5/20 Blackie pmps 78 +2.25 74 +3.5 55 +4 54 +4.5 53 +6.5 105

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
DH called me with the +3 52 (meter was not upside down :mrgreen: ). I don't think we've ever had these low numbers this early in the cycle. DH is going to test at +3.5 - should he feed MC? If so, what are the carbs in MC? FYI - He went down to 53 last night, but I didn't test between +6.5 and amps.

WCR: Blackie is feeling good - got good lap time last night. He told me last night that we was dropping so he got his nighttime food early.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14985
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie amps 95, +1.5 83 +3 52 Advise?

I would feed some LC and see if it get's Blackie surfing. Test in 20 - 30 min and if his numbers are dropping, I'd drizzle some gravy on top of the LC food.

I know that Jill's response to your question would be that what constitutes HC or MC depends on your cat. LC or even raw can raise her Alex's BG sufficiently that she's never used HC. It largely depends on how carb sensitive Blackie is and/or what part of the cycle the drop may occur and how much momentum there is behind the drop. We generally regard under 10% as LC and 18% or higher as HC. Everything in between is MC. Again, if Blackie is used to eating 4% LC food, 8% may be MC for him.

Given where Blackie started this morning, this isn't a big drop. I'm thinking that LC may do the trick.
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie amps 95, +1.5 83 +3 52 +3.5 48

Thanks, Sienne, but I saw your reply too late. I had DH give him 1 Tb of 11% carb food at the +3.5 48. From our low numbers last Friday, I didn't see much reaction from Blackie with 15% food, so maybe the 11% will keep him surfing. DH will check again at +4.
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie amps 95, +1.5 83 +3 52 +3.5 48

The 11% is fine. Safety first and if he bumps up a little higher than necessary, no worries. It's not going to send Blackie's numbers to the moon. It's a chance to see how he responds to the 11% and you'll know that for the future.
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie amps 95, +1.5 83 +3 52 +3.5 48

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
Yay Blackie! Looking GOOOOOOD!
dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie amps 95, +1.5 83 +3 52 +3.5 48 +4 49

DH fed another Tb of 11% at +4. I told him to check again in an hour since it looks like Blackie is surfing.

I think we get a dose decrease from this. 2nd time in the 40's in a week?? :-D
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie amps 95, +1.5 83 +3 52 +3.5 48 +4 49

Looks like a reduction to me.

Keep that surf going. If you can, I'd like to see the numbers a little higher so if there's a bobble, you've got room to drop a little.
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie amps 95 +1.5 83 +3 52 +3.5 48 +4 49 +5 69 +7 84

Wow, Blackie has been doing so awesome this week! Great job to DH for feeding and keeping Blackie surfing (and looking at the meter the correct way :razz: ). Congrats on the reduction; can't wait to see where it takes him!
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie amps 95...+4 49 +5 69 +7 84 +9.5 86 pmps 78

I think Blackie feels like a pin cushion today. And with that pmps, he's only going to get more pokes. I lowered the dose to 3.5 units - no fat.
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie amps 95...+4 49 +5 69 +7 84 +9.5 86 pmps 78

Blackie is having a great number day whoo hoo :mrgreen: yeah I think Do Lou felt like a pin cushion earlier too I am glad he is so good about testing :-D
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie +4 49 +5 69 +7 84 +9.5 86 pmps 78 +1 82

Me like lantus flatitude in this condo... or is that a lantus pancake we've been served by Blackie today! Flat is very good! ... am trying really hard to think who else is flat you can see the SS.... I'll have to think a little longer..... and I'll ETA when I remember... don't hold your breath though.

EAT - I can't remember - I wish SettleDown had a SS because I'm pretty sure he's a flat dude.

Also... may I dare ask why from 3.75fat to 3.5? Isn't that a bigger step than a 0.25U.... not judging, just trying to follow... I may have missed something,
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie +4 49 +5 69 +7 84 +9.5 86 pmps 78 +1 82

oh my ele, i am elated with blackie's progress. this is fantabulous! flip_cat dancing_cat :RAHCAT haha_smiley drinking24 party_cat after our time together in pzi (and i'm NOT putting pzi down) we really did'nt think this was possible did we?
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie +4 49 +5 69 +7 84 +9.5 86 pmps 78 +1 82

I'm a worrier, so I'm worrrying about these low numbers. When should I check Blackie's bgs again? +2 or can I wait and do +3?

Lori - thanks for posting. I didn't know what to expect, but Blackie is doing really well now. But I'm in uncharted territory for us, so I don't know what to think. I hope Tom is doing well.
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie +4 49 +5 69 +7 84 +9.5 86 pmps 78 +1 82 ???

yes i can see that...(the unchartered territory)
Tom is doing what he always does which is completly confound me.
If you ever want to explain lantus to me, like how you could shoot 3.5 into a +12 78 I'd love to know. that is so foreign to us pzi'ers
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie +4 49 +5 69 +7 84 +9.5 86 pmps 78 +1 82 ???

go Blackie. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

split the difference and test at +2.5? Remember that there's still momentum from the previous dose behind this cycle, even though you reduced the dose.
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie +4 49...+7 84 +9.5 86 pmps 78 +1 82 +2.25 74 ??

Blackie told me he was hungry so I tested before I gave him just under 1 Tb lc. I've cut back on his dinner meal so that I could feed these numbers more often without him gaining weight. I left the ?? in my subject line, because of my worrying and I'm hoping you'll keep an eye on us this evening.
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie +4 49...+7 84 +9.5 86 pmps 78 +1 82 +2.25 74 ??

You can always drizzle a little gravy on Blackie's food to keep the numbers up.
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie +4 49...+7 84 +9.5 86 pmps 78 +1 82 +2.25 74 ??

I can't do anything in terms of advice, but I can keep you company tonight. :smile: I will check back in a little bit and see how you guys are doing.
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie +4 49...+9.5 86 pmps 78 +1 82 +2.25 74 +3.5 55

Blackie ate about 1 Tb before +3 and then I fed a combo just over 1 Tb of MC (11%) & LC at the +3.5. Blackie is feeling ine. He was lethargic earlier in the day, but he's not now. I think I'll check again at +4.

Sarah, I would love the company. This wil be the 2nd late night in a row for me. Did that sound like a whine? Sorry.
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie pmps 78 +1 82 +2.25 74 +3.5 55 +4 54 Dose?

I don't know the protocol for this situation. If Blackie stays green tonight, can we have another dose decrease? These constant green numbers make me very nervous and we can't be here to test 24 hrs a day every day like we have been doing this week.

ETA: I only have a halo treat at +4, no food. I'll check again at +4.5.
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie pmps 78 +2.25 74 +3.5 55 +4 54 +4.5 53 Dose?

I fed just over 1 Tb lc at +4.5. I'm off to bed, but will set the alarm and check in about an hour.
 
Re: 5/20 Blackie pmps 78 +2.25 74 +3.5 55 +4 54 +4.5 53 Dose?

Ele, I don't know about whether you would take another reduction. I have heard it said that typically don't do 2 reductions so close together, maybe because shed is still at work that first cycle? However, I can't say whether or not it's true in your case.

I know it must be worrisome going back to work with him so low. Will DPS be able to test?
 
WOW Ele! Look at Blackie now :RAHCAT I wish I could tell you to go to 3.25 next, but I am not sure how Lantus works. ohmygod_smile I'm still trying to get my mind around the PMPS 78 with 3.50U, haha I guess Lantus is way different than Prozinc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top