5/20 Lulu AMPS-115,+3-59,+3.75-72,+7-86,+10.75-166,PMPS-214,+3-140

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning everyone in sugar kitty land,
Yesterday was crazy, didn't post much. Lulu's starting off great, in the blue, and I expect she'll be at the lagoon by next test. I am going to stay home and take BG tests every 3 hours today.
@Wendy&Neko - Vacation starts Friday, so I'll be asking for your kind dosing recommendation for cat sitter, please. As I mentioned, sitter prefers not to BG test, as she doesn't want to stress Lulu any more than is necessary. I so appreciate your help.
I really don't want to go on this vacation, but it was booked prior to Lulu's Dx. I can't afford to waste the money, so I'll go, but will be thinking a lot about my Lulu (and Otis and Coco, too).
 
I hope you're planning on getting another test soon! That's a good sized drop by +3.

Gabby won't let my cat sitter test so I'm very familiar with the drill! I reduce Gabby's dose when I travel. Given that Lulu is currently at 1.0u, I would think about reducing to either 0.75 or 0.5u. If you are confident that your sitter can measure 0.75, I'd lean in that direction. However, it's often easier to have a person who's new to this process draw up a dose that falls on a line on the syringe.

I would also make up a syringe as a sample and use a colored liquid so your sitter has a comparison. It is a huge safety precaution to have a syringe with colored liquid there that way there's no mistaking 0.5u with 5.0u.

The above said, let's see where Lulu's dose is on Thurs. evening. A lot can happen in the next 2 days. On Thursday, could you put a note in your subject line indicating you need help with vacation dosing?
 
Thanks, Sienne. Yes, I just got a +3.75 and she's risen to 72.

The cat sitter works for my vet and, although she knows my cats, she came over for a meet and greet to see where everything is. I had her indicate to me where a unit is on the syringe, and told her about a horror story I heard where someone measured up 10 units for a 1u cat:eek:. She knows how to dose, but I'm going to take your suggestion to leave a sample with coloured liquid. The sitter promised to send me daily emails to let me know how things are going, and has said that if any issues pop up, she'll take Lulu to work with her. This vet has been Lulu's dr. all her life.

I'm going to have her load the auto-feeder in the a.m. and the p.m. with their regular LC food, but I've showed her where the HC and corn syrup are just in case. I'm so nervous with Lulu having been diagnosed just a couple of months ago.:nailbiting:

I'll post a ? note on Thurs evening requesting help, as you suggested.
 
Nice numbers today. :D I am glad Sienne popped in, she's a pro at vacation dosing.

Your Lulu will be fine with a reduced a dose and the coloured syringe as a guide.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top