? 5/20 Gus is green with 0.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

elizabeth and gus

Member Since 2015
Gus loves green, he is playful and eats more.
Today:
AMPS 116 0.1
+6 99
PMPS 117 0.1
+3 56

Again I am nervous about 56 @+3 today. He usually is lowest at about +6 so we could see lower BG. I am wondering if we should reduce his dose again??
 
If you're following SLGS, you reduce when you catch a number under 90. He doesn't really look ready for an OTJ trial, however - there are too many higher numbers still on his ss.

Can you look at how many drops you have in your 0.1u and see if you can make the dose any smaller? the very smallest dose that I'm aware of is to sort of vacuum in a drop. You press the plunger hard into the syringe, pushing all of the air out of the syringe, insert the needle into the insulin and release the syringe. It will pull back in a small drop.

Play with what you've got in your 0.1u and the second idea i've mentioned her for one drop. If you can get less than the 0.1u just by screwing out drops (point the syringe to the ceiling and "screw" the plunger) then start there first.

Also, one trick that can help bring down BGs in a cat that's nearly OTJ is to feed them small meals around the clock. That's less of a burden on the sputtering pancreas. If only the preshots are high, then we suggest giving one bite at +9 or so (of the regular low carb food), but Gus is not just high at preshots, so I think you might see some benefit from doing it all the time.
 
Good luck getting a skinny dose. I screw out drops when I have too much in my syringe every day. Depending on how much 0.1 is for you that might work well. Nice problem to have. :)
 
If you're following SLGS, you reduce when you catch a number under 90. He doesn't really look ready for an OTJ trial, however - there are too many higher numbers still on his ss.

Can you look at how many drops you have in your 0.1u and see if you can make the dose any smaller? the very smallest dose that I'm aware of is to sort of vacuum in a drop. You press the plunger hard into the syringe, pushing all of the air out of the syringe, insert the needle into the insulin and release the syringe. It will pull back in a small drop.

Play with what you've got in your 0.1u and the second idea i've mentioned her for one drop. If you can get less than the 0.1u just by screwing out drops (point the syringe to the ceiling and "screw" the plunger) then start there first.

Also, one trick that can help bring down BGs in a cat that's nearly OTJ is to feed them small meals around the clock. That's less of a burden on the sputtering pancreas. If only the preshots are high, then we suggest giving one bite at +9 or so (of the regular low carb food), but Gus is not just high at preshots, so I think you might see some benefit from doing it all the time.
Julie

Thank you so much for your replay. We are going to try to decrease his dose according to what you described. Gus is eating small meals several times a day and we put extra food for him at night.

Elizabeth
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top