5/21 Billie AMPS 300 +4 187 +7 262 PMPS 228 +2 214

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Good morning everyone! Lots of love to all the cats!

Billie went into some nice low 100s last night with 112 at +3 and 110 at +4 but she shot back up to 256 at +6. This morning, she's at 300. I'm starting to think she's prone to bouncing. Is that common when cats first start insulin? Do they eventually adjust? Or are some cats just bouncers?

I hope everyone has a nice day!
 
Re: 5/21 Billie AMPS 300 - bouncy cat?

Hi guys .. I'm not an expert advice giver but yes, lots of cat's bounce around here .. a bounce can happen when numbers drop super fast, a bounce can happen when a cat who has been unregulated for awhile sees lower numbers, a cat can bounce because it's a cat and likes to throw us off :-D We all hope in time bounces become less and less often and of course, less drastic of bounces as well .. Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/21 Billie AMPS 300 +4 187 - bouncy cat?

Thank you for the reply! I hope she evens out. I know it's still early in the game, but so far, we have had two cycles with really nice numbers, followed by jumps toward 300. We shall see!
 
Re: 5/21 Billie AMPS 300 +4 187 - bouncy cat?

Nice drop into the blues today. Bounces can happen from low numbers or fast drops. Billie's actually looking pretty good for a cat new to insulin. Neko bounced to black the first time she saw low blues and green. ohmygod_smile

That 300 looks almost yellow to me. ;-)
 
Re: 5/21 Billie AMPS 300 +4 187 +7 262 - bouncy cat?

Oh my goodness! I guess the yellow isn't so bad! Thank you :smile:

I will hold the dose for now, but if we keep seeing bounces, would a dose reduction make sense? I read somewhere that frequent bouncing can call for a reduction, but now I have no clue where I read that because I've been reading so much lately. Let me know if that is something to consider!
 
Re: 5/21 Billie AMPS 300 +4 187 +7 262 - bouncy cat?

One of the first sayings I had to accept when we first started this dance was this one...."Cats bounce until they don't"

China's been treated for almost a year now, and spends most of her time in good numbers, but if she goes a little too low, she still bounces! Just not as high, and not for so long!

As Billie spends more time in those lower numbers, her body will have to re-learn that it's OK to be there. Her liver will gradually stop reacting so much and she'll clear them faster too (instead of taking up to 72 hours)

There's no way to rush it, and nothing we can really do about it except fasten our seat belts and hold on for the ride!

Billie is looking GREAT for being so new to the sugardance!! For some perspective, look at other people's spreadsheets when they first started. You'll see that most of our kitties bounced higher than she has been!
 
Re: 5/21 Billie AMPS 300 +4 187 +7 262 - bouncy cat?

Thanks Chris & China! That's nice to hear. I have been looking through spreadsheets, which is really interesting. It is helping me to get a better sense of how cycles flow, and it's helpful to see how other cats' bounces play out. Things are looking up for us as far as testing is concerned. I am having a very easy time getting blood, and just switched to the smallest gauge lancets I could find (33), so hopefully I won't be hurting her sweet ears too much. I still absolutely hate poking her, but I'm way less anxious about it than I was a week ago. We'll see how tonight plays out! I hope everyone is having a nice evening.
 
Re: 5/21 Billie AMPS 300 +4 187 +7 262 PMPS 228 - bouncy cat

Are you using some Neosporin with pain relief ointment?

It can really work small miracles with our kitties ears. You want the ointment, not the cream, and just smear a little on each time either before you poke (and gently wipe off excess so you don't gunk up the test strip) or after, and again at night before you head to bed and usually by the next morning, they'll look much better!
 
Re: 5/21 Billie AMPS 300 +4 187 +7 262 PMPS 228 - bouncy cat

Yes! I have been using Neosporin, but thanks for suggesting it and thanks to Shelly for putting it on the shopping list for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top