? 5/21 Hugo AMPS 70, 80, 65, 48, 63, 76, 90.

Elle D & Hugo

Member Since 2020
Hugo started out at 96 this morning at his usual TSF time, but I had a sneaking suspicion, and I tested him when he was done eating, and he was at 70. We waited 15 and he came up to 80. I wanted to be cautious, so we knocked 0.25 off his shot and gave him the 1.75. An hour later he was at 65. We fed him some med carb. 20 min later, he was at 48!!! I stirred a little maple syrup into some more food and gave it to him. 20 min after, at 63. Right now he tested 76.

I'm freaking out. He's never tested that low before. He's not acting weird at all, and he's still alert and eating. I'm worried about what's to come later today. I don't know how to get back on track with him. Are we giving him too much insulin or is our timing off?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-20-hugo-amps-101-2-339-dosage-help.229836/#post-2573140
 
Hi. He is coming up nicely. You are doing a great job. Test again in 20 minutes and post. If he’s going up you can feed some lc or mc. How’s he acting? Keep him hungry and feed small amounts because he could still drop. A reduced dose doesn’t always prevent a big drop as he’s working off the depot. Congrats on the reduction. I never had an active hypo with Max either. That’s why testing us so important.
 
The 48 really shocked me. I'm glad I went with my gut and tested him twice this morning. Otherwise we might not have caught it fast enough.

He's at 90 now. We're still keeping an eye on him, but I can breathe a little now.
 
You did a great job today, you caught the low, you got him up quickly, and now he's surfing nicely. :D A tip for next time, if you see him nose dive very early in the cycle, go with something higher than medium carb. The insulin effect is stronger earlier on in the cycle, and high carb is better. I would have fed HC at that 65. It will also help you in the future if you keep good notes on what you fed when he's low. The Remarks column is a good place to note extra food, how much, and what carb when.

A favour to ask, could you please update the spreadsheet for last night? I see no data for yesterday past AM+2. When you ask for dosing help, we request that your spreadsheet be up to date. I agree with Elise on the new dose.
 
Back
Top