5/2 Oswald amps 353, now reading HI! Advise please!

Kd and Oswald

Member Since 2020
Oswald got his first HI reading today. Today is his curve day to see about upping his dose to 2units. Can anyone give me advice on the HI reading as well as dosing advice?

Oswald eats about 1/4 can of friskies with a few lil bits of dry dr elseys(I got that to incorporate bc he started becoming uninterested in just the friskies) he gets that amount of food every 4 hrs. There’s no other food he could have gotten to to make his BG go up as his sister eats the same amount/diet.

every curve day seems to have an extreme though and I’m not sure why.
 
Did you retest that "Hi"? Seems out of place just two hours after that 288, unless he got into something really high carb.

Just some general comments - it's a good idea, when you can, to try to get a test before going to bed. Many cats go lower at night and we determine how to change the dose based on those lows. Otherwise, it does look like he needs an increase.

For continuity: here is the link to your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/i-missed-a-shot-also-dosing-advice-please.228736/
 
Did you retest that "Hi"? Seems out of place just two hours after that 288, unless he got into something really high carb.

Just some general comments - it's a good idea, when you can, to try to get a test before going to bed. Many cats go lower at night and we determine how to change the dose based on those lows. Otherwise, it does look like he needs an increase.

For continuity: here is the link to your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/i-missed-a-shot-also-dosing-advice-please.228736/
Oh yes I forgot to mention I tested him 3 times and they all were HI. I don’t know what he could have potentially gotten into...
 
Did you retest that "Hi"? Seems out of place just two hours after that 288, unless he got into something really high carb.

Just some general comments - it's a good idea, when you can, to try to get a test before going to bed. Many cats go lower at night and we determine how to change the dose based on those lows. Otherwise, it does look like he needs an increase.

For continuity: here is the link to your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/i-missed-a-shot-also-dosing-advice-please.228736/
And yes for a while there I was trying to fill in the spreadsheet here n there at all hours but was told I need to do a curve every week for his dosing so I laid off on his ears for a couple days knowing I was going to poke him so much today. I think I’ll go back to my normal testing routine
 
Definitely looks as if Oswald could use some more insulin to help stabilize him...and bring those numbers down. Move up to 2 u tonight.

Try not to get to excited about numbers toward the end of the cycles or the beginning - I often tell people that the numbers that are more important are mid-cycle. AM and PM readings are typically some of the worst of the day.

Are you unable to get any mid-cycle readings on other days of the week? It would be really good to see how low he's going typically during the middle of the day.

Also, as for a bit of housekeeping; if you could please add the date and your kitties name to the title? It would be very helpful in keeping track of this post - as it may carry into tomorrow and then kinda gets lost as to what happened and to whom...like this:

5/2 Oswald AMPS 353 - now reading HIGH! Advice please....that kind of thing will help others - thanks!

P.S. You may want to check out some of the other kitties SS's - like Walter. He just loves to throw a HI out on his mama every now and then...

You can also look at other SS's to see how often a lot of us are testing...and I've never really done a 'curve' either...I just test fairly regularly.
 
Definitely looks as if Oswald could use some more insulin to help stabilize him...and bring those numbers down. Move up to 2 u tonight.

Try not to get to excited about numbers toward the end of the cycles or the beginning - I often tell people that the numbers that are more important are mid-cycle. AM and PM readings are typically some of the worst of the day.

Are you unable to get any mid-cycle readings on other days of the week? It would be really good to see how low he's going typically during the middle of the day.

Also, as for a bit of housekeeping; if you could please add the date and your kitties name to the title? It would be very helpful in keeping track of this post - as it may carry into tomorrow and then kinda gets lost as to what happened and to whom...like this:

5/2 Oswald AMPS 353 - now reading HIGH! Advice please....that kind of thing will help others - thanks!
Thank you for the advice, I never know what to put in the title!
 
Definitely looks as if Oswald could use some more insulin to help stabilize him...and bring those numbers down. Move up to 2 u tonight.

Try not to get to excited about numbers toward the end of the cycles or the beginning - I often tell people that the numbers that are more important are mid-cycle. AM and PM readings are typically some of the worst of the day.

Are you unable to get any mid-cycle readings on other days of the week? It would be really good to see how low he's going typically during the middle of the day.

Also, as for a bit of housekeeping; if you could please add the date and your kitties name to the title? It would be very helpful in keeping track of this post - as it may carry into tomorrow and then kinda gets lost as to what happened and to whom...like this:

5/2 Oswald AMPS 353 - now reading HIGH! Advice please....that kind of thing will help others - thanks!

P.S. You may want to check out some of the other kitties SS's - like Walter. He just loves to throw a HI out on his mama every now and then...

You can also look at other SS's to see how often a lot of us are testing...and I've never really done a 'curve' either...I just test fairly regularly.
This is tough bc I ask for advice and some people give me advice that I then follow and then when I need advice again, discover I should have been doing something different or more/less. I’m just going to go back to my original testing routine bc I was sporadically testing to get a good idea what’s going on when and then was told I should do a curve every week to determine dosing and didnt want to poke his ears so often! But you’re right, the way i was doing it before seemed to give me a better idea bc curve day always seems to be an extreme day in his numbers one way or another
 
This is tough bc I ask for advice and some people give me advice that I then follow and then when I need advice again, discover I should have been doing something different or more/less. I’m just going to go back to my original testing routine bc I was sporadically testing to get a good idea what’s going on when and then was told I should do a curve every week to determine dosing and didnt want to poke his ears so often! But you’re right, the way i was doing it before seemed to give me a better idea bc curve day always seems to be an extreme day in his numbers one way or another

I understand...what you can observe in a 'forum' is that you'll get a lot of opinions about how the commenter may be working with their own cat, from their own experience what has worked best for them...so what you'll want to do is figure out what works best for you and your Oswald. It takes a little time to figure it all out and there's a pretty steep learning curve - in my opinion - for all of this.

I think one thing you can do is keep reading and re-reading the stickies at the top of this forum. Select the topics and paragraphs that seem to fit your situation the best - for instance, a lot of people really aren't home and able to test during the middle of the day. However, ideally IF you are at home it's best to try to grab a test every couple of hours IF you observe that Oswald has dropping numbers...if they're not, then collecting the data isn't going to hurt anything and you can soon learn very quickly what part of the day Oswald seems to his his lowest numbers. If he's not seeing numbers in the mid-to low blues or even some greens, it's time to start counting those cycles and planning for an increase.

On the other hand, when Oswald is hitting those greens, you'll want to test often to make sure he doesn't go too low - and possibly start planning/watching for that reduction. It's a real dance sometimes, up/down, up/down...and some kitties, like @Sarah and Blaze - well Blaze used to love to go shark hunting (low) at night!

I also think the more you test, the more kitties don't seem to mind - at least that's how it's been for Luci. She doesn't seem to mind (well that's not how we started, it was a real wrestling match in the beginning)...but now the tests are associated with a treat and some loving/petting. She thinks she's the Queen and I'm just doing what I do in service of The Queen....it's just part of the routine and only takes a couple of minutes of her busy day to comply.

We're here to help...please keep asking questions, read the stickies and keep testing so you can get the numbers and make good decisions about Oswald's journey to wellness.

One question for you - is there a reason you're not following the TR dosing method? Dry food? Can't test regularly due to work, etc.?
 
Getting tests here and there is always a good idea. SLGS suggests also doing at least one curve on a dose, to try and get a good idea of how low he's going, and his patterns. Unfortunately, cats often choose curve days to bounce, :rolleyes:, hence the spot checks here and there as well.
 
I understand...what you can observe in a 'forum' is that you'll get a lot of opinions about how the commenter may be working with their own cat, from their own experience what has worked best for them...so what you'll want to do is figure out what works best for you and your Oswald. It takes a little time to figure it all out and there's a pretty steep learning curve - in my opinion - for all of this.

I think one thing you can do is keep reading and re-reading the stickies at the top of this forum. Select the topics and paragraphs that seem to fit your situation the best - for instance, a lot of people really aren't home and able to test during the middle of the day. However, ideally IF you are at home it's best to try to grab a test every couple of hours IF you observe that Oswald has dropping numbers...if they're not, then collecting the data isn't going to hurt anything and you can soon learn very quickly what part of the day Oswald seems to his his lowest numbers. If he's not seeing numbers in the mid-to low blues or even some greens, it's time to start counting those cycles and planning for an increase.

On the other hand, when Oswald is hitting those greens, you'll want to test often to make sure he doesn't go too low - and possibly start planning/watching for that reduction. It's a real dance sometimes, up/down, up/down...and some kitties, like @Sarah and Blaze - well Blaze used to love to go shark hunting (low) at night!

I also think the more you test, the more kitties don't seem to mind - at least that's how it's been for Luci. She doesn't seem to mind (well that's not how we started, it was a real wrestling match in the beginning)...but now the tests are associated with a treat and some loving/petting. She thinks she's the Queen and I'm just doing what I do in service of The Queen....it's just part of the routine and only takes a couple of minutes of her busy day to comply.

We're here to help...please keep asking questions, read the stickies and keep testing so you can get the numbers and make good decisions about Oswald's journey to wellness.

One question for you - is there a reason you're not following the TR dosing method? Dry food? Can't test regularly due to work, etc.?
That’s all great advice and very comforting! I am jobless right now so I can normally test whenever unless I’m away for the day and the original reason I was doing SLGS was bc it seemed the safest route as a newbie and also his sister was eating dry food and didn’t wanna chance him getting to it. I’ve since started feeding them both the same diet of 1/4 can friskies every 4 hrs but then they both decided that wasn’t for them in this last week. I bought some dr elseys protein dry to have on hand and this week have been mixing 1/16cup in with friskies to get them to eat it. They both have automatic feeders for the in between shot meals. Tomorrow I’m going to buy some fancy feast and see if they go for that and if so I’m free and clear to do the TR but with the way they(more specifically Oswald) has been eating, it’s hard to keep it consistent Bc I’ve been trying to see what he’ll be all set and ok with. I think he’s just really confused and I don’t want to just give his sister the dry food And do TR with him bc some days when I am away, he can still get at her food.
 
I understand...what you can observe in a 'forum' is that you'll get a lot of opinions about how the commenter may be working with their own cat, from their own experience what has worked best for them...so what you'll want to do is figure out what works best for you and your Oswald. It takes a little time to figure it all out and there's a pretty steep learning curve - in my opinion - for all of this.

I think one thing you can do is keep reading and re-reading the stickies at the top of this forum. Select the topics and paragraphs that seem to fit your situation the best - for instance, a lot of people really aren't home and able to test during the middle of the day. However, ideally IF you are at home it's best to try to grab a test every couple of hours IF you observe that Oswald has dropping numbers...if they're not, then collecting the data isn't going to hurt anything and you can soon learn very quickly what part of the day Oswald seems to his his lowest numbers. If he's not seeing numbers in the mid-to low blues or even some greens, it's time to start counting those cycles and planning for an increase.

On the other hand, when Oswald is hitting those greens, you'll want to test often to make sure he doesn't go too low - and possibly start planning/watching for that reduction. It's a real dance sometimes, up/down, up/down...and some kitties, like @Sarah and Blaze - well Blaze used to love to go shark hunting (low) at night!

I also think the more you test, the more kitties don't seem to mind - at least that's how it's been for Luci. She doesn't seem to mind (well that's not how we started, it was a real wrestling match in the beginning)...but now the tests are associated with a treat and some loving/petting. She thinks she's the Queen and I'm just doing what I do in service of The Queen....it's just part of the routine and only takes a couple of minutes of her busy day to comply.

We're here to help...please keep asking questions, read the stickies and keep testing so you can get the numbers and make good decisions about Oswald's journey to wellness.

One question for you - is there a reason you're not following the TR dosing method? Dry food? Can't test regularly due to work, etc.?
Oh and also, Oswald doesn’t mind the ear prick at all, he very willingly jumps on the couch to be tested Even without treats! it’s just his poor ears get so marked up when I do curves I feel so bad. I probably shouldn’t let my mom emotions get in the way for testing often outside of curve day.
 
Getting tests here and there is always a good idea. SLGS suggests also doing at least one curve on a dose, to try and get a good idea of how low he's going, and his patterns. Unfortunately, cats often choose curve days to bounce, :rolleyes:, hence the spot checks here and there as well.
Yes it’s freaking me out that curve day is more often than not crazy and it confuses me. I’m going to get back to my routine of testing sporadically to get an idea what his BG does at different points. I’ll do a test now and one before bed and then I think I’ll leave him alone until AMPS
 
Back
Top