5/21 Munchkin AMPS 242; +4.25 274, +6.25 276, Newbie-ish

Status
Not open for further replies.

Munchkin's Reagan

Member Since 2012
Hello LL,
I was previously PebsNMunchsReagan, but I only had a short stint here about a year ago. Here's our last Condo. Also, here is my reintroduction onto Health last Thursday.

A quick summary: Munchkin was taken into the vet due to blood in her stools. They found colitis (No parasites, possibly stress related-possibly food, unsure at the moment) and that her diabetes has been back (My meter/strips were giving numbers 100+ off; four months prior we had had a good report at a spot check at the vet). Today I am removing all dry food (she had gone into remission while still getting very little dry dm--should I have just taken it away before? apparently so--lesson learned the hard way). I spent a lot of my time Thrus and Friday trying to re-familiarize myself to FDMB, reading posts and stickies. And we set up our Munchkin cabinet again.

Outside of that, I really just think I have one question for today. Tomorrow my aunt is have a tumor removed and full hysterectomy. We need to be at he hospital 4 hours before Munchkin is due for her shot, the hospital is 55 minutes away from my house and I have no one I can ask to come take care of her (Vet wouldn't open until 2 hours before her shot). What would you do in this situation?

I still need to set up my signature, but here's her SS and she is on 1 unit/bid of Lantus. For food, Friskies Pate. She was on a 12 hour food cycle, but the last couple days she has been getting "snacks" whenever she asks for them. I think I covered everything. Hopefully.

Thank you all for being here and sharing your knowledge.
 
Re: 5/21 Munchkin AMPS 242; Newbie-ish

Sorry to see you're back.

Had you thought about checking with your vet's office to see if there's a vet tech who can stop by and give Munchkin her shot? If not, I'd consider skipping.

A couple of thoughts. I think you can back off a bit on your AM testing. Testing every hour really isn't necessary. On the other hand, getting a couple of spot checks at night would be very helpful.

Colitis is usually referred to as IBD -- inflammatory bowel disease. One thing that may be helpful is seeing if giving Munchkin novel proteins (e.g., venison, duck) helps. If you've not seen this additional list of foods, it may help you to find some different food options.
 
Re: 5/21 Munchkin AMPS 242; Newbie-ish

I called the vet, unfortunately that's not a viable option for tomorrow. (We're also 40+ mins away for the vet) We definitely need to find someone closer (and on board with home testing). With skipping the dose, I can generally just expect higher numbers at +24 (Would be her PMPS--sorry just thinking out loud) and possibly the next day while her shed builds again?

I have been heavy on the testing. I thought it would help me get a better grip on what her "normal" was/how she differs from the generalized Lantus curve--she seems to go up and down multiple times. I'll get less obsessive about it though and get better at the night reading too.

Thank you for the food list, that will be really helpful. I appreciate it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top