5/21 Gem AMPS 368, +9 88, PMPS 435

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkbank

Member Since 2012
Hi All

Well Gem had another interesting day. Lowest numbers I've ever seen from her. Do you think the high PMPS is a bounce from the low? In that case, do I hold the dose and ride it to give her a chance to adjust?

Unfortunately, Gem suffered another skin tear, which just breaks our hearts. Every time we think she's on the mend, something else happens. Her cortisol levels are still high so the doctor wants to increase the dose of trilostane (treats Cushing's). One more thing to keep an eye on :)
 
I am sorry to hear the she had another skin tear. (((Gem))). I think it is encouraging that she has tolerated the medication with no serious side effects, so perhaps the increased dose of Trilostane will help her.
 
Thanks Linda. I think there will be some more tears as this whole area looks….not great, for lack of a better description. So it's like the existing tear is sort of spreading. The problem with these is that they are in area she can get at, so I've had to cover it up to protect it. She's not wild about that.

Yes, luckily no side effects from the trilo. Right now she's been getting 30mg once a day. He wants to add 10mg in the PM so she's dosing twice a day, but the increase is only another 10mg. Then we'll test her again in 2 or 3 weeks and see where she's at. If there's no decrease in her cortisol, well I don't know where we go from there, but we'll cross that bridge if and when we get there.
Karen
 
I'm just seeing this now. Those are some very nice green numbers, Gem. Yes, I would say that the 435 is a bounce, because she's not used to those numbers. I would stay with the dose and see how she does. And keep feeding her whenever she asks for food, just in case you are unable to test her.
I'm sorry to hear about the new tear in her skin. But, the exsisting tears are healing?
Just to let you know, she's in my daily prayers. I hope the increase in meds. helps her cat_pet_icon
 
Dyana said:
I'm just seeing this now. Those are some very nice green numbers, Gem. Yes, I would say that the 435 is a bounce, because she's not used to those numbers. I would stay with the dose and see how she does. And keep feeding her whenever she asks for food, just in case you are unable to test her.
I'm sorry to hear about the new tear in her skin. But, the exsisting tears are healing?
Just to let you know, she's in my daily prayers. I hope the increase in meds. helps her cat_pet_icon

Aww, thanks for the prayers Dyana. The original large tear is healing to a degree. What I mean is it is not so raw, has formed a scab, but the problem is I don't think the condition of her underlying skin is much better so I don't know, maybe I'm just kidding myself that it's better. I guess at least it's less likely to become infected. From the looks of it, this new tear looks likely to get larger, and it's an area that she can lick and scratch. I try and cover it but she manages to loosen it up. For this, we just have to wait for the trilostane to really kick in and start improving the health of her skin.

I don't have too much going on today so I will be trying to test as much as I can and see where she goes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top