5/20 Jack: 312@amps- back up to 10u- herd update

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-4-food-stress-struggles.290095/#post-3179945

Life is just crazy here: Jack is beyond mad that he goes in the bathroom with Abby(who refuses to move out) for about an hour every morning with his food and kibble mix. He howls, scratches the door, and is mean to Abby. I just don't have a viable alternative to feeding him the diabetic stuff and feeding the rest of the herd the urinary stuff in the morning. I tried to feed him just the urinary wet food for breakfast with everyone else over the weekend and he flat out refused to eat. This morning he wouldn't eat anything I offered him, he finally ate about a half can of FF beef pate which is low in carbs but high in phosphorus. :banghead: He's been walking away from me, been antsy for tests, and generally avoiding me. This morning we increased back to 10 units. I'm going to order a phosphorus binder from Chewy, just debating between Epakitin and Phos-Bind- I've used Epakitin before but not the Phos-Bind- they both seem to do the same thing, it will probably be a budgetary decision unfortunately.

William is holding his own, still not back to normal, but increased interaction with his brothers, watching birds and chipmunks on the back deck. He still has a few days of Prazosin (anti-inflammatory) and one day left of the appetite stimulant. I'd like to get some fluids into him to keep flushing the urinary tract out, but he is too squirmy to manage on my own. He's not a fan of the new food, but the appetite stimulant is working. Paws crossed he wants to eat without it, and my sister can find some time to come up to the house and hold Willy for me, at least a few days this week.

Bad news on old man Otis, his physical exam was somewhat unremarkable- his abdomen was somewhat 'boggy' (not firm organs) and his bloodwork was pretty normal. Unfortunately the vet feels that he either has some type of cancer or auto-immune condition. He's on prednisolone (steroid) in the hopes that any internal inflammation will shrink and his appetite will increase and he'll gain weight. He doesn't seem to be in pain, he's sleeping in the bathroom with Abby- the door is open, he just loves her. Otis, Abby, Lily, and Gypsy are my old Brooklyn crew (the last of the ones I rescued before moving to PA) It sucks when they all get old. Tagging @Diane Tyler's Mom as you asked for the Otis update:(

Won't have much time this week for the board, I'm just heartbroken and overwhelmed with everything here. Hope all are well, kitties surfing safely. Sending hugs and love----:bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-4-food-stress-struggles.290095/#post-3179945

Life is just crazy here: Jack is beyond mad that he goes in the bathroom with Abby(who refuses to move out) for about an hour every morning with his food and kibble mix. He howls, scratches the door, and is mean to Abby. I just don't have a viable alternative to feeding him the diabetic stuff and feeding the rest of the herd the urinary stuff in the morning. I tried to feed him just the urinary wet food for breakfast with everyone else over the weekend and he flat out refused to eat. This morning he wouldn't eat anything I offered him, he finally ate about a half can of FF beef pate which is low in carbs but high in phosphorus. :banghead: He's been walking away from me, been antsy for tests, and generally avoiding me. This morning we increased back to 10 units. I'm going to order a phosphorus binder from Chewy, just debating between Epakitin and Phos-Bind- I've used Epakitin before but not the Phos-Bind- they both seem to do the same thing, it will probably be a budgetary decision unfortunately.

William is holding his own, still not back to normal, but increased interaction with his brothers, watching birds and chipmunks on the back deck. He still has a few days of Prazosin (anti-inflammatory) and one day left of the appetite stimulant. I'd like to get some fluids into him to keep flushing the urinary tract out, but he is too squirmy to manage on my own. He's not a fan of the new food, but the appetite stimulant is working. Paws crossed he wants to eat without it, and my sister can find some time to come up to the house and hold Willy for me, at least a few days this week.

Bad news on old man Otis, his physical exam was somewhat unremarkable- his abdomen was somewhat 'boggy' (not firm organs) and his bloodwork was pretty normal. Unfortunately the vet feels that he either has some type of cancer or auto-immune condition. He's on prednisolone (steroid) in the hopes that any internal inflammation will shrink and his appetite will increase and he'll gain weight. He doesn't seem to be in pain, he's sleeping in the bathroom with Abby- the door is open, he just loves her. Otis, Abby, Lily, and Gypsy are my old Brooklyn crew (the last of the ones I rescued before moving to PA) It sucks when they all get old. Tagging @Diane Tyler's Mom as you asked for the Otis update:(

Won't have much time this week for the board, I'm just heartbroken and overwhelmed with everything here. Hope all are well, kitties surfing safely. Sending hugs and love----:bighug:
Oh ((((Christine)))) sending you and the herd lots of love and hugs. You have so much going on to juggle.
I am sending you lots of support, warm wishes and hugs. Saying prayers and sending good and healing vibes for everyone.
You are an amazing cat Mom and you are so dedicated to all of your babies. They are so lucky to have you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh ((((Christine)))) sending you and the herd lots of love and hugs. You have so much going on to juggle.
I am sending you lots of support, warm wishes and hugs. Saying prayers and sending good and healing vibes for everyone.
You are an amazing cat Mom and you are so dedicated to all of your babies. They are so lucky to have you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, hope all is going well with you and Ms Ivy :bighug::bighug:
 
Hey Christine, thanks for the update on Otis .I hope the prednisolone helps .It sure does suck when they get old. I glad William is holding his own and it's good to hear he's bird watching and interacting with his brothers.
Jack is something else when it comes to his food .
Be a nice boy to Abby Jack .
Tyler's brother was on the phos binder .
This was the one I used
https://www.amazon.com/Rx-Vitamins-Phos-Bind-Powder-200g/dp/B00PT4ORD8/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
I think you will get more for your money than the Epakitin
He didn't taste it at all.
You are an amazing mom Christine.
Don't worry about getting on the board this week, we know you have a lot on your plate
Sending you lots of hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Here's a cheaper one, I see members have used this one also
https://thrivingpets.com/products/aluminum-hydroxide-powder-usp-200-gram-jar
 
Last edited:
I can totally agree with that. We know it happens, but its always hard. :bighug:

Jack sure seems determined to get his way no matter what. Sounds like a bit of a spitfire. :eek: Do you have a large cage you could put him in for feeding time? I hope things settle down for you. :bighug:
I have a Great Dane crate, but he will freak- and the rest of the herd will not understand either- out of sight out of mind, if they see food they can't have it's always what they want- it's an ongoing struggle. He's good for about 30 mins in the bathroom, but the old cats and now William don't eat as fast as he does :-( Thanks for the suggestion- if the bathroom continues to be an issue I may try it the weekend just so see...
 
Hey Christine, thanks for the update on Otis .I hope the prednisolone helps .It sure does suck when they get old. I glad William is holding his own and it's good to hear he's bird watching and interacting with his brothers.
Jack is something else when it comes to his food .
Be a nice boy to Abby Jack .
Tyler's brother was on the phos binder .
This was the one I used
https://www.amazon.com/Rx-Vitamins-Phos-Bind-Powder-200g/dp/B00PT4ORD8/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
I think you will get more for your money than the Epakitin
He didn't taste it at all.
You are an amazing mom Christine.
Don't worry about getting on the board this week, we know you have a lot on your plate
Sending you lots of hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Here's a cheaper one, I see members have used this one also
https://thrivingpets.com/products/aluminum-hydroxide-powder-usp-200-gram-jar
Thanks, I was looking at the Phos Bind- I'll decide later after meetings. :bighug: Appreciate your input
 
Back
Top