5/20 Harvey AMPS 145 +3.75 108 +6.25 109 PMPS 117 +4 88 +5 88 +6 103

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
5/19 Recap
1.0 units bid
AMPS: 133
AM+3.25: 95
AM+5.75: 96
AM+7: 67
AM+8.75: 107
PMPS: 153
PM+4.5: 103
PM+6.5: 163

Last Condo

AWOL again yesterday. Just too much to do to sit down at the computer. Problem is, when I do, I get stuck and suddenly it's three hours later! :eek: So I try to avoid it during the day. Case in point: sat down 90 minutes ago to check my email and do my condo. Just finished deleting about a thousand old emails and made it over to FDMB! There's always something to distract me. :rolleyes:

So, Harvey's appy has been nothing to write home about the past couple of days. Gave him Ondansetron and Cypro yesterday and that helped, but still wasn't up to Hoover status. Last night he was eating really well, and then he threw it all up! :eek::facepalm::( I gave him some Ond & Cerenia, but he didn't wait for it. Ten minutes later he was eating again, and this time he kept it down. He ate well the rest of the evening. This morning, back to not eating. He ate about half his t/f/s meal, but didn't want breakfast. I offered a second flavor, and he had a few bites of that, then walked away, so out came the Ond & Cypro.
46.gif


Can't complain about his numbers - blues and greens as far as the eye can see. :):cool::D (ANTI-JINX) His preshots have been creeping up, and I tried pulling the food before +10, but that didn't make a difference. As long as they stay blue, I guess I won't stress it...much.

Yesterday was clean the litter boxes day. Much easier since we downsized to 5 boxes (yes, he's very spoiled, but it's a big, two-story house). That also means I vacuum. Apparently, Harvey was really tired.

upload_2016-5-20_12-53-10.png

When you're trying to sleep and your Mama is vacuuming.
icon_lol.gif


I've made it to Day 5 on the Whole30 challenge. I must say, eating this way keeps me feeling full, so less likely to cheat. But lots of prep. Last night I made chicken cacciatore and cauliflower rice. The jury's still out on the latter, and the former needs more herbs (I used their recipe, but upon review, my usual one is compliant, so I think I'll stick with it). I made the clarified butter, too, and discovered it works better if you store it at room temperature - hard as a rock in the fridge. But it's nice to have butter again. :woot: Now I just have to replace some of my supplements, as many contain soy, which is a no-no. I never read the "additional" ingredients before. Now I'm almost sorry I did! :confused:

I did my easy walking workout without any problems the past two days, just moderate pain in my heel, but yesterday I woke up with my right calf hurting like crazy. At first I thought I'd overdone the stretching after the workout the day before, but this morning it dawned on me it might be caused by the way I'm walking to favor the heel! Swell!
icon_rolleyes.gif
Now what?

Newsflash: tummy meds just kicked in! Hooray for drugs!! :cat:
AddEmoticons00915.gif


Sending healing vines to all in need, especially Lucky, and hugs to all their beans. :bighug:

 
When I needed Boomer's AMPS to come down I fed him at +9 but just a snack, not a meal. That was when he was on insulin; when he's OTJ it's the opposite, he needs a meal not a snack for AMBG is high:rolleyes:
 
I'm glad the tummy meds are working now. Civie Theo gets "fussy" but he's really just trying to train me to add freeze dried duck liver dust (or bison) to his meal.

Nice pic of Harvey - he's got very nice muscle tone. Wolf whistle! Like his numbers too. :cool:

If you look at the Indian food section in store, you can get ghee, which is clarified butter. Not that it takes long to make, but less waste.
 
If you look at the Indian food section in store, you can get ghee, which is clarified butter. Not that it takes long to make, but less waste.
The book tells you how to make ghee, too, but says it has a nuttier flavor. I wasn't sure I'd like it, so didn't go for it, but thanks for the tip - now maybe I'll try to find some. I don't think my local supermarket has an Indian section, but there's an international market I go to in Sac for fresh tortillas, so I'll check there next time I'm in town.

New walking shoes?
I've thought about that, but the heel pain started when I wasn't wearing them. I only wear them when I do my walking workouts. They're probably close to two years old, but I haven't used them more than a half dozen times in the last 18 mos. :oops: I was too busy taking care of sick kitties. :(

Harvey is currently finishing off the last of this morning's can of FF! :woot:

When I needed Boomer's AMPS to come down I fed him at +9 but just a snack, not a meal. That was when he was on insulin; when he's OTJ it's the opposite, he needs a meal not a snack for AMBG is high
Thanks, Judy. Generally that's a trick we recommend when a kitty is getting close to remission and the only thing holding back an OTJ trial is higher preshots. Harvey's not near that point. I have been just leaving the food out all day and night because we are concerned about keeping the weight on, and I thought maybe his eating after +9 was what was causing the higher numbers (later in the cycle, eating can dilute the insulin that's still left), but after pulling the food a couple of nights, it didn't make a difference (except I got some dirty looks from him as I went to bed :p).
 
Sorry that Harvey keeps throwing up. Glad that the meds have helped! He is handsome! When I was running daily, I used Brooks shoes. I know that they make walking shoes as well. Pricey but worth it! You might try them.
 
When I was running daily, I used Brooks shoes. I know that they make walking shoes as well. Pricey but worth it! You might try them.
Thanks, Sandi. I'm not familiar with Brooks. My podiatrist wants me to wear New Balance, as they have a bigger toe box - darned arthritis! :confused: I also have to wear an orthotic in them, which doesn't help the plantar fasciitis, a it's hard plastic.
 
Thanks, Sandi. I'm not familiar with Brooks. My podiatrist wants me to wear New Balance, as they have a bigger toe box - darned arthritis! :confused: I also have to wear an orthotic in them, which doesn't help the plantar fasciitis, a it's hard plastic.
Brooks has a wide toe box too. I have weird feet - fat in ball and toes, and skinny in heels. I have used NB also, but they are too tight for my front. NB did make one that had memory foam insoles and they felt also walking around the store in them!
 
Yep, those appy meds are amazing. I'm glad Harvey's appy picked up and I hope it continues through the rest of the day!!
 
Yeah for modern chemistry!! If the meds keep him eating enough to stay at a healthy weight, that's all that matters! (although I know you wish he'd do it without them)

Congrats on day 5!! Some of the food on that diet sounds yummy (I read some of the recipes) but I have to admit, I'm too picky to be able to stick to it too long

Harvey sure looks great in his picture!! He sure is a gorgeous color!

OK Deputy Harvey.....let's get you back down to the lagoon to help out with the heavy lifting! We need our boys around!!
 
Harvey is just beautiful, what an unusual colour :kiss:

How heartbreaking is it to get a good amount of food into them only to have it come back up again! Glad he's eating well now. Scritches.

I hear you on the computer lost time thing
 
Thanks for the visits, everyone.

I really like that PMPS better than some of the preshot numbers lately! He ate about half the second can, then he was full. He did eat all his t/f/s meal tonight, but no seconds yet.

Some of the food on that diet sounds yummy (I read some of the recipes) but I have to admit, I'm too picky to be able to stick to it too long
I'm super picky, and there aren't many in there that I'm interested in trying. One of my problems is I really don't like many veggies, and there are a lot of veggies in those recipes!

Harvey says thanks for the compliments. :oops::smuggrin: He is a Ruddy Aby, which is actually the most common color they come in. The other colors are Red, Fawn and Blue. Sasha was also ruddy.

Well, time to reheat the leftover cacciatore and cauliflower rice for dinner! BBL.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top