5-20-17 Jones AMPS 124, +3 131, +7 113 PMPS 176, +3 88 - need to verify SLGS protocol.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
Previous

So, based upon previous condos - Jones pred has been doubled to 2.5 mg a day (1.25mg BID) and I upped his dose to 3-5 drops from 1-2 drops. Which although small is basically doubling his insulin dose. I didn't plan it that way just thought I need to go up to get ahead of the pred affect and that was kind of that last dose I went to that was bigger than the F1 drop I was doing at night/1 drop during the day. So yes, I know I have been moving doses a little too quickly but I would like to settle on the 0.1 unit less 6 drops for the next week. Does this dose sound ok? Do a curve next weekend and see where Jones is at with any other data I can gather. As long as he maintains his nadir which seems about the 113 to 130 mark so far. His curve looks weird with the pred going in. I would delay giving the pred but that would only work at night during the week and on the weekend. Does this sound like a good plan? I know this is a little different from the usual scenario so I am not sure if I should push the dose up anymore at this point.

I think he is doing better on this pred dose. He is more interested in food and seems to be a bit more comfortable. I did stop the metranidozale today as I haven't seen any nasty poop today and the one yesterday was a half/half mix. I think the Alligator bite him.


After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:
Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top