5/21 Neko PMPS 515 +2 430 +3 342

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71427 was a bounce recovery day that got into yellows during the day and possibly into blues at night, which caused yet another bounce. All I can say about the AMPS is, at least it isn't Hi. 5th cycle at this dose.

What ideas do people have to help reduce the severity of a bounce? Neko is clearly a bouncy kitty and is slowly getting used to better numbers, but I'm wondering if there is anything I can do with food to support her. Neko gets fed +1 and +2 from the autofeeder (part of breakfast) and +3 is feed manually. She is fed raw, and depending on the protein, it varies from 4-5.5% carbs. When I feed her rabbit, I don't have the food breakdown, but there are no veg, so I think it's lower if any carbs. I do have Wellness LC and MC on hand if that would help.

Last night she was dropping rather quickly but still within safe numbers, so I just gave her the usual LC at +3 and went to bed to try to get rid of the muzzy headed cold I've got. Would it have helped to give a bit of MC?

Neko is currently curled up on her blue chair (although I'm not sure we'll see blue today), after having done a couple of yard patrols in spite of the drizzle outside. No play yet, but that usually happens on the second half of her cycle. The rest of the P's in place.
 
Re: 5/21 Neko AMPS 59 +2 431 +3 361 - bounce reduction strat

Wendy

She wasn't really 59 at AMPS right? Your SS shows 578 ;-)

First, bouncing is not a bad thing....it shows the liver is doing its job. So many kitties are bouncy until they get used to lower numbers and the liver can readjust its thinking and passes Liver Training School. A kitty will bounce until she/he doesn't.

But I can understand your wanting to try and minimize it. I've said the same thing myself. Lots. So two things can cause a bounce....a rapid drop in BG and numbers the liver is not used to. So when Neko spends time in the 400 and 500s, her liver becomes accustomed to those numbers and even 200s (and maybe 300s) make her liver believe her BG is too low. It then releases the counterregulatory hormones and glucagon causing the BG to rise.

So if we can try and flatten the curve some, then that can help. The tendency we all have when we are new is to feed as low carb a diet as possible. But sometimes, feeding a little higher low carb food is better for some cats. So if you feed 0 or 1% now, perhaps you want to try to feed her normal amount at her regular times but feed her 4 or 5% carbs and see if that helps to flatten her curve a little. And you can tweak it by feeding minimeals at times you think she is prone to dropping. But you want to stick with the normal amount and low carb food. This method does not involve feeding extra food or feeding MC, HC, or karo.

If it does flatten her curve, she might need more insulin to bring the overall range down.
 
Re: 5/21 Neko AMPS 579 +2 431 +3 361 -bounce reduction strat

Oops, thanks Marje - fixed the Subject Line. I ran into the max # characters and deleted an important one!

Neko's regular food is 4-5.5% carbs raw food. The 0-1% rabbit is just fed very occasionally, although interestingly enough, it was what I fed a couple of days ago when she got the nice little run of greens. But that was also a day she started in the yellows. I'm not good at guessing yet when she will be dropping, so she has been getting her food as mini meals all of the time. Looking at her spreadsheet, a lot of her +2s have been lower lately. So far there has been no HC or karo and I just tried experimenting a couple of times with MC, but that is not part of her regular diet.

Her weight has been pretty stable the last couple of months, so the amount of food seems to be OK. I have been watching fairly carefully since I switched her to raw and wasn't 100% sure on amounts to feed.

I suspect we'll need yet again more insulin, but wanted to try to see if this dose can settle down at all before increasing. We did have a nice surf in the 60's after the first cycle and her shed wasn't full yet.
 
Re: 5/21 Neko AMPS 579 +2 431 +3 361 -bounce reduction strat

Marje provided good information.

Unfortunately, some cats are just bouncy. I think if you look to getting Neko's numbers in an overall lower range that will help you keep some perspective on the bounces. Neko just isn't used to spending time in blues and greens. As a result you see the effects of a healthy liver -- bounces. There are times when the only thing that breaks the bouncing is more insulin.
 
Re: 5/21 Neko AMPS 579 +3 361 +5 228 reduce bounce?

Thanks Sienne. Sounds like you are suggesting a dosecrease again when the 6th cycle is done?
 
Re: 5/21 Neko PMPS 515 +2 430

PMPS 515 +2 430

Well she got into blue today with the resulting bounce, although not as high as this morning. I get the feeling that she sat in the back row of Liver Training School :lol:

The protocol says to wait 6-10 cycles and we have just completed cycle 6. I think I'll wait at least 2 more cycles to see if she settles more before increasing again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top