5/2 Oliver amps 272 +2~373 +3~367 Shed question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Very Active Member
Yesterday’s Condo for Oliver

Oliver started the day with a good number and a better appetite.
With each day, he is becoming more alert and this morning, even his pupils were no longer just slim vertical slits; you could actually see the black and also some color to the iris. Before, he mostly looked like 'UGH I feel like crap' but now it's like "I'm back!"

We are sitting at 8.5uLev c6 this morn and added only 2uR, just to see how it goes. If no good, we'll just give him more R at +6.

For now, all is good.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1559 cropped.jpg
    IMG_1559 cropped.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 748
  • IMG_1569.JPG
    IMG_1569.JPG
    4 MB · Views: 771
  • IMG_1570.JPG
    IMG_1570.JPG
    3.4 MB · Views: 754
Re: 5/2 Oliver amps 272 +2~373

I guess 2R was useless; I'll need to give more at +6 I suppose.

This am was c6, so it's time to increase tonite. We could go with a usual .5u or we could start on the full 1u increases now. Thoughts?
 
Re: 5/2 Oliver amps 272 +2~373

Great pictures as always Gayle...just stopping in to say hello....hope you get some opinions during the day..I'm sure you will!
You are doing such a wonderful job Gayle!! :thumbup Great to hear is is looking good too!
 
Re: 5/2 Oliver amps 272 +2~373

Hi Gayle! Great pictures!! Can't help with the question, but did want to wish you a great Sunday.

It is great how a kitties protect what they view as theirs.
 
Re: 5/2 Oliver amps 272 +2~373

If you raise the dose by 1.0u, will you be around if not tonight, then tomorrow morning to keep an eye on numbers? I'm a big chicken about raising that much and would really like if it one of the beans who is more familiar with high dose issues would comment.

I really do wonder if Oliver just has a shed that's as big as he is!!
 
Sienne,
I still don't know the proper way to decide how much of which insulin to use.
I don't know if I should increase Lev by .5u and just try giving more R, or go with more Lev by a full 1u and then less R. As you can see, the R does squat, so if R is doing nothing, then 1u Lev likely won't result in a huge drop. If I have to keep giving him 3uR at ps and mid-cycle, he definitely needs more Lev and I just can't see the .5 being enough.

I guess we will see what the others have to say and we can both learn from their logics.
I increased by .5u for Shadoe until 10u, then we moved to full 1u increases.
 
Thanks for the response Gayle. I read Shadoe's condos and Jojo's post and realize there is so much about this (acro) stuff that I don't know and am trying to grasp (again just for my own academic knowledge).

Did I mention recently that you're doing a great job with both of these kitties.!
 
I think I would do a full 1u since his numbers are still pretty high and because he's needing so much R. As you get closer to the true basal dose, you'll need less R; since you need so much R, you must still have a ways to go (there's my logic - not saying I'm right).
 
Hilary,
No problem for me to explain what I think I understand and I am pretty sure that others will correct me if wrong and we will both know for sure.

Heather,
Yeah, I don't like leaning on R so much. He tricked me this morning with his nice yellow amps, so I gave only 2R instead of 3R, and look what happened - he goes up 100. It's almost like the 2R was wasted.

I'll feel OK going up 1u tonite, up to 9.5uLev as it will take a bit for his shed to fill adn |I'll be home tomorrow nite to see what effect it has on his numbers. Depending on his amps, I can always give less or no R before going to work.

We'll see what his +6 is and then give some R as needed.
 
Hi Gayle,

I don't want to venture into a acro question because it is outside of my comfort zone.... all I know that is green isn't necessary for them.
I wanted, however, to tell you that I support you and that your efforts with both cats are wonderful.
I hope your day gets better.
 
Re: 5/2 Oliver amps 272 +2~373

Gayle and Shadoe said:
I guess 2R was useless; I'll need to give more at +6 I suppose.

This am was c6, so it's time to increase tonite. We could go with a usual .5u or we could start on the full 1u increases now. Thoughts?

I would go to 9u tonight and then start the 1u increases, based only on ease. It's easier to see the full unit line than the 1/2u and that was something I experienced LOL
 
Hey Gayle!! So glad to see the yellow! I, too, would go up by a full unit. Once you get into the higher doses, there isn't really a set protocol to follow, you just learn that sometimes a bigger increase than normal is necessary to get a reasonable result--- and there is nothing wrong with that!

And all I can say about yesterday's condo is WTF? Please don't let a few bad apples keep you away from the people who really care... who really know what's going on... who really know about dosing. It is so very sad that you are being told that you aren't treating Oliver right... YOU ARE! I had really hoped by this point that the attacks on high dose kitties would stop, (like when I was told I was using my boy as a science experiment and was going to kill him)... but obviously people are still bent on making us feel even worse than we already do for not having a kitty that is a "normal diabetic." Don't for a millisecond ever doubt that you are giving that gorgeous boy every single thing that he needs.

Oh... and it's my Fletcher who has gone OTJ four times.... and he isn't young, he'll be 16 in just a couple weeks and has been an official acrocat for over 3 years. dancing_cat
 
Ah see! I knew there was an amazing kitty around here. WOW 16 is awesome!
I think of Robbie and Fletcher every day and wish well for you.

It's all OK today. We went with the full dose and I'll get his +2 in 30min. It's taking 3uR at ps and +6 to keep him lower, but he's acting better with the lower numbers.

WOW that's going to be alot of candles on his birthday cake; I hope he has a great celebration!
 
I'm glad some of the experienced folks stopped by. My knee jerk was what I've heard Carolyn counsel people -- increase the basal dose. But, I'm learning by reading your condos!!
 
Hi, Gayle!
I read yours yesterday condo and Just want to give You 100% my support : You are doing excellent job with Oliver and Shadow!
Just think that soooo many people learn from You and admire your dedication to those kitties. I know -it's not easy!
Don't give up posting!
(((((hugs)))))
 
Hi Gayle
Stopping by to say hi.
Being condoless is a bit tough in the communication but you know
I am here everday.
Hugs to your gorgeous kitties.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top