CrazyKaitLady
Member Since 2024
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...onsistent-after-dose-inc.289970/#post-3178835
Petey's blood sugar is a little crazy at the moment... he has been on 3.25u for 14 cycles and I just increased to 3.5 this morning (TR protocol). I was originally going to increase a few days ago but the day I planned to increase he was unusually low pre-shot (for him... it was 191) so I kept it for a few more days. Even with the increased dose this morning, Pete is now reading HI at +3 and +4. I checked his ketones with a blood meter yesterday and they were 0.1 so that's good.
I'm assuming I should just stay the course right now and see if it goes down by tonight?
I switched his food flavor to beef+liver several days ago and his BGs seemed a little lower on that but he'd stopped eating as much. Switched to turkey+giblets last night and he's back in the clean plate club but BGs not so great. I have some grilled feast flavor that I'm planning to switch to for dinner today. He may also be high right now because of stress. Before he was part-time in my foster room (he's a rescue foster) but slept in his own bathroom at night. I now have him in the foster room full time so maybe he's just adapting to that.
My plan is to switch to grilled feast flavor with dinner tonight, keep the newly increased dose of 3.5, keep an eye on him and keep checking BGs today, and check his ketones tomorrow morning. If there's anything you lovely experts think I should be doing differently please let me know! Very grateful for the support on this forum!
Editing to add: I do have humulin on hand from when he was coming out of the DKA at the beginning of April but not sure what the recommendations are on adding in short-acting insulin
Petey's blood sugar is a little crazy at the moment... he has been on 3.25u for 14 cycles and I just increased to 3.5 this morning (TR protocol). I was originally going to increase a few days ago but the day I planned to increase he was unusually low pre-shot (for him... it was 191) so I kept it for a few more days. Even with the increased dose this morning, Pete is now reading HI at +3 and +4. I checked his ketones with a blood meter yesterday and they were 0.1 so that's good.
I'm assuming I should just stay the course right now and see if it goes down by tonight?
I switched his food flavor to beef+liver several days ago and his BGs seemed a little lower on that but he'd stopped eating as much. Switched to turkey+giblets last night and he's back in the clean plate club but BGs not so great. I have some grilled feast flavor that I'm planning to switch to for dinner today. He may also be high right now because of stress. Before he was part-time in my foster room (he's a rescue foster) but slept in his own bathroom at night. I now have him in the foster room full time so maybe he's just adapting to that.
My plan is to switch to grilled feast flavor with dinner tonight, keep the newly increased dose of 3.5, keep an eye on him and keep checking BGs today, and check his ketones tomorrow morning. If there's anything you lovely experts think I should be doing differently please let me know! Very grateful for the support on this forum!
Editing to add: I do have humulin on hand from when he was coming out of the DKA at the beginning of April but not sure what the recommendations are on adding in short-acting insulin
Last edited: