5/21 Minino - 65 at +3, 61 at +3.25, worried

Adri

Member Since 2020
Hi,

My cat Minino has suddenly dropped to 65 mg/dL at +3. I gave him high carb wet food and re-tested 20 minutes later and he's at 61 mg/dL. I just gave him a little more high carb wet food. If anyone's around right now, I'm wondering whether I should rub honey on his gums at some point or to just keep doing high carb food. I am going to re-test in about 10-15 min.

Thanks!
 
Was that test with the Libre or your Eq Impulse? Below 50 is the danger zone, so good job keep Minino above that so far. Test about 20-30 minutes after feeding - it takes that long for the carbs they eat to show up in the blood stream.
 
Thanks so much for responding so quickly! It's with the Eq impulse. I'll post again in a few minutes with his next result.
 
As long as he's above 60, you can stick with a tsp or two of his regular low carb food. And wait 30 minutes for the next test.

Since you are following SLGS, this means going back to 2.0 units tomorrow.
 
Ok awesome thanks! I'm also not sure what to do tomorrow if his pre-shot value is below 150, should I still do 2? I've usually been reducing by .25 or just maintaining the dose because his pre-shot values usually don't tell me much. He tends to have a pretty flat curve so I try to base dosage now on nadirs and where his average numbers are.
 
Looks like he's staying steady. The high carb food you fed earlier can wear off - it takes a couple hours. So you'll have to keep testing for a while yet.

We do base dosage on nadirs, so you are doing the right thing. I expect he might bounce after this stretch of greens and it won't be a problem giving insulin tomorrow morning. With experience and data, you can lower the number you shoot at preshot to as low as 90. I see you've shot at 125 previously. And you can always stall or delay until he comes up, and I see you've done that before too.
 
Just tested again and he's at 91 at +5. Any suggestions on what times to test next? I'm guessing I don't need to give any more HC food at this point? It's 4 am here so wondering when it's safe to sleep. Thanks again for all the help!
 
Back
Top