5/2 Snickers - PMPS 236 - still trying to find the right dose

SingsToCats

Member Since 2020
We've mostly gotten Snickers switched from dry to wet food. It's made a huge difference in his numbers. I don't even know what to do half the time. I'm skipping doses, I'm giving token doses - it's very stressful.

I'm also getting push back from my parents, they think I'm testing his glucose too often. I'm 56 and they treat me like I'm 5. :confused:

We also had trouble getting blood out of his poor ears. I finally tried a suggestion I read on here somewhere, I filled a pill bottle with warm water and warmed his ear. That seems to help.

Despite what my parents think, I really haven't been testing him enough. There were times when I stuck him 3 times and didn't get any blood. I would just give up because it was upsetting him so much. I'm hoping to do better now.
 
We all get unwanted feedback from well meaning people who don’t really know much about FD so I would just ignore it!

I’m looking at your SS and I’m seeing a few things. You have definitely come down in dose since you have swapped over to the low carb food.
Question...are you using an alphatrak meter or a ReliOn meter?. The SS says alphatrak and the Signature says ReliOn.
You need to correct that because that is important.

I would like to see you getting a test in every night if you can. Cats often drop lower at night.
Try getting a before bed test done and if that is lower than the preshot than you might need to get up later to Check the BG is not dropping lower.
I suspect Snickers is dropping lower some nights and you are unaware of it.
Then he is bouncing.

Also you are chopping and changing with the dose. Lantus likes consistency and if you chop and change you will get wonky numbers.
In the last 4 cycles you have given 4 different doses.
Have you read the SLGS method?
If you follow that you will do better. You hold the dose for 7 days unless you drop below 90.
If you get a number you think is too low to shoot, stall, don’t feed, Post and ask for help and test again in 20 minutes.

I know it’s hard in the beginning but following a method and posting every day for help and feedback is the best way you will have success
Keep asking questions
 
Hi. Nice to see you started a condo. Bron has given you good advice. I don’t think you are testing enough. It would be good since you are following SLGS if you would do a weekly 12 hour curve. Like Bron said , many cats drop lower at night. Max sure did! So a before bed test might give you some clues about your cat. Also if you see a drop at +2 or 3 an active cycle is likely. Remember Lantus likes consistency so you want a dose you can shot every 12 hours.
 
When I started, Ella suggested the following and it works great for Ti-Mousse. His ears were frozen hard with parts missing...when I got him:(, so always hard to bleed and test; I tried the pill bottle but the washcloth worked even better for him! It might help you for Snickers!

- use a damp washcloth, put it into a microwavable baggie and microwave for about 15 seconds; test on your wrist, then fold the washcloth around his ear and massage a little to warm it.
- as blood flows from the tip of the ear down, you put a little pressure below where you plan to test;
- I use a little "Neosporin AB with pain relief" after each test!

As Bron said, consistent dosing, testing and following your SLGS method will help Snickers getting good numbers!
All this is very demanding at the beginning, but the more you'll go the easier it will get!

GREAT for switching from dry to wet food!! Keep posting !!
 
Thanks for all the great advice!

Bron - I'm using a Relion meter, I'll fix that on the spreadsheet.

I think you are right, I think he drops lower at night. I'll try to test him more. I was doing better with his dosing, but lately I've been panicking and skipping/reducing doses. Things changed really fast when we weaned him off dry food, and I wasn't ready for it.

Elise - I'll try to start doing a before bed test. My parents are asleep then, that will make it easier.

Lyane - It's wonderful that you helped Ti-Mousse, had you ever seen him before he came to your door?

I'll have to try the damp washcloth. He seems confused when I use the pill bottle.
 
First time I saw him was in spring, he was running on 3 legs; I thought he was crippled! Then I saw his ears and realized he probably had spent all winter outside and it can get very cold here (-40)! I opened the door, he ran in and never left! His 4 legs are OK now!

Take time to get familiar with the SLGS method and don't forget to be consistent with dosing, otherwise you'll have numbers all over the place!
 
I'm so glad he ran inside when you opened the door!

I tried the damp washcloth today and it worked! There was still one time that we had to stick him twice, but the other times went really well. Thanks for that tip!
 
Back
Top