5.21 D'Artagnan AMBG 66, +1 74, +3 59,+ 9 56 PMBG 55 +3 67

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5.21 D'Artagnan AMBG 66, +1 74, +3 59 no shot

Ohhhhhhh so exciting!

Are we counting this as day 2???
 
Re: 5.21 D'Artagnan AMBG 66, +1 74, +3 59 no shot

yep, it looks like D'Artagnan decided on his own he was ready for a trial. :lol:

Here are the instructions:

Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck!
 
Re: 5.21 D'Artagnan AMBG 66, +1 74, +3 59 no shot

thanks for the instructions!

so right now he is on a calorie restriction of 200 in order to help him lose some of those extra lbs. the goal was to get him a little less butterball and a little more free range...

so what we have done is split up the calories like so:
50 at shot time
25 at 1
25 at 2 which is grazing at during the day, usually around 4 or 6 (today he chowed down at 6)
+ little bits of freeze dried chicken snacks or bits of greenies during the day from testing or playing "catch" (we toss the bit of treat across the house, he has to run and grab it, and then come back before we toss another or pushing around a treat ball.

right now we have been consistently feeding around the same times because it's what he's used to.

So- should we adjust the calorie break up a little more? Do something like four feedings of 25 calories a piece?
 
Re: 5.21 D'Artagnan AMBG 66, +1 74, +3 59 no shot

what you're doing seems to be working, so I would just keep things the same. If his numbers start to wobble, though, then you can try moving the calories around.
 
Re: 5.21 D'Artagnan AMBG 66, +1 74, +3 59,+ 9 56

he got a 12 calorie snack at +9. both of us have been passed out all day, i think yesterday's excitement just knocked us out.

I'll stick with his current meal plan and perhaps add a small snack too to make sure he stays grazing. If we bump his calories slightly it shouldn't have too big an impact. Especially since he's taken such a calorie boost the past week with all the hc he's gotten.

thanks so much!
 
Re: 5.21 D'Artagnan AMBG 66, +1 74, +3 59,+ 9 56

I would eliminate the Greenies -- they are HC. More freeze dried or regular chicken or jerky treats would be a good substitute.

Congrats on starting your trial!
 
Re: 5.21 D'Artagnan AMBG 66, +1 74, +3 59,+ 9 56 PMBG 55

good start to the evening.

I guess we are officially counting this as day 2.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top