5/21 Cinnamon amps 360

Status
Not open for further replies.

storm

Member Since 2017
using the slo go method as Cinn has 24/7 access to YA Zero plus gets 2-13 oz cans of wet divided into 3 meals

Cinn was just started on Lantus yesterday, I did 2 readings before bed at 11:30pm as I thought the first, 270, was messed up since it was only 3-1/2 hours after his PM shot, the 2nd reading, 371, was within seconds of the first and higher than the first. I added the 2 before bed numbers to the note for yesterdays tracking on his SS as I wasn't sure how to enter the 2 readings to the correct time slot

Is the bouncing numbers normal when first starting out? His numbers were coming down before he started Lantus, yesterday he stayed within normal range between AM and PM shots, now this am his pre shot reading was 360. I know he didn't get a fur shot for yesterdays PM dose as I made sure to part his fur to show bare skin before sticking him and his fur in that spot was not wet or greasy.
I guess I just want to make sure this is all kinda normal and that I don't need to worry that the dose the vet started him on is not working
 
I'm wondering whether this is the right dose for Cinnamon. Some cats do have a marked response when first starting insulin but that 82 had to be a surprise! With Lantus, there is a formula for the initial dose: starting dose = 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms. The generally calculates out to around 1.0u but is Cinnamon is a small kitty, you may want to start a bit slower.

I do agree that this looks like a bounce. It can take up to 3 days/6 cycles for some cats to clear a bounce.

It can be confusing when you re-test and get a second number that seems way off. The only way I've ever dealt with that situation is to test immediately again (a 3rd test) or wait a little longer and retest providing the numbers aren't low.

 
Cinn isnt exactly a small cat .. before he got sick, may have been pre diabetic his whole life and a bout of tapeworms in Feb stressed him out to make it full blown, he weighed between 10-12 lbs, he was a lean, well muscled cat, now he weighs just under 7 lbs and lost a lot of muscle so looks like a walking bag of bones hence why the vet has me feeding him so much wet food along with having the access to the YA zero as she wants to see him get as close as possible back to his normal weight
 
Hello and welcome. Sienne makes a good point. At Cinnie's current weight, and if you were following TIght Regulation for dosing, a 0.75 unit dose would be the starting dose. However since you are feeding dry, that means following the Start Low Go Low method and using dry means a starting dose of one unit. As long as you keep testing, Cinnamon will tell if the dose is too high. Good luck getting his weight back on.

Good job starting testing right away. :) We usually suggest getting at least one test at night if you can, maybe before bed. Many kitties go lower at night. It is very normal for kitties to bounce at the beginning, as their bodies are not used to those nice normal numbers.
 
Hello and welcome. Sienne makes a good point. At Cinnie's current weight, and if you were following TIght Regulation for dosing, a 0.75 unit dose would be the starting dose. However since you are feeding dry, that means following the Start Low Go Low method and using dry means a starting dose of one unit. As long as you keep testing, Cinnamon will tell if the dose is too high. Good luck getting his weight back on.

Good job starting testing right away. :) We usually suggest getting at least one test at night if you can, maybe before bed. Many kitties go lower at night. It is very normal for kitties to bounce at the beginning, as their bodies are not used to those nice normal numbers.

Thanks I had a feeling it may be that as to why the bounce .. yes I planned on getting at least 3 tests a day ( AM, PM and be4 bed), mon - fri is impossible to get during the day due to work but weekends and any other days off i can get more than 3 if need be.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top