5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +2 149, +4 109, +5 128, +6 145, PMPS 347

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

I almost gave him his shot before looking at the meter. Stopped just in the knick of time to see a 93!!! What dose do I shoot this morning? I'm not shooting anything until I hear something. I'm now so worried about what numbers he had after I went to bed. I thought he was on the way back up, but I guess not.
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 93 NEED DOSING HELP NOW

Good morning Patty & Champ! That is a great way to start your day! Of course, I have no advice to give but your green is beautiful! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 93 NEED DOSING HELP NOW

this is looking fabulous- greens and blues last night and this am, and bump.
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 93 NEED DOSING HELP NOW

Not sure who's up this early but I'll tell you what they told me -
If you're going to be around: do not feed and test every 20 min. to 1/2 hour and when you catch the time the number is rising you can feed and shoot.
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 93 NEED DOSING HELP NOW

Wow. Champ seems to be responding to this dose very well. I'd delay to see if he is on his way up.
His dose is large enough that the shed will influence his next cycle even if you decided to give a lesser amount. (BCS "big chicken shot")

Can you delay?
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 93 NEED DOSING HELP NOW

I already fed him his breakfast. I put the food down in front of him when I test him in the mornings and then shoot while he's still eating. I didn't see the number until I was just getting ready to stick the needle in him and then thought, I didn't look at that number. Glad I did because I was going to increase his dose to 3.75u this morning.
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 93 NEED DOSING HELP NOW

Hahaha! Ok, I'm sure you agree... NO to the increase!

I would think the regular dose will be ok. The greens are beautiful but not too low, they are actually perfect. He may go lower but as long as you are home to monitor I think he will be fine. You are in control because you can feed him some HC food to get the numbers up if you need to.

These are the numbers you want to see. I know it is a surprise to see them at preshot. You can shoot a little less if you want but I'd love to see these pretty 'normal' numbers continue. They are healing numbers. It may be that this dose suddenly 'snapped' and he will start to get better and better numbers. I have my fingers crossed that this is what we are seeing.

Best of luck!
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 93 NEED DOSING HELP NOW

One other thing. The greens from last night were in the 90's through +8 so he probably didn't go much lower if you were worried. The 93 today may have been the 'double dip' that Lantus sometimes does toward the end of the cycle.

You are doing great!
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 93 NEED DOSING HELP NOW

I checked his BG at +0.5 and it was 98. I gave him his full 3.5u, but no increase of course. My daughter and I are here to monitor all day.
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 93 NEED DOSING HELP NOW

98 means he's surfing, it's basically the same number and he's not dropping any further. That's good.

Today it will be very interesting to see how he does. I hope it is a beautiful green/blue day for him (and you too!)
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 93 NEED DOSING HELP NOW

Beautiful numbers, Patty...nice hooting! This is the lowest you have ever shot, so please start out with a +1 and +2.
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 93 NEED DOSING HELP NOW

Gee.....is there an echo in here? Hang in there Patty. I'll be watching Champ today. :shock: Do you feel like this?
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 93 NEED DOSING HELP NOW

I'll definitely be checking every hour. I'm going to see if I can't train his left ear to bleed for me today cuz his right ear is a mess from all the testing over the last few nights. Poor little dude. Thank goodness I boiled up some chicken breast for him yesterday for poke treats!
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170 --WHAT??

Is Champ bouncing already? Is it normal to get this high this fast? I didn't give him anything other than his normal breakfast, though I did give him a couple little pieces of chicken breast when I double-tested him (because the 1st number was so low, I checked to make sure it was accurate).
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170 --WHAT??

Hi guys .. have to say I'm very impressed with your shooting this morning! Can't say for every cat out there, but sometimes mocha would start out nice and them zoom on up in an hour or two .. very confusing .. but it's still a good number, let's hope he can bring it down again .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170 --WHAT??

Patty, could the +1 just be a food spike? Just a thought. I hope you and Champ will have a good day. I'm going to ease up on the testing over here for a while. Catch you later. Lookin' good!
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170 --WHAT??

what? your daughter's letting you at the computer? good girl! ;-) last night 2 of the kids were home and everyone had a computer on their laps.

champ is full of surprises, isn't he?! i'll be watching today to see what he does. what a great start to the weekend. have a super friday!
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170 --WHAT??

If you look at the normal curve for Lantus, it's completely normal to have a higher +1. The insulin from the last dose is wearing off, and you usually have a food spike. The new dose has not kicked in yet. Please take a look at the New to the Group sticky.

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

You are gathering data on what happens in the early and late part of the cycle so you see what Champ normally does. As you shoot lower numbers, it will help you know what to expect. Take a look (and print out) the Data Ready sticky (particularly the second section) and Libby's post on Dealing with Low Preshots.
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170 --WHAT??



NICE 'HOOTIN!!!!! Look at you and look at Champ!!! I'm so excited....doesn't that green just get addictive????? Look how all your patience has paid off!!

I've had Gracie do this, too. Hard to say if it is a food spike or he's going up but paws crossed it's just a food spike!!!
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149

Champ has never been a food spike kind of guy before, but he's also never had such consistently low numbers before either so maybe he's just trying a few things on for size!! My DD has been of no help either last night or this morning. Guess she's still at that age where she thinks a bit more about herself than others!! She's been snoring away and I've been up last night and this morning testing and trying to work in between. Hopefully, I'll be able to sleep this afternoon.

Anyone have any idea when I should test next. Champ's being a real trooper with the testing, but his right ear is so bruised (his skin is so light you can see the bruising) and his left ear refuses to bleed for me. I'd like to give him a break for a couple hours if that's appropriate.
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149

I would get a +3...he's heading down. When the numbers are higher, you can test less. Right now, he's just starting to see lower numbers, and this is the beginning of onset so it pays to gather the data you need. Sorry, Champ!

I know how it is with the ears...I only use one ear with Tinkles, and I test a LOT. Do you have Neosporin with pain relief? Some people find that it helps a lot. I use regular neosporin....and make sure you apply pressure after you get the test to reduce bruising.
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149

Thanks for hanging with me, Laurie!! Yes, I've been using Neosporin...I coat it on between pokes and then wipe if off before testing. I use the ointment, mainly because that's what I had in the house, but it does seem to work like the vaseline to help the blood bead up. I also apply pressure to the ear for as long as he lets me which sometimes means hardly at all. Unless he's engrossed in eating, he's not real patient with me messing with his ears. Unfortunately, I can't let him eat every time I want to poke him! I'm going to try to poke higher on the ear and just leave the middle edge of it alone where it seems the most bruising is located. I'll make sure I get the +3, in about 10 minutes
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149

i go everywhere from the little double part up to the top edge - and not necessarily meaning to, but because i can't always tell where i'm aiming, i've sometimes hit inside the vein - meaning between the vein and the body instead of between the vein and the edge of the ear. lots of places for vampires. :lol:

it seems to make a huge difference on punkin if i can hold it long enough that the bleeding stops. he doesn't bruise at all anymore now that i insist on it.
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149

Tinkles is not always patient with me putting pressure on either. You can use the other edge of the ear too, I use both inside and outside edges.
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149

Morning Patty - I am so glad you got the help you needed this morning. I saw your question when I entered Mannie today - I just couldn't stick around long enough to help you if it needed more than 5 minutes as I had to leave to pick up my DGS. so sorry.... but I see that others did. It is one of the things I love about this board - always so many people willing to help.

Nice Shooting thins morning - what a great amps!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Looks like a wonderful cycle shaping up. Glad too that the pokes are better. Eventually is all gets better. Sometimes I think I can look at Mannie and say bleed and he will without the poke. :lol: :lol: not likely, but.... it does get better. I too only use one ear, the neosporin etc.

Good luck this morning - I'd keep monitoring this AM until he levels out, then a few afterwards. Enjoy - this is a great cycle!

:mrgreen: :-D :-D :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool:
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149

Great numbers! How are you holding Champ when you test?

Frenchie has developed very swift ears when it comes to testing, he'll flick them like crazy, so I've had to make compromises and find holding positions and distractions that work since the blood on the fingernail thing never quite worked for me.

We do the between the knees while kneeling and also do the lotus (legs crossed) with the cat in between. That works really well for kitty burrito.

I've also used itty bitty pieces of cat treats to keep him still while testing. He loves greenies (1 cal a piece) and they break easily into about 3 pieces each so i can usually use those to lure and keep him while testing and not destroy his blood sugar or diet. I also use pieces of dried chicken breast, again breaking into little pieces and putting them into circle or small train so he has so keep focused on them and not move much, but I can then work on the ears. I use that kind of bribery a lot on heavy test days. The treat is small, but it's still enough to keep his attention.

He also has a sick insane thing for Vaseline. He loves it (if we leave the jar out he sticks his face in), and we use it to keep the hairballs down, so some times I use that as a lure (smear a little on his paw, and bam, instant distraction while testing).

I also found lots of luck testing lower on the ear, close to that little fold. I found it bruised less and I was always able to get blood.

You guys are doing awesome today!!!! I'm excited to see where this goes!!!
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149, +3 120

Lovely cycle going! You can see he is dropping at a nice, steady pace so far. I would keep monitoring, as Michelle said.....he could see some very nice lower greens today.....gorgeous! :-D
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149, +3 120

Hi Michelle. I totally understand having to pick up the DGS!!! You've always been a great help to me so the times you aren't there, I always know there has to be a good reason...and DGS is definitely that :-D I had already decided to keep checking every hour until I see a rise. It'll be nice to see how this plays out. I certainly wasn't expecting something like this after the pinks and high yellows we've always seen. And I'm glad this is happening during the day on a Friday. Friday is the one day I have free time because I have all weekend to do my work. I just hope this whole thing isn't just a fluke!

Mococo...Hi there! I don't restrain Champ at all except to make him hunker down or lie down and then I get behind him. We don't have a "special place" where he goes for testing, though I wish I had started that from the beginning. I just firming hold his right ear with my left hand, poke, change ear to right hand, start scratching his head with my left hand and kissing the top of his head while my right hand massages the blood up, and voila. He never tries to get away, but he likes to fold his ear against his head so I just keep a firm grip on it at the bottom. He has flicked his ear after I got the blood all nice and beaded up and it looked like a crime scene on the floor, etc. CSI recruits could come in and practice analyzing blood spatter. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Laurie...I was noticing the same thing...such a nice gentle curve (so far) :-D
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149, +3 120, +4 109

:dizcat :dizcat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat :dizcat :dizcat How great that champ got GREENlast night and is almost back there today! You are doing such a great job Patty! Now the fun begins!

When i test Tess I do it any where between the vein and the edge, inner or outer. I hold the ear between thumb and forefinger and cup the rest of my hand around her head to hold it still. I don't use Neosporin a lot about once a week, but I add a drop of Vitamin-E oil to it.
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149, +3 120, +4 109, +5 1

I'm thinking I should be able to stop testing for a little bit...let Champ's ears alone for awhile and let him get some sleep!! I know I need to collect data so when is the next time I should test?
 
Re: Champ 5/20 AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149, +3 120, +4 109, +5 1

He's got a beautiful curve going...NICE JOB!! I know you are thrilled. He nadirs at +6 doesn't he? Sorry...should have looked at his SS but sometimes nadirs move around. Personally, I usually like to get two rising numbers before I take a break on testing just because sometimes they can turn around. Sorry, Champ......
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149, +3 120, +4 109, +5 1

i don't think you have to worry about him suddenly going hypo, but all that testing gives you such good information for another time. he hasn't started to rise yet, so it could be in the next couple of hours that he hits his lowest.
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149, +3 120, +4 109, +5 1

Until Wednesday, Champ's nadir was always around +4 or 5, but then changed to like +7. So you're right...I think I need to do a +6 just to see where it's headed. He's so tired, he's not even requiring a treat after the poke. He just wants me to rub my face all over the top of his head...it makes him purr soooo loud!!! Now...time for me to get something to eat. I'm completely starving!!
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149, +3 120, +4 109, +5 1

Tell him Gracie once had to have 25 pokes in a 24 hour period.....when I have her at a dose she really likes, she LOVES the 40s but cannot be trusted. Twice she's sunk down into the 20s on me.....So I am a testaholic. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149, +3 120, +4 109, +5 1

Very busy day for you guys! So happy for you that Champ is doing so well. BTW, I swear by the Neosporin with pain relief. I only wish Gus could actually tell me if it works or not :lol:
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +1 170, +2 149, +3 120, +4 109, +5 1

I only wish Gus could actually tell me if it works or not

When we've been doing alot of testing and are putting neosporin with pain relief on Gracie's ears after every test, she leans into it like aaaahhhhhhh. And we are very quick with the tests...barely have to touch her ear and she doesn't jerk. Also, I have used it on cuts and I was amazed at how quickly the pain left.

Patty...you asked the other day about Gracie being so young and being hard to regulate. I don't know if her being a female and young makes a difference. She is steroid induced; alot of the older males appear to be diabetic because (if they aren't acro) they have been fed dry food their whole lives. If you look back through Gracie's SS, she's had many many times in b2b awesome cycles. In April she was going great guns and earned four reductions in one week and was throwing me 20s and 30s. Then the last reduction stalled her out; we held the dose hoping she'd adjust to it...she didn't. So we added a drop because she'd done so well on the sk .75u before...held the dose 25 cycles....nothing. We just have to get back to her breakthrough and then we will bring her back down very slowly. As we were reducing so fast, I think if we had held the last dose (sk .75u) longer instead of taking her to a f .5u, we'd be in a very different place now.
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +2 149, +3 120, +4 109, +5 128, +6 1

crazy how you have to go up to bring them down, isn't it.

i did read somewhere that almost every diabetic cat is an indoor cat - probably they simply don't get enough exercise, then when you combine it with steroids and dry food . . . they're too vulnerable with the combo.

ya made me laugh with the comment in punkin's condo. now i'm gonna look at his ears and wonder if they're bigger than they should be, ;-) along with the parts i'm already analyzing - his tongue, forehead and feet. poor boy! :lol: i kinda think i already know the answer though, with the high dose that doesn't want to move . . . if he isn't acro i'll be surprised. actually perhaps you shoulda looked at his ears and thought "the better to get poked with, my dear!" :-D if i had to poke anya she's got tiny everything, so i guess it's good he's got big ears!

champ sure has had a super surf going along today! way to go boy!
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +2 149, +3 120, +4 109, +5 128, +6 1

Another 20 minutes and I get to see what Champ's PMPS is and I'm going to hold my breath!! Poor dude has been so tuckered out with me poking him all the time, he's been zonked out on my DD's bed for the past three hours. Ahhh...the life.
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +2 149, +3 120, +4 109, +5 128, +6 1

What a fantastic day for Champ! Patty, you did so well with the testing. I am always worrying about the ears, but someone observed once on this board that cats' ears can take a lot of abuse because of the ancestral history of always being in cat fights. Therefore the nerves in the ear have evolved to be less sensitive. I don't know if it's true, but it's nice to think so!!
Have a great evening,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +2 149, +3 120, +4 109, +5 128, +6 1

I think you may be right, Ella. Champ usually flicks his ears BEFORE I even poke him. I think he just doesn't want me interrupting his meal and/or nap time. :lol:
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +2 149, +3 120, +4 109, +5 128, +6 1

I hope Champ has a good night in store for you, Patty. You deserve it. Really nice numbers :-D
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +2 149, +4 109, +5 128, +6 145, PMPS

This PMPS is kinda funny!! I'm kinda looking forward to a more relaxing evening, but i would rather it have been on the 2nd floor. Champ didn't want to eat tonight and I didn't know if it was because he didn't want Wellness chicken again, I made it too soupy, I gave him too many pokey treats (though he's had hardly anything for six hours), or if he's just not feeling well. I sat on the floor with him and he ate some of the Wellness straight out of the can off my fingers so maybe it was just too soupy. He's laying around like he doesn't have the energy to lift his head. I sure hope it's just because he had a pokethon the last few days.
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +2 149, +4 109, +5 128, +6 145, PMPS

Nice day for Champ! I know what you mean about the PMPS, though...sometimes it's almost a relief when you can all take a break from the poke-a-thon.

Hopefully his not eating much thing will pass quickly. Have a great night, guys!!
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +2 149, +4 109, +5 128, +6 145, PMPS

Patty & Champ said:
He's laying around like he doesn't have the energy to lift his head. I sure hope it's just because he had a pokethon the last few days.
Yup, a pokethon would really cut into his napping time. No wonder he's tired. :lol:
I hope you do have a restful evening. Champ's PMPS is a bit of a bounce from today I think. When my kitty would get numbers like that, it would be 'save-a-strip' time and I'd test much less often that night. My kitty liked that too. ;-)
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +2 149, +4 109, +5 128, +6 145, PMPS

Exactly what I was thinking, CD. I thought I'd only test before bed. Champ just got out of his basket and flopped over my feet under my desk. Man, he is tuckered out!!
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +2 149, +4 109, +5 128, +6 145, PMPS

You did great today, Patty....beautiful string of blues! I think a before bed test and a good night's sleep is a wonderful idea! Hopefully Champ will clear the bounce quickly and get back to those blues, so take the opportunity to sleep.....
 
Re: 5/20 Champ AMPS 98, +2 149, +4 109, +5 128, +6 145, PMPS

Thanks Laurie!!! I couldn't have done it without you helping me with your advice and support. I so appreciate it!! You're the best :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top