5/2 Nonnie AMPS 321 +5 281

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phyllis

Member Since 2012
See SS for past few days. Slipped when my husband got upset that other cats seemed so hungry so started back putting out some dry food....at smaller quantities and not filling bowls all the time.. Tried to put it in places where Nonnie could not get to, but he would find some...thus, numbers went back up. On 4/30 I convinced him the FDMB was right and we needed to feed only wet. So, now trying to feed small meals at 7am and 7pm with 'snacks' of wet food after lunch and at bedtime. That seems more palatable to others and numbers are getting better. Have been at 1.5 units for several days and will continue but if I don't see a drop, may try 1.75. Would appreciate anyone's thoughts...not on my screw-up but on what we're doing now. Thanks.
 
Phyllis - I'm glad you got rid of the dry food again. Could you update your spreadsheet in the remarks column to show when dry food was put out again and put something in the remarks for the 30th to show that it was removed. Numbers can go down a lot when dry food is removed from the picture and I'd want to make sure you haven't increased too much now that only wet is available.

If you want some more data to convince your husband, show him Scooter's SS. Linda thought he wasn't getting into the dry food the other cats were getting, but on the night of February 18th she removed all of it from the house. The dose went from 5.5 to zero in no time. This may be an extreme example but still shows you what dry food can do. Multiple mini meals are a great way to go, and easier on a healing pancreas.
 
i think after a few days of high, now that Nonnie is returning to good numbers he might need a little more time to get used to them. The guidelines say that when a cat is starting to see blue numbers, to hold the dose for 10 shots. i think that would apply to Nonnie right now, so i'd give him a little bit longer to see if he settles into them. It's possible that last night's overnight high numbers were a bounce from yesterday's good blue numbers.

Even though he's been on 1.5u for several days, it's only a couple of days since the dry food went away, so i think i'd give him a couple more days before increasing his dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top