5/20 Vesta AMPS~148 PMPS~168 +2.5~40 +3~49 +3.5~55 Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Weather Girl

Active Member
Yesterday's (lovely, dose-reducing) condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14999

Started her at 1.75 units this morning. Right now we only have syringes with 1 unit markings, so we made it so that the plunger was just below the 2u line. The search for .5u markings begins in earnest today. Does anyone have a preferential one they use (and could maybe post a link)?

While I like the green at +2.... It's got me a bit nervous. I can't leave late for work (who am I kidding, I needed to be out of the house 20min ago. That's what an hour of sick leave is for!) or rather any lat-ER for for, so I fed a half/half bowl of LC and HC (she's slurping as I'm typing). I'll leave another portion of that in her bowl when I run in a minute. It may get her to spike a little high, but we won't be home for 8 hours so I feel better doing that. And yes, Amazon has her auto-feeder arriving tomorrow.

Recap: Dose-reduction? Happy! Slow-reaction to the dose-reduction? Arg.
 
Re: 5/20 Vesta AMPS~148 +2~92

Hi Jamie,

Congrats on the dosecrease!

Don't be afraid of the greens (we all are at first). If you fed MC (LC+HC) pls make sure to make a note in your SS so we know that the numbers are related to the food.

You will need the syringes with the 0.5U marking. I'm from Canada so our supplies are limited (to the BD ones which I get at the human pharmacy) however people have ordered some from Hocks - see link at the top of the page.

Anxious to see what PMPS will be.
 
Re: 5/20 Vesta AMPS~148 +2~92

Hi - Hocks carries the syringes you are looking for - at least that is where I buy mine. Their pricing is better than most, and delivery is excellent: one never waits long with them. I use the BD brand.

Green's are good! They are out friend... :-D :mrgreen: :-D , and yes you will get used to them. Freaked me out at first too. And congrats on the dosecrease!

Good job Vesta!
 
Re: 5/20 Vesta AMPS~148 +2~92

Michelle and Mannie said:
Hi - Hocks carries the syringes you are looking for - at least that is where I buy mine. Their pricing is better than most, and delivery is excellent: one never waits long with them. I use the BD brand.

Thanks :) I checked out Hocks- the BD's around 28c per syringe, more with the shipping. That's about the best price around?

Thanks again...
 
Re: 5/20 Vesta AMPS~148 +2~92

Great +2 today and I was very nervous the first time I had green and after a while its all you want to see :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/20 Vesta AMPS~148 +2~92

Hi. We got ours at Sam's for under $13. Relion Brand 30 or 31 gauge w/ 1/2 unit markings. 5/16-short length. (they have both long & short)
You do not have to be a member to use their pharmacy but do need an RX. These same ones are available at Walmart, but I would check to be sure what they have in stock. Not sure if you need the RX there as well. (was the caveat at Sam's else you'd need to be a member).

I think it's really good you are getting the syringes. From what I gathered researching, the solo star pen used with the needle isn't accurate enough at small doses to be reliable. I think the dial-a-dose idea may work better in larger dose amounts when that drop or 2 difference doesn't potentially have as much impact.

Been great to follow you and Vesta and see the progress you are making.

betty
 
Re: 5/20 Vesta AMPS~148 +2~92

Hi Jamie
Since you are shopping for syringes I bout the monoject 1/2 unit markings from Hocks. I really liked them and the Relions from Walmart. Some places require a script some don't. I got them without in parts of florida and vermont.
 
Re: 5/20 Vesta AMPS~148 +2~92

HI, we got our syringes at Walmart, they are the relion syringes and they almost always have them in stock and they are cheaper than hocks. Nice to see Vesta doing so well!!!
 
Re: 5/20 Vesta AMPS~148 +2~92 PMPS~168 +2.5~40 +3~49 Advice pls

Oy vey- not another night like this!!! Girl's gotta sleep SOME time.

Great pmps, gave the reduced dose of 1.75units again. Good times, until we got a +2.5 of 40 nailbite_smile nailbite_smile Lowest number ever... two days in a row! Gave her a couple tbsp gravy, tested again at +3 and got 49. Gave her 1/3can HC to keep pumping up the #s, since we're fighting against the downward slope of the cycle. We'll test again in 15min (+3.5) and see what's up.

Here's the deal- tomorrow, noone will be home from AMPS until +10.5 or so. Can we bcs dose her a 1.5units without messing things up too much? Honestly, we'd rather she ride a little high rather than scary low while noone's there to keep an eye on her. Advice?
 
Re: 5/20 Vesta AMPS~148 +2~92 PMPS~168 +2.5~40 +3~49

Hi Jamie -

I think I have an extra box of Hocks #A844884 Insulin Syr U-100 29 Gauge 3/10cc 1/2 inch Needle 1/2 Unit Marks (GNP Brand) if you'd like them. I'll have to check and see, but I think I still have them. I live in Canoga Park, so maybe we could meet if you can wait until Monday. I think I paid $15 + shipping for them if you need to order some sooner. The marks were clear and even on every needle, and never any problem with them. I hung onto them for the last year, hoping I didn't need them, so far sooooo good!

Glad to hear Vesta got the dose-crease :) Always nice to see.

Good thing you have the timer dishes coming too. Those are essential. Crash thinks they are games - LOL

Have a good Friday, and PM me if you want me to check and see if I still have those syringes.

:) - Linda
 
Re: 5/20 Vesta AMPS~148 +2~92 PMPS~168 +2.5~40 +3~49

Q: does Vesta eat freely, or is she picky? If she always wants to eat (like Crash) it's easier. Then try to give LC first and test every 15-30 minutes if you are there during Vesta's lows. You will avoid the bounces during the next cycle.

Once you get more comfortable with the lows, remember what Jojo always said - shoot low to stay low. Until then, do what you are comfortable with. bcs is always an option, especially when you are not going to be home all day. Hoping she will open with a nice number you are comfortable shooting. If you are worried, do what your heart tells you. You can always fix a bounce :)

Post some numbers in the morning, and get some more advice before you shoot.
 
Thanks Linda, got some syringes at WalMart today. Probably why she's shooting so low (ie more accurate dosing).

This is Mr. Weathergirl who is about to be all alone for almost 12 days straight while Weathergirl goes and has some fun. I have a feeling I may bcs for at least a couple days as I can have pretty long days without being able to check her. I'd rather be a little high in the 100s and know it than be low and not be here to do anything about it.
 
Great numbers for Vesta.

If you can post around +11 or so if you want help with your AM dose. I've asked some of the others to take a look at Vesta's SS. I think good things are happening here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top