Re: 5/20 Chi Chi AMPS 142 +6 327 PMPS 351+3.5 243
that's a good question. it's ironic how a few more tests can change what the advice is we would've given. it wasn't unreasonable to increase, though. You'd had 10 shots at the 2.0u and the numbers were a little higher than is ideal. i think it was ok to increase.
you have a couple of options.
you could just hold the new dose and carry on as you have been doing.
You could also decide to reduce the dose if you get a low amps so that your mom is less likely to have to deal with it. The trouble with this plan is obvious in today's numbers - sometimes the blood sugar is on its way up rather than down. I know you don't really have the flexibility to change her shot times to get a +2 before you go. Would you be able to get a test at +11 so you know if the amps is going up or down? that bit of info might help you decide if you need to give a reduced dose.
I think i'd do a combination of these 2 - hold the dose for now, get a +11 so you know if the BGs are rising or dropping, and then reduce the dose if the preshot is low and dropping. If your mom can reach you all except for 2 hrs, that's pretty good coverage.
for your mom, what i would do is write really simple, straightforward directions. Something like this:
Check blood sugar. Choose either option 1, 2 or 3:
1. If it is 40-50, give 1 teaspoon of the gravy from this can (or stack of cans). Wait 20 minutes. Recheck.
....If it is 40 or less, give 2 teaspoons of gravy.
Repeat Step 1 until blood sugar is over 50.
2. If it is 50-75, give 2 teaspoons of food from this (low carb regular food) can. Recheck in 30 minutes.
3. If it is 75+, recheck in one hour.
Those aren't perfect directions, but they are simple & perhaps they would be "good enough" for your mom to understand and follow for the 2 hrs until she can reach you. You might need to modify them so that you feel they are safe and adequate for your needs.
You could even have a couple of cans of high carb and a couple of cans of low carb in 2 separate, obvious stacks on your kitchen counter. Label them with "blood sugar under 50" and "blood sugar over 50" or something like that.
You could also tell her "if in doubt, always give food." most of us overcarbed our cat the first time they went low. it's better to do that than to have her go too low. even if she gives high carb by accident, that's not going to hurt chi chi.