5/20 Henry

Status
Not open for further replies.
Henry is always a conundrum. With this 1.6u dose you are getting lower preshots, but you are also getting a flatter curve. I liked the curves you were getting with 1.8u, but you were consistently getting 300s for preshots. From these day time cycles, you know that shooting 1.6u into a mid to lower 200 is OK. I'd advocate going to 1.8u morning and night and holding it there until his body settles in from the oscillating pattern of curve one day and flat the next.
 
Henry is definitely a conundrum. I think pain from the disc disease may be a factor. Who knows. Just keep on keepin' on Angela and Henry.
 
+6 was 303?!
He seemed to go lower yesterday with fur shot.
He did have his 1/2 baby aspirin last night, that usually gives a lower AMPS the next day.
I think the disc pain is contributing somewhat to the changes in numbers. He almost always gets a lower number the mornings after the aspirin every 3 days.
I would like to see what everyone thinks about holding, raising, lowering dose?
I will be doing the PMPS in a little over an our and see what we get.
 
Hmmm. I think you probably have to try some things & see how it goes.

For the night cycle, first off I would get some data before any dose increase. My instinct is that you are getting lower AMPSs now b/c he is seeing better #s in the nighttime cycle. I don't know if that is right of course, it is just a guess. When he has hit greens in the day he has not zoomed, so I don't think there is a liver training factor at play, so that says to me that at night something wonky is happening when you get a high # by the time of your AMPS. So I would definitely want data before raising the dose. Ideally at night I would go for a +6 and a +8 or so, something to give you some clue what the nadir might be, and when he is rising back up. Other data of course is useful also, like a +2 to check for an early drop, etc.

On the daytime cycle I'd be tempted to try 1.7.

Your AMPSs are so good now, I think if you wanted to you could experiment with going to maybe a +11 shot in the AM and +13 at night, and see how the PSs look on that (you are doing +10.5/13.5 if I recall?). Well even if I got the details wrong, I'm thinking if you wanted to you could take a small step to evening the timing out and see if the better PSs hold.

I do agree that deciphering the data is easier when the doses are equal, however I would really want some data on the night cycle before raising any there. I don't think you are seeing greens or the AMPSs would be lower, but then the whole AM timing thing is still a mystery with him, so who knows.
 
I can try the 11/13 again. I am doing 10.5/13.5 now.
I am also a little afraid to go up on the night time dose. When I was giving him 1.8 at night it seemed he was not getting AMPS that were as good. But I think I will try 1.7 AM. It seems as Kelly said, he was getting better nadirs with the higher AM dose, but reducing the PM dose seemed to me helped his AM numbers. I just don't know. I cannot fathom why yesterday when he got for sure at least a partial furshot how he could have a better drop than today when I know he got all of his shot. The higher +6 than +4 which has happened a lot lately is what is weird too me; and this seems to happen more when his AMPS is lower down in the 200's.
+6 and +8 I cannot get tonight I have to leave as soon as I give his shot to care for a home bound elderly person that just got out of hospital.
 
The better drop on a fur shot day, and the higher mid-cycle #s when the AMPS is lower (on the same dose that is), both suggest to me that dose was a bit too high. A higher +6 than +4 can be either from the dose too low or too high. If the #s go up at +6 and then come back down by +12 that suggests the dose is too high, whereas if they creep up from the +6 on up to a higher +12, that suggests the dose is too low.

The 1.2 looked too low to me when you gave that though. Sometimes just 0.1 lower makes all the difference, but a bigger dose reduction gets the dose too low.

You can certainly experiment with slightly lower doses if you want to. For instance if the fur shot did better than 1.6 (I don't have the SS open, just picking #s here), you might try 1.5 or 1.4 one day on a similar PS and see what happens. If you get a green nadir, then you have your answer. If not, then you can always go back up. You can also try 1.7 and see what happens - if you get green nadirs again then yippee, if the nadirs go higher then I would try reducing again.

Sometimes it just *is* a puzzle, and you have to experiment and collect data to figure it out.
 
PMPS was 289 @ +13 so it was lower than +6.
Gave the usual 1.6 tonight.
Tomorrow I will try 1.7 AM and see how that does for a few cycles.
Then if no success maybe drop it down to 1.5 and see what happens. I do think 1.2 was not enough insulin too.
At least his numbers are lower than the have been in the mornings and aren't horrible jumping up int0 4oos or 500s. I think when we first started him on insulin some of those 500's were from bounces.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top