5/20 Pumbaa AMPS/130 WOW! Reduced his dose.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Holy moly! Pumbaa has never had a pre-shot number this low! I love it!

But I didn't feel comfortable giving him his full 1.75U dose when I need to sleep this morning. So I gave him 0.50U, and will set my alarm for a +3 reading to make sure he hasn't dropped further.

I love that he is settling in to nice numbers at 1.75U! I wish this 130 would have happened during a night time cycle, since I would have been more alert and could have watched him more closely, and would not have dropped his dose. And will now have to deal with this reduced dose like a fur shot. So data will not be correct for a few days. *sigh*

Why is he having lower daytime numbers now that I changed my entire schedule to nighttime hours???? I don't think he's changed his M.O., as he is awake and alert all night.

If you look at Pumbaa's SS, you'll see I never get more than 3 hours of sleep at a time. And I'm sure many of you are like this. When the drooler wakes me up to go out, I test Pumbaa.

I so appreciate that I am self-employed and work at home, and can change my schedule to fit Pumbaa's needs. But his needs keep changing! *LOL*

Suze (delirious with lack of sleep *LOL*)
 
Sounds like Pumbaa is about to add a new dance step to your routine...lol Called growing a pair of SBs (Steel B*lls fill in the blank with the first letter of the alphabet :lol: ) Because when you get this close to the correct dose you get to learn the fun technique called shooting low to stay low...

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
AMPS/130 = Shot .50U instead of the 1.75U
+2/207
+8/346
PMPS/544 = Back to 1.75U

After a beautiful day of yellow yesterday, then a wonderful blue...I so hated to see his numbers climb today because of the reduced dose. Wait, due to the shed, the climbing numbers I see today couldn't be due to the reduced dose, right? So, it's probably a bounce from the 130? This is so confusing.

Mel, do the steel balls come with the patience pants, or do they have to be ordered separately? Hahahahaha!!! And, in hindsight, I think the .50U was too low. What would you have given Pumbaa this morning? Are there guidelines for "shooting low to stay low"?

Pumbaa will get his 1.75U dose tonight, because I'll be able to watch him. What I don't understand is why he is giving his lowest numbers in the daytime now...now that I turned my life upside down and started working nights to watch him better during his low numbers part of the day.

Suze
 
Hi Suze-
I'm glad you did what you felt most comfortable with this a.m., especially so you could sleep!!!

I just wanted to share one option with you for the future. When you get a lower than expected preshot, you can withhold food for about 15-30 minutes and see if Pumbaa is rising. Since you have some flexibility in your schedule (or maybe you don't???), you could stall a little longer and wait for the rise. I probably would not stall more than an hour. When you catch the rise, then you know it's safer to shoot the full dose.

Another thing you could do, is get some +11 tests. If +12 is rising, even if its a lower than usual number, it may help you feel more comfortable shooting.

Hope you get some sleep soon (and more than 3hrs at a time!!!).
 
Carolyn: Great advice. Thank you!

Question...if the numbers continue to drop, would it be safe to feed, then wait for the BG to increase due to the food, and then shoot the regular dose? As long as I can test regularly afterwards? And what about giving food that is a bit higher in carbs?

I need to go back and read a bunch of the posts about recommendations for low numbers. I've read them, but haven't committed everything to memory since this hasn't been an issue until just very recently. (Other than what to do if hypo numbers occur.)

Yes, my schedule is very flexible, since I am self-employed and work at home. I am VERY grateful for this!

Suze
 
Pumbaa said:
Question...if the numbers continue to drop, would it be safe to feed, then wait for the BG to increase due to the food, and then shoot the regular dose? As long as I can test regularly afterwards? And what about giving food that is a bit higher in carbs?

Simple answer...nope! :mrgreen: Food wears off, kitties still dropping, insulin kicks....and well, you catch my drift???

If you continue to see a dropping number than you can choose to:
1. feed/skip insulin
2. give bcs (big chicken shot...like you did this a.m.)/feed/monitor

I would very rarely, if ever suggest shooting a dropping number.

If the number is pretty much staying the same (but lower than usual):
1. feed/skip
2. bcs/feed/monitor
3. full dose/feed/monitor (must have hypo kit on hand _+ lots of strips for this option)
***if you cannot monitor, than #2 and #3 are pretty much out, until OR unless you have collected a good amount of data on what your cat will do when you shoot a low number)

+10 and +11's can be saviors! Seriously. If you are someone who can and is open to testing frequently, do it as often as you can.

Hope that helps!
 
Makes sense, Carolyn. Thank you. And I'm still laughing over BCS (big chicken shot). *LOL*

Suze
 
Update:

AMPS/130 = Shot .50U instead of the 1.75U
+2/207
+8/346
PMPS/544 = Back to 1.75U
+1.5/458
+4/363


It seems like Pumbaa is working his way down the rainbow tonight. I'll be watching him closely.

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top