chrisb3127
Member Since 2018
My vet increased Jag's Lantus to 4 units last Friday. Two weeks before that, they increased him to 3 units.
I started using the ReliOn meter, mainly due to cost of the strips. The AT was just too expensive to maintain.
I have some questions, I'm hoping the experts here can advise on, since I'm still fairly new to this!
- Jag's levels dropped a lot since giving 4 units, today PMPS he was 137. Do you still shoot 4U when the levels are nearing 100? I'm worried since upping to 4U, he dropped big time from prior 300+ numbers.
- Jag seems to be eating less for the past few days. (Coincides with the increase dose) Is this directly related to having lower glucose levels?
- The vet said to NOT check his glucose as often as I'm doing in my spreadsheet. They said I'm going to end up giving him an infection from so much checking.. They told me to only check it twice a week, at the +6 mark. I do not agree with this...
- The vet wants Jag to lose weight (he's over 20lbs), but said he should only lose up to 2 pounds per year. If his sugar levels drop, causing him to eat less, how do I manage that?
I updated my spreadsheet in my signature with the ReliOn meter figures.
Jag thanks everyone in advance!

I started using the ReliOn meter, mainly due to cost of the strips. The AT was just too expensive to maintain.
I have some questions, I'm hoping the experts here can advise on, since I'm still fairly new to this!
- Jag's levels dropped a lot since giving 4 units, today PMPS he was 137. Do you still shoot 4U when the levels are nearing 100? I'm worried since upping to 4U, he dropped big time from prior 300+ numbers.
- Jag seems to be eating less for the past few days. (Coincides with the increase dose) Is this directly related to having lower glucose levels?
- The vet said to NOT check his glucose as often as I'm doing in my spreadsheet. They said I'm going to end up giving him an infection from so much checking.. They told me to only check it twice a week, at the +6 mark. I do not agree with this...
- The vet wants Jag to lose weight (he's over 20lbs), but said he should only lose up to 2 pounds per year. If his sugar levels drop, causing him to eat less, how do I manage that?
I updated my spreadsheet in my signature with the ReliOn meter figures.
Jag thanks everyone in advance!