5/20 Pixie 0.75u, PMPS=86;+3 =50, +3.2=56, +4.5=59

Status
Not open for further replies.

caringcdn

Member Since 2014
Good Morning once again. Funny how morning comes so quickly when you're getting up with a sick kitty. This morning when my husband and I got up, I tended to Pixie and he to the dogs. When he went outside, he saw a Pileated Woodpecker - the largest woodpecker - on one of our trees in the back yard. He alerted me but unfortunately, I missed it. A Pileated Woodpecker is a rare sighting, particularly so close to a residential area. If seen, they are usually found in forested areas. I'll keep an eye out for him in future days.

Pixie had a great cycle on the new, lowered dose of 0.75u - he seemed not to nosedive in the beginning of the cycle but instead to surf lower and lower through the evening. By +5.5, he was still lower at 61 and I knew I had to get to bed. I left a variety of food, hoping that it would keep him going through the night. I did get up several times to do a visual check but not a BG test. Everything seemed fine and this morning he was 85, still in the green. He looks a little perkier than yesterday and his appetite has improved - the mirtazapine seemed to work. I wish everyone a happy and safe Tuesday :smile: . Anne

Yesterday's condo - viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118975
 
Re: 5/20 Pixie 0.75u, AMPS=85, +1=83, +3.5=56, +4.25=63

Good to hear that Pixie is feeling better. His SS is looking amazing. That's what a model spreadsheet should look like. :-D Did your vet have any comments yet?

We get a lot of pileated woodpeckers here, along with flickers but are just a few blocks away from the woods. Especially fun when the family of babies is out pecking on our telephone pole. Or when they go after the metal bits on our roof. :roll: They are pretty birds.
 
Re: 5/20 Pixie 0.75u, AMPS=85,+3.5=56, +10.5=68

Hi Wendy, I see by your profile that you are in North Vancouver, beautiful place. My oldest son is now living in Vancouver and working downtown for AMEC. He really loves it and my husband and I were out to visit with him some time back and I couldn't believe my eyes but the landscape and scenery. What an amazing province and Vancouver is exceptionally beautiful. I like the way North Vancouver looks out over the city, especially the view from Grouse Mountain. While we were there, we did a loop from Vancouver, to Whistler, Kamloops, Jasper, Lake Louise, Banff, and then back to Vancouver via the Okanagan Valley. It was a trip of a lifetime, one I won't soon forget.
Thanks for your complimentary remarks regarding Pixie's spreadsheet - I can't believe we're having so much success. If you look back to where we were at - all blacks and reds, it's absolutely incredible that Pixie has made this much progress in just two weeks. This protocol definitely works but it's not for the faint-hearted and you certainly need the time to be able to do it right. I really don't know how the people who work manage with all the testing and monitoring involved. It must be very time consuming and exhausting.
Have a great evening and night, Wendy!
 
Re: 5/20 Pixie 0.75u, AMPS=85,+3.5=56, +10.5=68

Anne --

Have you calculated out how many calories per day Pixie needs? If 12 lbs is a good weight for him, he should be getting 233 calories -->(13.6 x weight) + 70 = calories per day. This is the formula on Dr. Lisa's website and it's a generous calculation. It looked to me like your feeding at least 2 small cans of food per day. Unless the food is very low in calories, Pixie may be getting enough food unless she's underweight.

The numbers look great!!

You can use any number of products to help with hairballs. Plain old vasoline is "petroleum jelly" that's in many of the commercial products that also contain a ton of sugar. Adding a bit of oil to Pixie's food will also work. Marje adds coconut oil to her kitties food. Some people add fish oil. Others will give their cats butter.
 
Re: 5/20 Pixie 0.75u, AMPS=85,+3.5=56, +10.5=68

Hi Sienne,

I'm really glad to have a formula to calculate the calories - I must have missed it on Dr. Lisa's website. Pixie is underweight, although he hasn't been weighed recently, so I'm pushing as much food as possible. On a good day, he's eating 3 to 3 and 1/2 small cans at 65 calories/can. I would like to see him eat closer to 4 cans if he's to gain back some of the weight he's lost. Thanks for the great info as it will help in calculating the correct calories for Pepe and Kiri who are a little overweight. Anne
 
Re: 5/20 Pixie 0.75u, PMPS=86; +1=88,+2=88, +3 =50, +3.2=56

hi anne!

you get more tests than most people do - but i have to say i'm doubting you're going to have to do it for too long. ;-) Pixie does have a model spreadsheet, and it looks like he's just going to work himself off of insulin before long. can you ask him to give us a 49 instead of all of these 50's so we can follow the very clear-cut directions of the protocol!? :lol:

You could probably go ahead and decrease to 0.5u in the morning with that 50 tonight. silly guy! it's like he read the protocol and doesn't want to play quite exactly by the rules, but wants to do it his way. i had a child like that! :-D

in any case, he's looking fantastic. you're doing a bang-up job and should feel great about everything.
 
Hi Julie,

I hope all is going well with you and Punkin. Pixie and I would be more than delighted to go down to 0.5u tomorrow morning. You're right, it is as if he's read the protocol. I try to let him go lower than 50 but he often just stays stuck on the 50. Well I think we'll pack it in for the evening. Pixie has some MC+LC food for the evening because I'm just not sure what his numbers are doing during the night. By leaving the MC+LC mix out for him, I can sleep more peacefully knowing he has what he needs if he dips lower. Sometimes I'm able to do a visual check during the night but not always. Good night, Julie and keep up the good work, mentoring all us newbies. You're earning your way to heaven :smile: . Its people like you that make this world a better place. Anne
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top