5/2 Tuxie AMPS 481 +2-365 +5.5-142 +7-211 +10-409 Numbers are really out of usual

Status
Not open for further replies.
this-way-down-100x100.gif


follow me, tuxie, I knows the way. Shadow
 
I don't think this is bouncing, it's just his normal cycle. He's down to blues in mid-cycle and then back up to pink/red numbers most cycles by the next shot time - He's just not to the right dose yet.

Taking a look at the protocol (page 3 for AT #s) I think Tuxie would fall in this part:
If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is > 200mg/dL (11 mmol/L) Increase every 5-7 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin
He's having regular nadirs in the 100's, but his peak is over 200. She defines low/high dose as being under/over 3u, so this is saying to increase by 0.5u because Tuxie's dose is over 3u. We suggest that over 5u - but either way it would by an increase of 0.5u after 5-7 days looking like he is right now.
 
I don't think this is bouncing, it's just his normal cycle. He's down to blues in mid-cycle and then back up to pink/red numbers most cycles by the next shot time - He's just not to the right dose yet.

Taking a look at the protocol (page 3 for AT #s) I think Tuxie would fall in this part:
If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is > 200mg/dL (11 mmol/L) Increase every 5-7 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin
He's having regular nadirs in the 100's, but his peak is over 200. She defines low/high dose as being under/over 3u, so this is saying to increase by 0.5u because Tuxie's dose is over 3u. We suggest that over 5u - but either way it would by an increase of 0.5u after 5-7 days looking like he is right now.


Thanks for the clarification Julie. I will hold this dose another 3 cycles..that will make it 5 days of the new dose then increase by .25 units to start. That will take it to 6 units which is nice and easy to measure. If that doesn't work better then I will start increasing by 1/2 units.
 
Tuxie's later afternoon numbers are totally out of whack for his usual. He barely hit the blues then started going up. Usually if he hits blues he will surf there for 4-7 hours. This is not at all like his usual pattern. I am REALLY thinking this might be a bounce of some sort????
 
I don't think this is bouncing, it's just his normal cycle. He's down to blues in mid-cycle and then back up to pink/red numbers most cycles by the next shot time - He's just not to the right dose yet.
I agree with Julie. He's not getting enough insulin yet and he won't flatten out more until he does. Until then, expect the unexpected. I used to drive myself crazy trying to analyze the why of things, now I try to just observe. Cats, and especially FD cats, are not predictable.
 
I agree with Julie. He's not getting enough insulin yet and he won't flatten out more until he does. Until then, expect the unexpected. I used to drive myself crazy trying to analyze the why of things, now I try to just observe. Cats, and especially FD cats, are not predictable.

Thanks for your additional comment. I guess I try to figure out the "reasoning" for what is happening when there really is no explanation. I just hate seeing him going back into the higher numbers so quickly, but I will see what happens in the next day and then do the next increase :)


Also his urine output and urine glucose has risen the last 2 days.
 
Last edited:
I guess I try to figure out the "reasoning" for what is happening when there really is no explanation.

I think most of us do that - and it can definitely make you a bit crazy. It helped me when I finally got it that insulin is a hormone - it's not the same as taking other meds. 1 + 1 doesn't always = 2 with hormones. I thought if I controlled all of the variables, fed the same food, same quantity, same timing, same insulin dose that would lead to a controlled cat.

but even if you have everything else completely controlled, we also know that insulin absorption can vary by as much as 50% from one shot to the next. That blows the whole plan out of the water, y'know?! Sometimes they are just higher because they are higher.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top