? 5/21 Ham's amps 54

Status
Not open for further replies.
If you're not going to be home to test and monitor, and he's never been this low, then it may be best to skip today. He has a depot to carry him through the day. Let's see what his next test number is before deciding. Too bad he couldn't present you with this number on a day when you are going to be home.
 
Since you have to go to work I would skip this morning's insulin and feed as you normally do if she were my cat. Others may disagree.
 
Another option is to give a BCS (one time reduced dose) of like 1 unit, just to put something into the depot, and feed and leave out some medium carb food. Is there anyone home who can check on him?
 
No it's just me. Not that I want him going lower but when should I really worry? I think I'm just gonna skip... better to be safe then sorry since I am not going to be home.
 
If you're just going to skip then give him some food, and test before you leave. You can even give him a little medium carb or higher carb food. With skipping, he will be using the depot, so he will still have insulin being used, so get an out the door test. If he is still low, then leave out some higher carb food for him, if you can. Or call in late to work. Or find a way to come home at lunch to check on him. I know I would be nervous in your shoes.
 
I think I'd be more inclined to skip this morning. If you want to give the extremely reduced shot, you can give it now. I would just suggest, if you do, to test before you leave or call in late or sick or get someone else to test or at least come home for an early lunch to test, and leave out medium carb or high carb. Just my thoughts.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top