5.21 Bella amps 181,+2 170+9:30 220,pmps 287,+3 180

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Bellasmom, May 21, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Kris & Teasel and LizzieInTexas like this.
  2. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Congrats on the reducie. Looking good Bella.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  3. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Thanks, yes so exciting
     
  4. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Bella’s sister going to vet for full bloodwork, she has hyperthyroidism and pills were making her sick so they switched to gel, first month of gel was fine, they increased and now she is throwing up, looks depressed is still losing weight she’s at 6lbs, vet said this am something else must be going on with her cause he has never had anyone who couldn’t use the gel, I hope nothing bad is wrong!!:(
    I will post the results this afternoon if there are any bloodwork experts out there I would appreciate weighing in and tell me what they may see.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  5. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    What is the strength of the cream? I wonder if they miscalculated and it's much too strong for her? It should be something like mg per ml. I hope it's nothing too serious.
     
  6. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    It says 2.5mg/0.1ml gel
     
  7. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Starting dose was 2x a day and now it’s 2 doses in am and 2doses pm
     
  8. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Had they tested her T4 before increasing? If you are giving 0.1ml per dose, then you are in effect giving her 10 mg a day now. That sounds like an overdose to me. The recommended starting dosage is 1.25 mg twice a day or 2.5 mg total.
     
  9. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Yes they tested her said it was still high, it wouldn’t even read the first time they took it when dx
     
  10. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    They are having me give it to her 4x a day 2am and 2pm
     
  11. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Do you belong to any hyperthyroid groups? I have not heard of 10 mg a day not causing issues for the cat. When you can, ask for the T4 values at dx, before increasing, and now.
     
  12. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I just tt pharmacy and they said standard dose was 2.5 1x a day, she agreed that for such a small cat the dose was way to high
     
  13. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I didn’t know there was a group, so no
     
  14. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    So I don’t know now whether to take to vet for 180 worth of blood work and just lower dose to 2.5mg 1x a day
     
  15. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Bellasmom likes this.
  16. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    What I can tell you with certainty is that my mom's cat only ever had the ear gel and the full dose at the start didn't agree with him. It had to be dropped to a half dose and increased extremely slowly. So - it's definitely possible for a cat to react badly to the transdermal gel version.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  17. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Ok I called vet again and they said that yes 5mg is standard but with Abby’s being so high it barely reads on machine that’s why she’s on a higher dose
     
  18. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    I do not mean to cause any panic. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

    If you can, request to have the sample sent out to an outside lab. It is possible their in-house equipment is not calibrated correctly as they do not calibrate it often. Would you like to join a group so they can give you more guidance? Do you have Facebook? There is a great FB group.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  19. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I know you don’t, I’m just a very anxious person when it comes to something new and I know nothing much about, I already was in a panic as of yesterday, I don’t have FB but I can get it, what’s it called, I am going on with blood work and see what it shows thank you for all your help I do appreciate it
     
  20. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    I can direct you to the Yahoo group instead. They work together with the FB group.
    https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/feline-hyperT/info
     
  21. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    We are at vets, abby is highly allergic to meds, ears are hot she' made them bleed today, so no more of the medicine, we r waiting on blood results
     
  22. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    They are seeing if she's a candidate to have it removed
     
  23. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
  24. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Look at that sweet little girl! :bighug::bighug: I hope that your vet can help her.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  25. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Good luck - fingers crossed for you and Abby. :bighug:
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  26. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Blood work perfect, she can have surgery,her thyroid levels are almost perfect, we are first gonna see if she can tolerate the meds on back of neck they are shaving her neck
     
  27. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Wow! Those few days on the increased dose got her numbers down almost to the ideal range? Wasn't she still too high on the recent blood check?

    Good plan to try meds on another spot first. :)
     
  28. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
  29. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Pretty good numbers there. I think you should re-check again in 3-4 weeks if you are able to continue with the cream. It can take up to 3 weeks for the dose to settle in so the thyroid numbers may continue to drop until then. Would you be able to do the i131?
     
  30. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Yeah a week ago she was 9.9
     
  31. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    No can' afford it, we talked about removing it, she' s a good candidate
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  32. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    So we are trying it on neck, 1 sign of reaction I stop it and call to make a appointment to have it removed, she will come home same day and he will let me make payments on it
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  33. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Sounds like you have a good plan going forward. :)
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  34. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Thinking of you & sweet Abby! I’m glad she can have the surgery... :bighug:
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  35. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    thanks Becky!
     
    Becky & Baby Girl GA likes this.
  36. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I am so very grateful to have you guys around for support even when it doesn’t have to do with diabetes!! Big hugs to you all, make everything less stressful to have someone to listen, talk to and support!!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  37. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Great community here! :smuggrin:
     
    Becky & Baby Girl GA likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page