5/21 Jinx AMPS 411, +5 392, PMPS 356 (AT)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/21 Jinx AMPS 411, +5 392 (AT)

Just giving you a bump up. Most cats are over NDW after 6 cycles, Tess always seemed to take a little longer though.
 
Re: 5/21 Jinx AMPS 411, +5 392 (AT)

Thanks, Ann.

So Jinx still has loose stools and now his five year old sister Molly does as well. He hasn't pooed today but she has so I took a sample in to the vets and it tested negative for common parasites, e.g. roundworm, hookworm, etc. I was hoping they'd do a more thorough test to include giardia but I found out that's what they did when they called with the results.

When Jinx poos tomorrow, I'm going to bring in a sample and have them do the more extensive test. My vet seems to think it's diet related for both of them. I got Molly on a dry Royal Canin diet a month ago and she's been fine up until a couple days ago. My gut is telling me that Jinx probably has something that she caught but who knows. My vet also talked down Wellness and suggested getting Jinx on a "better quality" food such as Hills (again), Eukanuba, Royal Canin, or Waltham. I'm going to switch vets once I get the loose stool issue with them taken care of. I only still go to him to get the flagyl prescription and I don't want to stress Jinx out right now by bringing in to see another vet.
 
Joe

Sorry to get to your condo so late. I'm glad the fecal test was negative however Giardia can be difficult to diagnose. Sometimes it takes repeated tests but for right now, you should probably try to address the food issue since you have one neg test under your belt. With Giardia, the stools are soft, kind of a funky grayish green color, and smell .....BAD.

I can't believe this vet thinks those other foods are better than Wellness. Vets do not get a lot of training in nutrition. How sad is that. Maybe you should give him the link to Dr. Lisa's website on feline nutrition.

I think you should raise Jinxs dose to 2.5u tomorrow morning if he continues like this tonight.

Thanks for visiting our condo...I'm glad you liked Missy Gs photos :-D
 
No problem at all, Marjorie. Thanks for checking in on us. If tonight's numbers are high, I'll increase the dose to 2.5u tomorrow morning.

Yeah, it amazed me to hear what foods he thinks are better than Wellness. He turned out to be a big disappointment so I'm looking into other vets right now.

So do you think I should change Jinx's food tomorrow? He hasn't pooed all day so I'm crossing my fingers. If it's still loose, I was thinking about starting him on a raw diet. Please let me know what you think when you get a chance. I won't be able to switch until tomorrow afternoon so I'll post again on tomorrow's condo. Have a good night!
 
You're welcome.

I am an advocate of raw diets. The only issue is knowing what the %calories from carbs is. If you are making the diet, you'll need to know the carbs. Some of the frozen premade patties like Natures Variety Instinct Range from 3-6% carbs.
nutritional values

Sometimes feeding a higher low carb food actually works better for FDs. I found that with Gracie. You would have to just try it and see if it manages his curve ok...if he's carb sensitive, it might work but if he's not, he made need in the 4-6%
Carb range.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top