5/21 Rusty PMPS 108, +4.5 77. MJ syringes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71413

Good Morning, Everyone,

We all had a good night--it cooled down nicely to the upper 50s. Rusty had a good test (maybe some food behind it; or maybe a little bounce), Wellness Turkey breakfast (2 sittings), a so-so shot (new box: Marje is right--this numbered lot of MJs is not great) and there was a drop left in the syringe, so I had to shoot again to get it all in. He is chillaxing on his little bed. Edward is about to take him outside for a short spin around the yard. Then the beans are off on a paddle. Today's paddle is on Lake Placid. We have never paddled on the lake before. It's a large lake and we will have our lunch on one of the islands. Rusty will be served lunch in his automat.

Back in the mid afternoon.

Everyone have a good day. Sending good thoughts and healing vines to kitties, beans, droolers who are in need of some,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/21 Rusty AMPS 143

Morning Ella, nice AMPS for Rusty today. I also use the MJ's and have same problems as you and Marje. Since I'm just on three drops, it's a little easier to microdose. That works with the extra little on the syringe, too is just to shoot it. That sounds like a great paddle today! Have a great time and don't forget the sunscreen. Kitties will have something planned to keep Rusty busy.
 
Re: 5/21 Rusty AMPS 143

Morning all! Looks like a nice start today for you Rusty, and you even got to go outside a bit before your beans leave. Surf well today. :-D :-D

Enjoy the paddle - it sounds like a good one.
 
Re: 5/21 Rusty AMPS 143

Nice start for Rusty!
Enjoy your paddling Ella! Lunch on an island, that must be fun!
 
Re: 5/21 Rusty AMPS 143

Good start to the day Rusty! Maybe by now your surfing the greens?!

Hope the paddle on placid was wind free and highly enjoyable:)
 
Re: 5/21 Rusty AMPS 143

Nice safe start today. I hope you have a great paddle, I love picnicking on islands! Dad had an outboard and when I was little he would take us to the Mississippi River and we would picnic on the sandbars! :-D :-D

What's the lot number on your MJs? My last order seemed much better than the previous one. Lot 136133.
 
Re: 5/21 Rusty AMPS 143

Good start this morning, Rusty. Did Lake Placid live up to its name? :lol: Sounds like a bunch of fun.
Liz
 
Re: 5/21 Rusty AMPS 143, +10 113, PMPS 108. MJ syringes

Hi again, everyone,

I'm really late this evening because I just spent over an hour examining the MJ syringes in my 2 new boxes of Lot 136133. I have 10 good syringes out of 200!! :shock: In the other 190 syringes, the base of the needle does not come down to the bottom of the little cone (which is the zero line). Therefore, unless you compensate, you are shooting more than your dose. This isn't a problem of the accuracy of the lines themselves, or even where the plunger lines up (which can also be a problem). Marje cautioned me about this, but I had only looked at the syringes in a cursory manner. Now that I have begun to use the syringes in this lot, I see what a problem it really is!
Interestingly, I still have a number of syringes from other lots stashed here and there in Rusty's various travel kits. Every one of them has the base of the needle in the proper place--at the zero line (all the way down into the little cone). I'm going to call Monoject tomorrow and complain.

Now, to the day: Rusty got dosed at AMPS and at PMPS with the questionable syringes. I tried to compensate this evening, but this morning I really don't know what dose he got! In any event, the morning shot produced acceptable bgs. Our paddle was much longer than I thought it would be (and we stopped off for impromptu refreshments at our friends' camp). It was a beautiful day, but got windier and windier. We really were putting out lots of energy for the last hour or so of the paddle, just to keep from going backwards!! (an exaggeration, but only a slight one).
Rusty was happy to see us and we had some good outdoor time in the late afternoon. He had eaten almost all of the food I left for him in his automat.

Off now to visit condos. Everyone have an enjoyable evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/21 Rusty AMPS 143, +10 113, PMPS 108. MJ syringes

All the syringes stink and if we could all create THE PERFECT SYRINGE we could make a lot of money!! And help FD cats!! :lol: :lol: I use the BD syringes & call them all the time- Maybe someday a good one??
Glad you had a lovely paddle, except for the ride home, but we are glad you got home ok!
See Mannie is surfing the blues today & tonite!--Hope you see green soon! Hugs & LOVE from us!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/21 Rusty AMPS 143, +10 113, PMPS 108. MJ syringes

I'm sorry about those Monject syringes. we dont that this brand in HK, so I am using the BD w/o any half marking. Since I havent get to micro dosing, still can manage with the BD was thinking about ording the MJ through online but now with this inaccuracy, doubt if I should do so! Maybe using the caliper to measure is the only way to make sure of a consistant dose :?
Glad that Rusty's bg is not affected!
 
Re: 5/21 Rusty AMPS 143, +10 113, PMPS 108. MJ syringes

come on Rusty, the Lagoon needs the Lagoon Master! Soooooo close now.

Interesting on the syringes. I have the same lot and am having much less problem than w/ the last. My problem w/ the last lot was insulin going behind the plunger so Tess wouldn't get her full shot. Only one or two in this lot. The way I count drops for Tess's tiny dose makes it easier though and i don't rely on the accuracy of the syringe.

Do you remember who it was that was using a reusable glass syringe w/ disposable needles? I think it was last spring or summer. It was a couple and their cat went OTJ. I've been wracking my brain trying to remember. That may be the way to go.
 
Re: 5/21 Rusty AMPS 143, +10 113, PMPS 108. MJ syringes

very nice day for Rusty. wow on the syringes... guess I will have to take a look at my lot....

The paddle sounds wonderful even with the wind! sounds like fun today your friends camp. YAY!

Enjoy your evening!
 
Re: 5/21 Rusty AMPS 143, +10 113, PMPS 108. MJ syringes

Ella.....if you call them, do not tell them it's for a cat. They will not care. They aren't marketing their syringes for animals and only feel the necessity to meet the standards of error for humans. Interestingly, with all the syringes they've had me send them, they have yet to respond to me on their accuracy. I just sent them several syringes out of that lot number to show them the stem aberration. BTW, they think Gracie is a 5 year old human baby girl!! ;-) I'll give you the name and number of the person I've been dealing with but you have to talk in terms of kids, not cats.

I did not see a change in Gracie's numbers with the syringes from that Lot. I've just been religiously drawing her doses with the calipers for maximum accuracy. I do try to make sure the dose looks the same within the hub and if it doesn't, I redraw.
 
Re: 5/21 Rusty AMPS 143, +10 113, PMPS 108. MJ syringes

Ann, just sent you a PM about glass syringes.

MJ
 
Thanks Marje,
Of course I would not tell them the syringes are being used by a cat! When you measure with the calipers, how do you compensate if the base of the needle isn't at the zero line?

Sorry, Ann, I don't remember about the glass syringes, but MJ apparently has some info.

Ni ni everyone, I'm zonked!

Ella & Rusty
 
Ella, I posted in Gracie's condo about our latest problems with the MJ syringes. We have the same lot as you and another one that is no better. We've tried four different brands of syringes and had the least problems with the MJ ones. It is very frustrating! Rusty seems to be doing fine despite beans worries over syringes. What a guy! :mrgreen: Sweet dreams!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top