Re: 5/20 Merlin AMPs 331.+6/128,PMPS 399
Hi Cindi,
Darn on that higher PMPS.
It looks like so far, the 1.0u is doing about the same thing as the 1.4 or the 1.2. I'm not seeing any major differences yet. But then again it's just been one cycle. I think you can generally extrapolate that the 1.0 you previously shot during the week of 4/28-5/5 did result in overall lower pre-shot numbers but the nadirs look more or less the same on the 1.4u, the 1.2u and the 1.0u. My thinking is that you keep doing what you're doing and hold each successively lower dose for at least 6 cycles to evaluate to hone in one the dose that gets you the overall lowest numbers.
Merlin said:
Isn't it better to have the latter scenario i.e. lower AM/PM but flatter cycle and not so low nadirs? Or is it better to get to those lower nadirs but dealing with higher AM/PM PS?
This is a million dollar question. I guess whichever approach allows the
most time in numbers that are under renal threshold is what you'd probably want to aim for. Sometimes kitties settle down the bouncing and you can keep aiming for those lower nadirs even if it causes bouncing, but there are ProZinc kitties that seem to do better with a flatter cycle.
On which insulin is best for Merlin, its probably not possible to say for sure unless/until you try something different and see if it works. Lots of kitties do well on Lantus or Levemir, but some do better on ProZinc. I personally like how Eddie's responding on Lantus but I know Debbie's Lucian didn't do very well on Lantus. Merlin is responsive to insulin and he's not stuck in high flat numbers that won't budge, so if I had to guess any insulin will lower his BG - it's just which one will (might?) help you gain better regulation. I hope others will speak to this, so it's not just my two cents being tossed in here, but I'm thinking that you may not be able to get a flat enough cycle out of ProZinc for Merlin in order to get reasonable duration with normal BID dosing. On the other hand, Merlin is a cat, so he may just surprise us all if he likes a lower dose and he'll all of a sudden flatten out and start getting better pre-shot numbers. :smile:
Merlin said:
What is "relaxed" Lantus?
I post in TR, but I'll give you my interpretation of Relaxed - basically it's people using Lantus/Levemir that may be taking a slower approaches to dose adjustments than called for in the TR protocol, or they may be using L/L that aren't able to test as frequently mid-cycle as is generally necessary to follow the TR protocol for dosing adjustments, or they may be tweaking the protocol in various ways to meet the needs of their kitty. Others do pretty much follow TR and post in Relaxed anyway. There are also people in TR that follow a more "relaxed" approach to the TR protocol, too. There's not really any specific rules or "membership requirements" to post on either forum. I post on TR. I know Lucian's Debbie used to post on Relaxed. Hopefully, she'll also add some input about TR versus Relaxed.
Before I switched Eddie to Lantus I had some questions and concerns about whether it would be a good fit, so I posted in TR asking some of those questions and got some very helpful responses. If you have any specific questions about Lantus, I can certainly try to help answer Cindi, or you might think about posting something like "Thinking About Switching" on either the TR or the Relaxed board, giving a synopsis of Merlin's situation, and asking any questions you might have about the protocol or whether Lantus/Levemir might be a good fit.
Edited: I cross-posted with Sue above.
