5/2 RuarachEarned reduction today AMPS 228; +3.1 190; +4.3 106; +5.3 86; +6.3 78;

LauraZZ

Member Since 2023
Ruarach surprised me. He just had an 86 at +5.33 since AM dose.
So according to the SLGS guidelines: "If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit". His last reduction was 6 days ago (from 1.25U to 1U).

So I will reduce the dose tonight from 1.0U to 0.75U. And continue to watch his BG the rest of today.

Previous thread from 4/27. SS is up-to-date; didn't post because nothing concerning was happening
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-27-ruarach-amps-185-1-150-3-120-5-130-6-2-141.276924/

The reason why he surprised me with this low reading is because I gave him Fancy Feast Medley Tuna Primavera last night and this morning. I expected his BG readings to be on the high side as a result of the higher carb food. He got the FF because he wasn't eating much yesterday and I was concerned about constipation, since I hadn't seen much poop for a few days. Also gave him some lactulose, a which I hadn't given him for a while, and more miralax (mixed in with FF). Also got his normal doses of cisapride He pooped a couple of hours ago (somewhat liquidy, due to me upping the miralax and adding in the lactulose. (He had had a major constipation crisis in mid-March, which is why this was really concerning to me.

Will get him back on his normal lower-carb foods; will probably have to wean him off the FF again.
 
Back
Top