5/20 Chi Chi AMPS 142 +6 327 PMPS 351+3.5 292+5 311

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura&Chichi (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118973
Good morning! So it seems she was bouncing for 2 days, which is common for her. I contemplated increasing the dose, but wanted to wait til todays amps since I had a feeling she would be lower. Im pretty sure she slid down overnight cause she heard me tell my mom she was getting an increase if she didnt :-D I am home today and will hopefully see mr. greenie soon! :mrgreen: Have a great day everyone. Also, looks like Dimitri is gonna be havin a party soon! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 5/20 Chi Chi AMPS 142+2 269+5 270+6 327+8.5 374 PMPS 351

Well, I increased the dose back up, and I hope I don't regret waiting til morning. She had a 141 blue amps today, and I considered holding off based on that, but shes had nothing but yellows and pinks lately. I will get a few test in tonight just to be safe.
 
Re: 5/20 Chi Chi AMPS 142+2 269+5 270+6 327+8.5 374 PMPS 351

She's definitely bouncing from wherever she went in the wee hours of this morning. If you can get a test here and there in those big white spaces on her spreadsheet, it might be helpful. i hate to even say that knowing that you work 2 jobs and must be exhausted. but if you wake up anyway, maybe you could catch a test.

With her so high at pmps, i wouldn't worry about the early pm cycle tests, but maybe you could get a +4 or +5 before you go to bed. hard to say how long she'll bounce.
 
Re: 5/20 Chi Chi AMPS 142 +6 327 PMPS 351+3.5 243

Thanks Julie! Do you think I should have waited to increase? I have a feeling I should have, and I am really considering going back to 2.u in the am. I think she was bouncing from early morning low today/last night. She had some low #s on 2.25 and although my mom can test, Im not confident she can keep her up if she dives unless she can reach me by phone for instructions. My busiest time at work is 12-2, and cant get calls. I have the instructions printed out, but still have my doubts she can follow them. She is easily confused and that worries me. :sad:
 
Re: 5/20 Chi Chi AMPS 142 +6 327 PMPS 351+3.5 243

that's a good question. it's ironic how a few more tests can change what the advice is we would've given. it wasn't unreasonable to increase, though. You'd had 10 shots at the 2.0u and the numbers were a little higher than is ideal. i think it was ok to increase.

you have a couple of options.

you could just hold the new dose and carry on as you have been doing.

You could also decide to reduce the dose if you get a low amps so that your mom is less likely to have to deal with it. The trouble with this plan is obvious in today's numbers - sometimes the blood sugar is on its way up rather than down. I know you don't really have the flexibility to change her shot times to get a +2 before you go. Would you be able to get a test at +11 so you know if the amps is going up or down? that bit of info might help you decide if you need to give a reduced dose.

I think i'd do a combination of these 2 - hold the dose for now, get a +11 so you know if the BGs are rising or dropping, and then reduce the dose if the preshot is low and dropping. If your mom can reach you all except for 2 hrs, that's pretty good coverage.


for your mom, what i would do is write really simple, straightforward directions. Something like this:

Check blood sugar. Choose either option 1, 2 or 3:
1. If it is 40-50, give 1 teaspoon of the gravy from this can (or stack of cans). Wait 20 minutes. Recheck.
....If it is 40 or less, give 2 teaspoons of gravy.

Repeat Step 1 until blood sugar is over 50.

2. If it is 50-75, give 2 teaspoons of food from this (low carb regular food) can. Recheck in 30 minutes.

3. If it is 75+, recheck in one hour.

Those aren't perfect directions, but they are simple & perhaps they would be "good enough" for your mom to understand and follow for the 2 hrs until she can reach you. You might need to modify them so that you feel they are safe and adequate for your needs.

You could even have a couple of cans of high carb and a couple of cans of low carb in 2 separate, obvious stacks on your kitchen counter. Label them with "blood sugar under 50" and "blood sugar over 50" or something like that.

You could also tell her "if in doubt, always give food." most of us overcarbed our cat the first time they went low. it's better to do that than to have her go too low. even if she gives high carb by accident, that's not going to hurt chi chi.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top