her low levels.

Yesterday she went from +9 at 137 to +11 at 111 to PMPS of 78 to +2 of 62 to +4 of 113 to +11 of 113.

I'm going to shoot her in an hour (7am west coast). I'm trying to decide if I stick with the 0.5 or not. If she drops in the next hour, I think that is my plan. If she goes up over 130, what are your thoughts? I'm only here through +4 at which I need to run out of here for work.

Mr. Weathergirl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top