5/2 Miss Meows AMPS 302, +6 139, +10 339-ish, PMPS 388

Status
Not open for further replies.

missMeows

Member Since 2015
Hi all!

Yesterday

So I started her on a 4 mini meal schedule this morning with the auto feeder. One at each pre-shot and one at each +3. After about 45 min of kitty attacking the feeder to try to get the food, she gave up and waited for it to serve her. I'll try adding an ice cube tonight to hopefully make it less smelly so she will calm down :) Gotta hand it to her, she LOVES her food, or any food for that matter. We keep joking that she has turned into a dog with how she follows us around hoping that we drop something :)

Her nadir changed today as well, it used to be a +8 but now it looks like +6. I'm wondering if the mini meal at +3 had anything to do with it. Then her numbers JUMPED from +8 to +10. Not sure where that came from so I tested twice to make sure it wasn't a bad strip. I don't think it was. With all this number craziness, does it look like a good night to increase her dose .25u?

Cheers!
 
Hmm... I'm wondering if I should wait a little longer to increase. I was looking at a link that @julie & punkin (ga) posted on an earlier thread and I think Miss Meows falls into the same category...

If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is > 200mg/dL (11 mmol/L) Increase every 5-7 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin

So I'm thinking I'll wait the full 7 days just to be safe and then increase on Tuesday night by .25u. Does that sound like a good plan?
 
I think you would be okay to increase to 2.25 tonight. You are not seeing green on this dose.

Also, you might want to add a mini meal at +9, sometimes this helps keep the PS number a little lower, but if Miss Meows is not ready for food late in the cycle she will tell you with a Higher PS, you will have to test her at +9 and then at PS to see how that late meal effects her number. Sometimes it helps and sometimes it doesn't work for the cat.
 
Ah, I got your response late and gave her the usual 2u dose. Thanks for the response! I realize that we aren't seeing green yet, but the link above doesn't really mention numbers specifically less than 100. However, I'll do the increase tomorrow night which would make it 5 days at that particular dose and still follows the above mentioned quote.

Also, you might want to add a mini meal at +9, sometimes this helps keep the PS number a little lower, but if Miss Meows is not ready for food late in the cycle she will tell you with a Higher PS, you will have to test her at +9 and then at PS to see how that late meal effects her number. Sometimes it helps and sometimes it doesn't work for the cat.

A few threads back I was given the following information about feeding +9s
For example, when a kitty's close to an OTJ trial, their blood sugar is well-controlled but their preshots are still over 120, then we suggest giving a cat a bite at +9 to stimulate the pancrease. That can bring down those preshot numbers 3-4 hours later

So I see what you are saying, but I think I'll keep her on the +3s for now seeing as how we just started with her mini meals and, well frankly, I have the most difficult time trying to find a pattern in her numbers. I stare at them constantly and am just as confused as probably her little body is. Plus, her blood sugar isn't close to being well-controlled yet and I'm afraid I might screw her up even more.

::sigh:: This can just get so confusing sometimes... but I appreciate you taking the time to help!
 
Since it says you're doing Tight Regulation, you should only wait 3 days (6 cycles) before re-evaluating your dose.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Since the current dose still isn't getting her into the greens, you can increase by .25 every 6 cycles....once she starts to get some green nadirs, you might need to slow down on the increases, but first we need to see some pretty green numbers!

You don't want to hold the dose too long since that can cause some glucose toxicity to set in

I'd go up to 2.25 tomorrow morning and then hold that for 6 cycles (unless she were to drop below 50 of course) and then let's see how she's doing
 
I'd go up to 2.25 tomorrow morning and then hold that for 6 cycles (unless she were to drop below 50 of course) and then let's see how she's doing
Seems that more often then not, my own quest for answers gets me all kinds of mixed up. I'm guessing that this link doesn't pertain to TR then? Thanks for setting me straight again. I'll make sure I keep to 6 cycles and hold only when I start to see green. I'll up her dose in the morning. Thanks again!

You are not seeing green on this dose.
Now I understand what you meant by seeing green :)

One day I'll get this!
 
I agree with Chris - I think you can increase any time now. The quote that Julie was using in another condo was specifically for the AT meter, which is a different set of numbers than the human BG meters.

I also agree that feeding late in the cycle can be counter productive, unless kitty is on a small dose and close to OTJ. The insulin is waning in the latter part of the cycle. If you feed carbs then, it's like putting brakes on the insulin action, unless the pancreas has started to sputter. Good plan to stick to the earlier mini meals.
 
Right - I'm glad Wendy caught that. That quote was specific to the AT meter, which is calibrated differently and the numbers are higher than for a human glucometer, which is what you're using.

I would definitely increae for little Miss Meows. Your goal is green! And I wouldn't feed after +6 at the stage she's in now unless you have some reason you need to do so.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top