5/21 Doodles AMPS 412 +2 247 PMPS 416

Status
Not open for further replies.

heidi and doodles

Member Since 2010
Morning everyone!

Ok...I'm confused? She may have been excited to have her daddybean home, but she seems so normal? Again no signs of not feeling good. Should I be concerned with something else?
Or just being a nervous mom nailbite_smile

Any suggestions? I will check her again soon.

heidi and doodles >"<

PS. I don't understand what "bounce" means, if its good or bad or part of the routine at times. I understand it's from one number to another but don't understand the drops etc...
 
Re: 5/21 Doodles AMPS 412

heidi and doodles said:
Morning everyone!

Ok...I'm confused? She may have been excited to have her daddybean home, but she seems so normal? Again no signs of not feeling good. Should I be concerned with something else?
Or just being a nervous mom nailbite_smile

Any suggestions? I will check her again soon.

heidi and doodles >"<

PS. I don't understand what "bounce" means, if its good or bad or part of the routine at times. I understand it's from one number to another but don't understand the drops etc...

Hi Heidi,
I'm sorry I never got back to you last night but it was late here in New Jersey when you posted to me! Welcome to LL and good morning!
I have an early dentist appointment so I haven't had a chance to really look at Doodle's ss but yes, bouncing is a part of the routine, as you put it a lot of the time..when a kitty gets started with a new insulin, or a new dose. If you look at Alex's ss you'll see he's the "King of Bounce"! or 'rebound" as it as referred to otherwise.

Have you had a chance to read the 'stickies' on the top of the Lantus page. They will tell you all about the Lantus protocol and 'bouncing' or 'rebound' and why it happens, PLUS there is a page it will send you to as well called "Janet and Binky's Food Charts" which is something else you asked about....the best low carb canned foods for diabetic kitties. The stickies are a pretty much all you need to know "help" section that you can print out...next best thing to having someone to talk to...however, I'm sure you'll have more people coming along. If you are really confused and need help from experienced eyes, put that in the subject line of your and you will get attention faster! (ie 5/21 Doodles AMPS 412 Newbie need Help)

Hope I helped a little..gotta get going!

Have a great day!

Caryl
 
Re: 5/21 Doodles AMPS 412

Morning Heidi....the bounce to higher numbers usually occurs when the kitty has experienced a lower number than they are used to. There is much to read on the subject. A green or blue usually makes them go higher in a few hours....sometimes, even a yellow will cause the liver to excrete hormones in response to the lower number.
Some kitties get quiet during times of high reds....some get hungrier. It should come down eventually.

You might find this post from Monique interesting: viewtopic.php?p=86533&sid=cf58ec31d240d46f7c79737f5ccc6250#p87084

As Caryl said, read the stickies and come back here with any questions you have after reading them. It is a lot to absorb at first but it is great that you are so aware and being so involved. There are lots of ups and downs in this sugar dance... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/21 Doodles AMPS 412

Thank you will do more reading ;-) And I do have Janet and Binkey's list but was just concerned with too much fish? I know my mother feed our cats Purina canned fish for ever and CJ lived til 21!
I will check in later. Good luck at the Dentist :sad: It seems every time you go its a new Crown! But I made it out safe the other day!!!
heidi and doodles
 
Re: 5/21 Doodles AMPS 412

Doodles is doing pretty good for a newbie. Blackie was in really high numbers for weeks before we got to a good dose. You may be getting close - you're already seeing blues. I'm a worrier too, so I understand what you're saying. Those red numbers are not nice, but at least you're not seeing many of them. I hope you have a good Friday.
 
Re: 5/21 Doodles AMPS 412

heidi and doodles said:
Thank you will do more reading ;-) And I do have Janet and Binkey's list but was just concerned with too much fish? I know my mother feed our cats Purina canned fish for ever and CJ lived til 21!
I will check in later. Good luck at the Dentist :sad: It seems every time you go its a new Crown! But I made it out safe the other day!!!
heidi and doodles


wow 21 years old!! that's great! but you're right...too much fish isn't good for a male cat especially for several reasons... one being urinary tract health. but that alone is an important reason :0)
 
Re: 5/21 Doodles AMPS 412

Bounces/Rebound - Most of our cats have probably had high BG for some time prior to their being diagnosed. As a result, their body has become used to having those high BG levels and treats it as the new "normal" BG. When their numbers drop into a lower range or if the drop is fast, the liver panics and dumps glucose and counter-regulatory hormones into the bloodstream thereby raising BG levels to what their body (erroneously) believes is the safe, normal level. In essence, the liver reacts to what may be a very safe lower BG level as if it were dangerous and goes into protection mode. Because there are counter-regulatory hormones involved, a bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear. As insulin helps to bring down the overall BG level and as Doodles gets used to lower numbers, the bounces should become less frequent and less extreme. We refer to this process as liver training school (LTS).

In addition to urinary health, the other reason to limit fish is the mercury content in some fishes. Female cats usually have less of an issue with crystals and other UTI type problems than males but mercury still is a concern.
 
Re: 5/21 Doodles AMPS 412

Hi Heidi, Those bounces, as everyone has said, are part of the normal process. Doodles is doing OK, and you are, too! You'll begin to see improvement in his numbers in the coming weeks. We are all glad you and Doodles are here.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 5/21 Doodles AMPS 412

Doodles' numbers are good! Focus on the low numbers, that's our goal, the higher ones will come back down eventually. 100's are great mid-cycle numbers for right now.
 
Re: 5/21 Doodles AMPS 412

Thanks all!

Have been reading ~O) I'm just happy that she is acting normal...she jumped off the bed so fast and out the patio door after a bird I thought she was going to get it!!!
She has been a happy camper today!

Will just keep on checking her.

Have a great weekend.
heidi and doodles >"<
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top