? 5/2 Post DKA Millie PMPS 693 (AT)!!!!! BIGGEST Bounce yet.....anything to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylvia & Millie

Member Since 2017
Staying true to form post DKA Millie had her biggest bounce yet, bg 693!!! We increased her Lantus by .25 yesterday morning and this evening she is the highest she has ever gone. I just tested her urine for ketones and they were negative. She ate well and is drinking. She is on the bed with me purring. I'm a bit worried because I take sleep meds and may not be able to watch her through the night. I will test before bed (it's now 9:00 pm); should I test at +2 or +3?

Besides making sure she is eating, drinking and I'm eating for ketones, is there anything else I should be doing? I know she's been high before but never this high so I'm worried.

Also I changed to the TR protocol.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-at-dosing-help-increase.177256/#post-1953186
 
Hi Sylvia. Millie hit a blue today and that was her lowest number in a while and that could have caused a bounce. Glad that you got a negative ketone test in. Just get a test before you go to bed to see what is happening. Looks like a big bounce.
 
Hi Sylvia. Millie hit a blue today and that was her lowest number in a while and that could have caused a bounce. Glad that you got a negative ketone test in. Just get a test before you go to bed to see what is happening. Looks like a big bounce.
Hi, Just checked ketones again and will definitely do a bg before bed.
 
My sprocket was past dka, & repeat ketones. One thing that has also helped us with ketones is sub q fluids.
I will let someone else tell you if that is option for your kitty. I am a beginner and just adding the little info I have. I hope your kitty comes down to better bgs soon.
Hugs!
 
Hi Sylvia.

I agree that ugly PMPS is a bounce, so probably not a concern, but you are wise to be diligent in your ketone testing, anyway. Hopefully Millie will come back down, but not too fast, and not too - we don't want another bounce, please Millie!

I see you are having trouble testing her. Have you tried wrapping her in a towel? My Harvey was almost impossible to pill, and once he became diabetic, to test, so I made a purrito out of him and that helped. Then I bought a cat sack, and to my amazement, once he was in it, he calmed down completely and I could do pretty much anything I wanted to.
 
Wow, those sugars are all over the place. Is she pretty skinny after the DKA? What are you currently feeding? Sometimes with cats that swing so much it can be because they are too thin and their liver isn't able to handle the insulin, so they are very very high pre-insulin and they drop like rocks when you give the insulin. This can make it really hard to regulate, as they really do need more insulin to even out. It can help once they gain some weight. Adding a medium carb food (~10%) and increasing calories (and insulin as appropriate) can help gain the weight back. Also tracking the weight on the spreadsheet will help you prevent DKA in the future.
 
Hi Sylvia.

I agree that ugly PMPS is a bounce, so probably not a concern, but you are wise to be diligent in your ketone testing, anyway. Hopefully Millie will come back down, but not too fast, and not too - we don't want another bounce, please Millie!

I see you are having trouble testing her. Have you tried wrapping her in a towel? My Harvey was almost impossible to pill, and once he became diabetic, to test, so I made a purrito out of him and that helped. Then I bought a cat sack, and to my amazement, once he was in it, he calmed down completely and I could do pretty much anything I wanted to.
Yes, we wrap her in a towel. She hates being held, wiggles and takes off. I'll look into a cat sack. Thanks!
 
Wow, those sugars are all over the place. Is she pretty skinny after the DKA? What are you currently feeding? Sometimes with cats that swing so much it can be because they are too thin and their liver isn't able to handle the insulin, so they are very very high pre-insulin and they drop like rocks when you give the insulin. This can make it really hard to regulate, as they really do need more insulin to even out. It can help once they gain some weight. Adding a medium carb food (~10%) and increasing calories (and insulin as appropriate) can help gain the weight back. Also tracking the weight on the spreadsheet will help you prevent DKA in the future.
She did lose lots of weight with the two episodes of DKA; she became skin and bone. She was able to put the majority of it back on after someone made your same suggestion of a medium card food. I took her off because I wasn't sure if it was influencing her BG. I didn't know about the thinness, she tends to be naturally slim even though she eats a lot. I need to purchase a scale so I can weigh her. Thanks for the info!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top