5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 +2 20 +6 74 +11 50- PMBG 51 +2 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

mococo

Member Since 2011
Question- normally i would be holding, even yesterday i would be holding because this number is low, and giving him insulin now would guarantee a trip into 40-38 range. But his dose this am is supposed to be .1

i'm not sure what affect that will have on his body, but i also don't know if i hold or if he drops what the step down from that is.

Thoughts?

we are holding both food and shot right now.

yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43670
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan @12 53- HOLD?

If you are not comfortable shooting the 53, I would stall for 15-30 minutes and retest, will your schedule allow you to do that? Will you be able to monitor him today?

You have shot 50s before, and you are shooting a tiny dose. The next step down from 0.1u is a drop...the smallest amount you can possibly shoot.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan @12 53- HOLD?

D'Artagnan was below 50 a lot yesterday.... which means a reduction in the dose as you've said.... to 0.1u.

But before shooting even the tiny tiny dose, I'd delay as Laurie said ... 53 is too low to shoot because as a newly diagnosed kitty, you are aiming for reductions at below 50. You don't need to go to the 30's at all. I wouldn't want my kitty in the 30's.

If this was my kitty I'd delay and see if he begins to rise.
If not I'd skip the shot and see how he does today. It looks to me that he doesn't need much help anymore. :mrgreen:

The point of shooting the 0.1u is to give the pancreas as much time as possible to rest and stay in the nice normal numbers. But there is no reason to hang out in the 30-40 range and then have to feed HC to keep him safe.

(You better start collecting photos of him for you know what...!! :lol: )
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan @12 53 @12.25 47- Advice ?

Hi Laurie! you were here for me the first time I stalled and shot low! Wow things have come a long way since that moment.....

12.25 is giving us 47, I'm going to test again in 15, there have been times he's come up from high 40 and times he's gone down.

We have shot at the 50s before, but last night when we shot 59, he bottomed out at 40, and my goal right now is to make sure I keep him on an even keel so I don't risk a low dip and a responding bounce. He so enjoyed bouncing.

I'll update again shortly!
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan @12 53 @12.25 47- Advice ?

That is a good problem to have! D'Artagnan looks great! I hope you get your answer soon.

Thanks for stopping by our condo last night. Tarragon loves visitors. I read them to him when we have a PJ party. Hope you remembered Tarragon at the grocery store, the spice not the kitty. :lol: My son loves the spice so that is where Tarragon got his name when my son was 8. :lol:

You need to fill me in on the technique you used for your dog for storms sometime. I would really like to try anything right now!
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan @12 53 @12.25 47 @12.5 45- Advice ?

Okay it looks like he is headed the wrong direction.

I'm making the executive decision to feed, no shot.

What should his shot be tonight? stay at .1 if we can since we didn't get to use it this am?

And Melissa I'll pm you today with the technique we used. What kind of dog do you have?
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan @12 53 @12.25 47- Advice ?

Yep, you and Le Butterball have come a long way! :lol:

I wouldn't worry about bouncing at this point. As CD pointed out, you don't want him hanging out in the 30s and 40s though.

It's fine to skip, I bet he won't miss a beat. :mrgreen: You would shoot 0.1u tonight. Feed that kitty now, get him out of the 40s.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan @12 53 @12.25 47 @12.5 45- Advice ?

Le Butterball???? :lol: :lol: :lol:

We are all clapping in excitement for you guys!
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan @12 53 @12.25 47 @12.5 45- Advice ?

yeah, i named his ss le butterball's speadsheet. the spreadsheet was really intimidating for me so i needed to inject humor to make it less intimidating.

humor is necessary.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan @12 53 @12.25 47 @12.5 45- Advice ?

CD...look at the top of his SS. :lol:

I would get another test 20-30 minutes after you feed, make sure he comes up out of the 40s.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan @12 53 @12.25 47 @12.5 45- Advice ?

I'm impressed with the way you've taken this trend so in stride. It's got to be tense, but exciting to have seen such a huge improvement in your D'Artagnan. I'll be learning from your posts.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59

He got a slightly bigger breakfast, all lc and hoovered it like he had just run a marathon, and he's now stalking the bf's bowl of cereal. Sitting in his lap, nose thisclose to the bowl. He loooooooves cereal milk.

i figure his little body is on his own mission right now, and i am along for the ride. my job is just to keep up the bumper guards and make sure he doesn't gutter out.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59

mococo said:
i figure his little body is on his own mission right now, and i am along for the ride. my job is just to keep up the bumper guards and make sure he doesn't gutter out.

Ain't that the truth! :-D :-D

Lookin' great D'Art!!!
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59 @1.25 47

set out his second meal, he took two bites, and went back to stalking bugs on the window.

he likes the 40s. testing again shortly to make sure he doesn't take a little drop.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59 @1.25 47

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT what an exciting condo to stop in at today!! You are doing great!
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59 @1.25 47

hmmm, not saying anything cuz i don't want to jinx anything but you know what i'm thinking.

le butterball has his own plans.

i read "le butterball" and the next post was "he's a labrador." :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

he does kinda look like a labrador! ;-)

have a great day, mo! you too butterball!
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59 @1.25 47

mococo said:
set out his second meal, he took two bites, and went back to stalking bugs on the window.

he likes the 40s. testing again shortly to make sure he doesn't take a little drop.

Sounds like a plan. There's no insulin on board, so he isn't going to hypo, but I'm not a big fan of surfing the 40s.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59 @1.25 47

bcatrun_gif
Looks like D'Artagnan is trying to get somewhere! The 40's are probably resulting from the leftover shed from the previous dose. It will be great to see how he does for the rest of today. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59 @1.25 47 +2 20

he had no shot this morning

repeat- no shot

he just got a tbs of hc w a couple drops of karo

he did finish his second breakfast

testing again shortly

he hovered the hc w karo before i even finished typing this.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59 @1.25 47 +2 20

yikes! Yes the previous shed is in action here.
HC ... good job. You are doing the correct things. Add the Karo to the HC. Yes.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59 @1.25 47 +2 20

Sheesh....drama kitty!

Yes, karo, and get another test after 15 minutes.

Definitely on a mission....
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59 @1.25 47 +2 20 +2.25 55

okay so the karo kicked in quickly

we set out his last meal and put about a tbs of hc in it for good measure.

he ate some and went back to trying to open his lancet box and fling lancets in the air.

lancets are not confetti and we are not having a party (yet).

now he's chewing his meter....
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59 @1.25 47 +2 20 +2.25 55

mococo said:
okay so the karo kicked in quickly

we set out his last meal and put about a tbs of hc in it for good measure.

he ate some and went back to trying to open his lancet box and fling lancets in the air.

lancets are not confetti and we are not having a party (yet).

now he's chewing his meter....

Good idea to add the HC...the karo kicks in quickly, but it usually doesn't last long either. I'd keep testing often until you see his numbers stabilize after the food spike wears off.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59 @1.25 47 +2 20 +2.25 55

mococo said:
okay so the karo kicked in quickly

And the effects wear off quickly too. So obviously you will need to monitor him a while longer. Nice work! :mrgreen:
Edit: yes... Totally agree with what Laurie said.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59 @1.25 47 +2 20 +2.5 81

81 Still seeing the karo jump.

soo glad my box of 100 strips arrived yesterday.

and what a most excellent day to work from home.

like he planned it this way.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59 @1.25 47 +2 20 +2.5 81 +3

Looks like his rise has slowed down, now just the remainder of the hc and the normal lc kicking in.

he is taking a nap on his favorite hat and our floor pillows.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 @.5 59 @1.25 47 +2 20 +2.5 81 +3

Looks good...hopefully he will level off and surf, or only drop a bit and surf. I'm glad he did this when you were home.....good boy, D'Artagnan!
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 +2 20 +4.25 81

nice drop back into green and hopefully he stays there.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 +2 20 +5 72

Bit of a drop, but he did decide that his last meal looked absolutely fabulous.

We'll keep an eye on his +6

This is what I had to wake up to test, after test- he decided to do a kitty 500 around the apartment.
 

Attachments

  • IMG00035-20110520-1146.jpg
    IMG00035-20110520-1146.jpg
    523.8 KB · Views: 753
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 +2 20 +5 72

What an amazing morning and you handled thta 20 like a pro!!!! Someone is on a MISSION!!!! Hopefully he will now surf and his shed will drain a little tiny bit. He is so handsome...love the photo!!!

Have a great day.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 +2 20 +6 74

he is a fine lookin' fella. i don't mind sharing an apartment with him one little bit!

not a bad +6 with everything we had this morning.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 +2 20 +6 74

Perfect number. What a crazy way start to your day. Glad you both weathered it just fine.
What a character he is!
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 +2 20 +6 74 +10 57- PM shot ?

Long day for cat-apaloza over here.

So as we are approaching his usual PM shot time, I am very much in the no shot for the frenchman camp.

He has spent the whole day surfing greens with the exception of the blue we saw with karo.

Which leads me to next steps: Even on these low doses we've seen a whole batch of 40s, and especially with today's trip to the 20s, I am not seeing a compelling reason to be giving him insulin. I'm concerned that even at micro doses, I could end up doing more harm than good, especially since he has grown all too comfortable in these 40s and any additional insulin could pull the rug out from under him. Self reality check- I happened to be working from home today, so I happened to be able to catch that drop to 20, but my concern is that further injections could lead to a drop like this in the future, even a cycle after the injection, when no one is home, and then we have a very sick kitter cat on our hands.

So now I'm asking for my reality check to be checked by others. Are we on the right track?
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 +2 20 +6 74 +10 57- PM shot ?

I tend to agree with your thinking. If D'Artagnan had started creeping up higher - maybe you would want to try the tiny 0.1u.
But with the 20 today including Karo/HC and he's still only in the 50's.... to me that says no juice with a capital NO. :lol:

It is usually nice to be able to attempt to rest the pancreas as long as possible on a micro dose - until you get a clear sign that the kitty just doesn't need it anymore.
I'm confident that we saw a clear sign today.

If in the days to come he starts to go higher... well you have more insulin in the refrigerator. But my vote is that this is DAY ONE of an OTJ trial. :mrgreen:
Maybe some others will add their opinions. (Your opinion counts the most of course.)

Very happy for you!
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 +2 20 +6 74 +10 57- PM shot ?

So here's the quandry.... 10 days ago, D'Artagnan was in pink numbers. It would certainly appear that he no longer has an affinity for pink. I would see where he is closer to shot time before you make any decision about insulin. The 20 today was probably a result of left over shed action from last night. Skipping this morning has drained the shed a bit so it should be safe to shoot if you have a reasonable PS number.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 +2 20 +6 74 +11 50- PMBG 51

51. we are sticking to the no shot plan.

If he jumps tomorrow to a point that a shot is merited, i will have no compunction about giving him one. But right now, I think we are proceeding with caution and sticking to no insulin until he tells me otherwise.

thank you all!
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 +2 20 +6 74 +11 50- PMBG 51

Wise choice; 50's are too low to shoot for D'Artagnan after today's BG of 20. :o

What a day! :roll: :lol:
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 +2 20 +6 74 +11 50- PMBG 51

He does seem to like those 50s, doesn't he? :mrgreen: I'd see what happens...he certainly is on a mission.
 
Re: 5.20 D'Artagnan AMBG 53 +2 20 +6 74 +11 50- PMBG 51 +2 7

We are much happier with these numbers. He is back to a normal eating schedule tonight since we didn't have to interfere with hc and additional feedings. He ate both his first two dinners and has left his third to graze on later.

thank you again to every one.

we'll see what happens tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top