5/21 Johnny AMPS 72 PMPS 99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
Johnny has been at 0.10u for the past four days. This morning started with a beautiful AMPS, but he hit the 30s. His numbers don't indicate (to me, anyway) that he's ready to go entirely without insulin, so I'm thinking we go back to the drop system. (NOTE: for anyone unfamiliar with Johnny's history, this step-down method is not "the norm" and was developed for Johnny just before he went OTJ last fall.)

Should we start off by shooting a drop for continuous cycles until Johnny says otherwise? (hits 30s/40s) And then a drop as needed? 7/19/10 is when we started this protocol last year, in case it helps to look back. Also, I promise not to do my +40, +54, +60, etc.!! I honestly thought that's what I was supposed to do. lol I'm even annoyed looking back!

Tonight's shot is 7:30 CT.
 
Re: 5/21 Johnny AMPS 72 - hit 30s - dose advice needed

(I was wondering where you got to!)

Yup -- I think it's the "drop" (or fat 0) and maybe even the same system as before.
 
Re: 5/21 Johnny AMPS 72 - hit 30s - dose advice needed

just like old times!

I don't remember exactly how we structured his protocol last time. He got a drop when he hit a certain number, right?
 
Re: 5/21 Johnny AMPS 72 - hit 30s - dose advice needed

Please don't feel bad...we've all made mistakes!! Just the other morning, I remembered to test before shooting, but forgot to look at the meter. Right when I was sticking the needle in, I stopped and thought, whoa...I didn't check the meter, checked it, and his BG was in the 80's. This low number was a first for him at AMPS and I was just about to inject him with a dose increase!!!! So yeah, we've all made mistakes :-D
 
Re: 5/21 Johnny AMPS 72 - hit 30s - dose advice needed

We began with shooting a "drop" (less than 0.10u) every 12 hours until Johnny waved the white flag and we would began an OTJ Trial. After two such trials, it was decided that he still needed some insulin, so we'd go the route of shooting numbers over 200 (if it had been at least 12 hours since previous shot). Later that week, it was realized that our insulin was not as effective and we replaced it. The plan became "shoot numbers higher than 180 if at least 12 hours since previous shot." We reduced to a goal of higher than 150 shortly afterwards (8/24).

Would you go the drop every 12 hours route or the set a goal and "shoot when more than ______" goal? I'm not sure if the latter was simply more effective or if it was just a cumulative effect and he was more ready to take that step when it was taken.

Man, I'm wordy.
 
I would probably go with a drop every 12 hours for as long as he'll let you. When that starts becoming too much, we'll have to decide whether it looks like he can go without insulin, or go to as-needed again. It would be nice if he would do things the more traditional way this time. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top