5/20 Shiloh - AMPS 332, +10 - 309, PMPS - 318, +2.75 - 253

Status
Not open for further replies.
Finding a low carb food they'll eat is half the battle...sometimes more than half...LOL

I don't know what your schedule is like, but if there's any way you can get a test in somewhere mid-cycle during the day, it'll really help to know what's going on. Also, if you can get a +2, that's what I call my "crystal ball" test. It can be like an early warning system that your cat is going to go a lot lower during that cycle.

If the +2 is lower than the Pre-shot, that's the time when you should plan on trying to get more tests in or set an alarm at night to get up for another test.

If it's about the same as the Pre-shot, that usually means they're going to have a more "normal" cycle....gradually going down to nadir and then gradually back up to the next PS

If the +2 is higher than the PS, that can indicate they're starting a bounce...and those cycles are the ones where it's safer to take a pokey break and catch up on missed sleep at night...and missed housework during the day...lol
 
Unfortunately, with my schedule, a +2 is almost impossible, except on the weekends. I normally get up for a little bit about 2 in the morning, which would be +7. I could try testing her then, but she is normally sleeping so well....

I do normally test between +2 and +3 in the evenings.
 
I hear you....I hate waking a sleeping kitty...they look so peaceful and serene!!

If you get up in the middle of the night, it'd be really helpful to get that test...most of us can do it in our sleep! Most cats do go lower at night, so it'd be great to find out what's going on with Shiloh about that time
 
Just tested. 253. Down about 60 points in roughly three hours.

As far as doing it in my sleep, I've only been doing it about a week and a half, so not quite there yet. Plus need readers to make sure I hit the blood with the strip!
 
That's a pretty good drop...but of course she started pretty high and has a long way to go before being in any trouble but if you can get a test later, it'll be great!

We've seen cats go from 400 to 40 and back up to 400 in one cycle, so it's important to get as many tests as you can in that "mid-cycle" time
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top