5/2 punkin amps 169 +3/216 +6/237 pmps 228 +3/212

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday's condo

punkin seems well, happy, purry, eating . . . last day of clindamycin (day 10) and i'm going to get him back in to get checked and see how the progress is.

also going with my feline rescue friend to her cat's visit with yet another new vet.

happy monday everyone!
 
Re: 5/2 punkin amps 169

Good morning Julie,
Glad to hear Punkin is being a happy kitty this morning. That's always a good thing! :-D .
I hope the check up goes very very well.
Boy i tell you at the rate all of us are going through Vets in order to find one that's as informed as we are and are actually willing to have open discussion with us rather than telling us "this is how it's going to be", I'm afraid there won't be many choices left.
I wish your friend good luck with the new vet..
Did you have a good time yesterday?
Have a good day!
Squirrel & Tommy ;-)
 
Re: 5/2 punkin amps 169

Hi guys! What a nice amps to Punkin, a great way to start the day. YAY!

I hope all is well with punkin, and that the recheck goes well. Good luck with your friends visit to another new vet - it is nice you will go with her. I have to tend to agree with what Bev wrote about finding a vet that is willing to have an open discussion. I got lucky - mine has given me the green light to dose Mannie as I deem necessary, let's me call the shots on that - she handles everything else. So far she's been great, Good luck to your friend!
 
Re: 5/2 punkin amps 169 +3/216 +6/237 dose?

i'm puzzled what's going on with punkin's numbers . . . should i go back up .25? thoughts on why his +6 was a steady climb upward today instead of a low point?

i would blame contraband because last night when we got home there was the package of pill pockets on the floor, ripped open, except that it had to be Anya that did it. little monkey. punkin doesn't like them, so i can't believe he would've eaten any, plus these are the duck & pea anyway.

the other thing i'm wondering, we're on the last day of clindamycin today. vet recheck in 1.5 hrs to see how the gum looks. don't know if that has anything to do with it, but it just seems strange he's going up like this.

assuming the vet doesn't find anything in particular today, should i increase his dose tonight? He's had 9 cycles at this dose. maybe I slid past that 7.25 too quickly - hitting 43 was what prompted me to go ahead and drop it more, but perhaps it was too soon.
 
Re: 5/2 punkin amps 169 +3/216 +6/237 dose?

i wouldn't increase the dose just yet. punkin was cruising the 50s and 60s less than 60 hours ago. it can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear. if the bounce happens to clear out at the same time you've increased the dose you could have a hard time bring the numbers up. let's see what happens tonight at this dose. you can always increase in the morning...
 
Re: 5/2 punkin amps 169 +3/216 +6/237 dose?

Julie, I can't help you with that one, but i know the girls will be by to lend a hand. I think that you're doing a wonderful job with Punkin too..
I saw your post in my condo and i was wondering about the root thing. I remember you saying that if you had to do it again you would have the x-rays done. Do you no longer feel that way? I'm not sure i want to go back to this vet just for the way he was telling me it seemed everything i was doing was the wrong way. I think i might pose the question out there how many of us have had x-rays done pryor to a dental..by all accounts it seems to be very important. I don't know @-)
Good luck with the check up.
Kisses to Punkin for better numbers tonight.
Take care Julie,
Squirrel & Tommy ;-)
 
Re: 5/2 punkin amps 169 +3/216 +6/237 thanks jill!

Hey !! Looking like this dose is doing good for Punkin!! :mrgreen:
SS looks like much green & blue & we are happy for you!
I so know about the vet thing!! Every time I get a new good vet(mostly women)
THEY GET PREGNANT and take pregnancy leave!!!! I'm on my 3rd like this!!
OMG!
Hope you come up with a really good one--Go Punkin GO!
Hugs from Us!! :-D
 
Re: 5/2 punkin amps 169 +3/216 +6/237 thanks jill!

Cool, I knew some one would come to the rescue.
Julie i don't think you're being evasive at all, I was just wondering what changed your mind. I wish i was as confident as you. Do you think that maybe you could point in the direction to some of the things you read about so i could better understand. I would like that!
Thank you,
Squirrel
 
Re: 5/2 punkin amps 169 +3/216 +6/237 vet visit

hahaha, squirrel i can try, but i googled things like "roots remaining cats" things like that and i asked that second opinion vet that i took him to last week.

Just got back from the regular vet - punkin's mouth is looking really good. he said the upper tooth is probably irritating the spot a little, but it should callus up fairly soon now that it's not inflamed. he gave him one more round of clindamycin and fortiflora - said he wanted to make sure nothing is left to get into the bone.

AND - I told him about punkin's under 100 numbers (ok, i minimized it by saying he was just below 100, not 50, which would've probably brought comments i didn't want to hear) and he asked me what i was going to do about his dose. As i said in Tommy's condo, it's possible to teach a vet. I told him that when punkin was low i was testing him every hour to keep an eye on him. i told him i'd reduced his dose twice and he seemed ok with it. he's accepting that i'm going to do what i'm going to do and he's just going with it.

the funny thing is that when i took punkin for the second opinion last week, that vet told me he had sutures left in. today i asked the vet about it and he said he didn't put in sutures. :? not sure what last week's consult vet saw. isn't that odd?
 
Re: 5/2 punkin amps 169 +3/216 +6/237 vet visit

Hi Julie, The news sounds mostly good, especially about Punkin's teeth and gums. I hope they will heal completely now. Weird about the vets and the sutures. Maybe they were the kind that dissolve after a while (the sutures, that is, not the vets).

Have a fine evening,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/2 punkin amps 169 +3/216 +6/237 vet visit

Hi Julie, The news sounds mostly good, especially about Punkin's teeth and gums. I hope they will heal completely now. Weird about the vets and the sutures. Maybe they were the kind that dissolve after a while (the sutures, that is, not the vets).

Have a fine evening,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/2 punkin amps 169 +3/216 +6/237 vet visit

My confidence level in vets has gone way down since Gus's dx. I don't get it. I want to say,"There's no shame in admitting you don't know everything." But that would get me shown to the door, I'll bet. It's a smart vet who gives the caretaker credit for really knowing the client. Oh well, we've always got each other!
 
Re: 5/2 punkin amps 169 +3/216 +6/237 vet visit

my feral cat rescue friend hit the nail on the head - she said what we're looking for is a vet that wants to partner with us, and acknowledges that we know our own cats best. i want to be trusted and respected for the knowledge and experience that i do have. i'm not a vet, but i do know my own cat and i am able to be educated (ie, this site.)
 
Re: 5/2 punkin amps 169 +3/216 +6/237 vet visit

I'm so glad to hear Punkin is finally healing up. Yeah, that suture inconsistency is odd!!
 
Re: 5/2 punkin amps 169 +3/216 +6/237 vet visit

julie1220 said:
my feral cat rescue friend hit the nail on the head - she said what we're looking for is a vet that wants to partner with us, and acknowledges that we know our own cats best. i want to be trusted and respected for the knowledge and experience that i do have. i'm not a vet, but i do know my own cat and i am able to be educated (ie, this site.)


that is my vet to a T and I know how completely lucky I am!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top