5/21 Charlie PMPS 94, +1 81, +2.5 62, +3 56, +4 47

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
Charlie seems to be dipping on .15

Assume this means I reduce for tomorrow to .10 units

Please confirm your thoughts on this?

Any tips on things to be aware of when shooting this small of an amount, and nearing the finish line? Things I should / should not do?

Today I fed LC with maple syrup at +4 since I cannot stay awake all night. I tried to make it minimal though (1 tablespoon). Hope this doesn't slow down our progress.

Jill
 
Re: 5/21 Charlie PMPS 94, +1 81, +2 62, +3 31, +4 47

Yay Charlie... I'm so thrilled to see such progress.... I hadn't noticed that your dose had gone down so much.

The maple syrup burns off, it's just temporary.


You have different numbers on your subject line than on your ss.
Which are the right numbers?
 
Oops, my mistake. Her SS is correct, and now the subject line is too.

We're real happy about Charlie's current progress as well. Celebrate the little things, right?
 
WOW! Shadow is doing great! Not to mention Shadow's stabilizing right from the start, unlike my little rock and roller (who prefers to see many colors all at once like an artist).
Really happy to see Shadow's progress, and the continuation of that progress for so many months. Keep up the excellent work.

Once they're OTJ, do you still need to test as much as you're testing?
 
Generally less testing.... but Shadow went otj with numbers right on the edge.... She was often in the high 90's and low 100's
and started throwing out some higher than 120 numbers in the last months.... which I thought I was going to have to start back with a drop of insulin
dose.

The earlier you catch it, the more likely you can get them back into remission.
So I don't know if I''ll ever get to the point where I test less than a few times a week.... Shadow keeps me on my toes.

Eventually, something is likely to happen, teeth, other medical conditions show up due to age, after all, they are still a diabetic, just a diet
controlled diabetic.
And the testing is certainly not difficult anymore once you learned all that, but having to return to shots would be difficult as you know.
It's not an easy lifestyle.

Tiki and Tonya are a good example right now...
Tiki was otj and I don't think she tested that often.... and suddenly his numbers were up there again and she is (paws crossed) just now at
a breakthru dose to get a response from the insulin.
 
Jill:

I'm thinking you may want to consider a variation on dosing. The strategy is the one used on the Tight Regulation Lantus forum in Germany. They allow for 3 drops into the 40 - 50 range in order to reduce the dose. I'm thinking about this since Charlie visits green long enough to get a reduction and then spends a fair amount of time outside of the normal range. I would really like to see you keep Charlie on insulin as long as possible in order to support her pancreas.

What do you think?
 
We will reduce to .10 and keep her there to see her progress for some days. With my new job, I will not be home during the days at all to catch her 2 more times going low, and I cannot keep testing throughout the nights unless it's absolutely needed.

Maybe we will eventually need to increase back up to .15, but we will try this to start with and monitor her profress and share with the board so you can see how she's tracking.

Thanks for your understanding,
Jill
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top